Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2013
Jon Smith and Randi Russell end up working together again on a mission to save lives and defend the USA in this latest Covert One novel. An ageing and ill inventor and industrialist has developed a computer which can be plugged directly into the Human brain and, among other things, determine whether or not someone is lying to you and correct eyesight issues. A military version has been rolled out exclusively for the USA-and the President assigns Jon Smith to determine its effectiveness. He quickly determines it is very effective, indeed-but Marty Zellerbach determines that there is a part of the system that seemingly has no purpose. With Randi Russell having discovered a cave full of severed heads from a village wiped out in Afghanistan, all of them with the implant BEFORE it was made publicly available, Red Flags go up... And it becomes apparent Covert-One is facing obstruction of it's investigation from a very high level inside the US Government.

With even Covert-One forced to stand down by Presidential Order when President Castilla discovers that while Jon Smith is on to something, he has no proof and the interests and money involved make pushing the issue impossible, John and Randi enlist Marty and go lone wolf. When these two and Marty roll their sleeves up and get to work? Anyone who reads the Covert One novels know its best to just lie down and hide.

The chemistry between Jon and Randi almost flies off the page on this one, too, as the Author reminds us what a good match these two are. A fast-moving plot, interesting ideas, colourful characters and a villain who doesn't see what's he's done to reach the level and point he has as evil, rather "necessary" for the supposed betterment of the Human race as a whole? Who is genuinely convinced he's doing the right thing?

Read this one if you like Ludlums own work, it's worth it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I've read all the books in this series so far and mostly enjoyed them, but this one really disappointed me. It had very little action and no suspense. I found it wordy and plodding. But the worst thing about it for me was that the author changed character traits that other authors had given them, as he'd done in his earlier book too. For instance he ignored Randi's flying skills from Arctic Event. I gave it two stars, however, because he did a better job with Marty, even if he did exaggerate his character somewhat. Also the basic premise of the book physically altered the general public (implants) and I look forward to reading the next book in the series to see how the author deals with that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Ironically, this is the first Ludlum novel I’ve read. I say ironically because he’s been dead over ten years now and this is one of the books penned by the writers tasked with carrying on the franchise. This particular installment was scribed by Kyle Mills. As a techno-thriller, I found it quite the page turner and devoured it inside of a few days. It’s easy to imagine this scenario playing out for real in the days ahead; I wouldn’t even be surprised if something similar was going on in the shadows now, supported by DARPA or some governmental agency here or abroad.

What starts as simply the next step in evolution from cell phones—a wireless implant to the brain—that connects us to the internet with a fraction of the fuss, quickly turns into a degree of individual empowerment that the U.S. military is eager to get its hands on to supercharge its soldiers. Early trials with the mind device prove very promising, and it isn’t long before both military and civilian versions are on the market.

But the designer of the device has a hidden agenda that has nothing to do with individual empowerment. Seeing the various strands of the story weave together to slowly expose his Machiavellian scheme is a big part of the excitement and contributes to the brisk pacing. By the time the individual parties combine their efforts and figure out what’s going on, there’s the even bigger challenge of how to stop his evil plans from playing out. And now millions of lives are at stake because so many people have upgraded.

Needless to say, I wasn’t disappointed by this read, and I don’t think you will be either. Unless you’ve just had enough of the formulas that drive best-selling fiction; there does seem to be a blueprint underlying most if not all of these books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
Ok it's a bit far fetch but as bit of easy reading it's a triumph ,the story quickly builds with enough twists and turns to keep the pages turning
As a holiday/escapism read it ticks all the right boxes.
Try... hopefully you'll enjoy the experience
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
A book that keeps you glued for all time as you don't want to put it down for anything it is such a good read it is a nail biting experience
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
An enjoyable holiday read. The books ideas that applied to the future could become a reality much soone than you think.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
Another book to take on vacation, only problem , do not start reading late at night , you will not get to sleep
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
I'm working my way through the entire covert one series, and enjoying it immensely. The use of different writers hasn't damaged the story continuity too much, but the different writing styles are evident. With this book, given the number of high profile mega rich in the world today, it wouldn't be hard to see one of them trying to alter mankind -but we'll give poor old Bill Gates the benefit of the doubt.......😀
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
John Smith and Randi Russell are working together again to save the world. It all seems so innocent in the beginning before a new technology being hailed as revolutionary and life and society changing is shown to have a more sinister purpose. Mills plays with some interesting ideas as he writes this book. Worth a read, I'll certainly be searching out other books in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Bought the novel as I have read most if not all in the series. Whilst it retains the main characters it lacks the tension and surprises one expects from the series. I found it disappointing and got the feeling that not too much research or thought went into the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse