Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2011
Great book! Not only does it have great recipes but it also has Marco's journey through achieving the "great British feast".

Lots of simple recipes to follow that taste great!!

And if all else fails there are great photographs within the book!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
I have cooked several recipes from this book and they turn our perfectly every time. Written with a no nonsense approach and with easy to follow instructions. This weekend I made the Beef with Red Wine Pie and it was absolutely delicious, the pastry was cooked to perfection and the meat was full of flavour and extremely tender. Even though we live in Spain it is still great to have a Great British Feast at home.......well done Marco!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
Bought as a Christmas present for my in-laws. The book is a good size and quite heavy - a substantial cookery book. The images are high quality, the text easy to read and all printed on great paper. A great addition to a collection of cookery books or a nice introduction to the world of British food. Speedy dispatch, packaged well and arrived well in time for Christmas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2008
I ordered this book after watching the television series and I was not disappointed. There is a vast selection of recipes and whilst some of them do contain ingredients that are not easily sourced; the vast majority are very accessible. There are recipes in here that are quick enough to prepare after a busy day and some that would be great for entertaining others with when you have more time. I think that this book is excellent value.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
Another winner from Marco. he is THE BEST of the celebrity cooks. An original chef - who leaves the rest standing. He produces recipes that are simple and work. Uses everyday ingredients - like Lea and Perrins etc., Imaginative too. A great book full of great recipes.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This was a gift for my boyfriend as he is a fabulous cook! He loves it! He really likes all of Marco's books as he doesn't tend to 'baby' the reader and provides excellent advice on all aspects of cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2008
This was rushed to tie in with the TV programme, and a sympathetic editor could have ironed out a few repetitions. But there are some great things here. It is romantic but grounded at the same time, and MPW offers an interesting perspective on the organic / waste debate. The photograph of the Wally Ladd trifle is so elegant and there are honest pictures of hunting, shooting and fishing. There is some terrific dry humour in the commentaries.

I think there is more to be written about and by MPW - he is clearly a great and complex character with many obsessions and talents. He ought to be given a fuller rein and a loyal and loving editor to get to the heart of what he really is and what he has to offer.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
Great book for the home cook, simple British recipes cooked well, some ingredients may cost a little more so save these dishes for a special occasion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2013
A quality cookbook from a great British chef. Classic recipes and nice and simple. I would recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
Bought this book for my cooking enthusiast fiance, he seems pleased with it. Yet to cook anything out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.68

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)