Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success (Hardcover)
One of the best books I've read.
Very informative. Reveals why certain ethnic groups perform better than others without being offensive or condescending.
Very practical and am currently using the suggestions within my own family.
I cannot reccommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read!!!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An extremely insightful book into how one can succeed in life, despite its challenges. Superiority, inferiority complexes...and impulse control. Life lessons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ha, tell your liberal pals that 'the little guy' CAN get ahead!, 5 May 2014
By 
Mr. S. Keogh (North by Northwest, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it on Thomas Sowell's reccommendation here: [...] and it didn't disappoint, very enlightening and inspiring. It's about a culture's role in the economic and academic success of it's members.

It seems also, that many stereotypes about these groups are accurate! What is true in America is true in Britain also to a large extent. The big one for me is simply that Chinese and Indian kids are studying up to 4 times as much as natural-born citizens, and as a result, are leaving them for dust in school tests and in the job market.

It's too bad they are having to waste time in interviews defending the book against charges of racism. Absolutely idiotic. I can't imagine anyone who has a bad word to say about this book has actually read it!

There is about 100 pages of footnotes from academic studies and data-sets, the entire book in fact, is merely the explanation of the data they have discovered- and it's the right one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant., 26 April 2014
By 
MRS C D LINGARD (Newquay, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success (Hardcover)
Fascinating, thought provoking and firmly grounded in empirical evidence - utterly brilliant. It throws a spotlight on the importance of effort and motivation. I have recommended it to everyone I know. TL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative book and an excellent read. A lot of research has gone onto ..., 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success (Hardcover)
Very informative book and an excellent read. A lot of research has gone onto obtaining facts. The historical and cultural references are fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and significant., 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think there is more at work than the triple package, so the conclusions are oversimplified, even if the triple package is of major importance. In particular, some cultures have esteem for education independent of the triple package, deriving from circumstances in the distant past, before people of those cultures immigrated to the USA. Hence, in the USA, esteem for education often may not be a dependent variable. I also think that Kid Culture is a major factor affecting an individual's entry onto the road to success. In the modern world remarkable aspects of culture are age-stratified rather than stratified by class, geography, religion or ethnic origin. Kid Culture may be very powerful, and may negate cultural features from those other sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you really think, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An fascinating and interesting book that has proved to be a real eye opener. Excellent item promptly delivered. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly recommendable for any minorities living anywhere in the world, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read! I think the author has got a strong point in serving the reader the triple package. Highly recomandable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success
The Triple Package: What Really Determines Success by Amy Chua (Hardcover - 5 Feb 2014)
10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews