Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A charming vile man
I have read all of Ben Macintyre's books, and they just get better and better. However, in this one he has set not only an exceptional standard for narrative, but, in a way that was absent in the others, he has, I think, let his own standpoint show, which lends a special edge to the book.

I recently heard an interview with the biographer of a Pre-Norman,...
Published 6 months ago by Charles Brewer

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars slightly different take on an well-worn tale
For over twenty years Kim Philby operated as a Russian agent inside the British establishment, much of it working in MI6, including heading up Soviet counter-espionage. The most famous of the Cambridge spies recruited in the early 1930s, he sent thousands of copies of secret documents to his spymasters and hundreds of Allied agents and provocateurs to their death or...
Published 6 months ago by Rob Kitchin


‹ Previous | 19 10 1130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book which gave the reader an insight into the world of the secret service. It brought out many emotions as you work, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book which gives the reader an insight into the world of the secret service. It brings out emotions ranging from intrigue into this work but also anger with the powers that be who allowed him to continue he betraying his country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dance through time, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The true story behind Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, told through the lens of friendship. When betrayal becomes a way of life, everybody gets hurt. I really enjoy Ben Maacintyre's writing, and this is most definitely no exception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Read, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very interesting and readable account of how Kim Philby managed to betray both his country and friends. For over 30 years he supplied the Soviets with details of all the MI6 operations which resulted in the deaths of many people. He also betrayed his close friend Nicholas Elliot whom had formed a close friendship. Because at the time MI6 was run by the establishment Philby got away with it as he was from the same stock, so you could not possibly be a spy!
The author takes us on a journey of their relatsionship and to the the last days when Elliot finally realised his friend was a spy. The book is well written although he does repeat himself a couple of times. Its a good account of how the 'system' worked in those days.Recommeded
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It opened my eyes, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed the book and it opened my eyes to a situation that I only heard about in my youth and tom which I did not pay much attention. The exposure of the "old boys network" was very worrying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars well researched and highly readable, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent account of the Cold War espionage days. Astonishing picture of the inept British establishment which still blights this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and gripping, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More unbelievable and gripping than the wildest spy fiction. Found myself constantly amazed by the story of this treacherous spy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A most interesting read, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all this author's works he sets out to find the humanity that drives events. He looks at the characters and foibles that led to the most famous double agent. It is a very interesting read and is well worth the time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ben Macintyre's great skill is writing a strictly accurate history in a way in which it reads like a novel. I was completely absorbed by this book, and couldn't put it down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a spy needs friends snd a good pedigree, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book left me open mouthed. The descriptions of the great British eccentrics charged with looking after this country would be laughable if between them they had not cost so many lives. I am horrified by the way Kim Philby was protected by the Old Boy Network. Could anyone get such an important position today just because someone knew their father so tjey must be OK. I couldn't put the book down and wish that I had a friend like Nicholas Elliott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and nostalgic., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Readable so good to read on the go. Amazing revelations and colourful backdrop to the intrigues. Reads like great fiction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 1130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal
A Spy Among Friends: Kim Philby and the Great Betrayal by Ben Macintyre (Hardcover - 3 Mar. 2014)
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews