Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down
I came to cycling through the grand tours, but the classics races have always been fascinating, particularly the five known as The Monuments. This book was just what I needed to deepen my understanding of how they came to be, and of the riders who made history through them. Peter Cossins writes as if he were spending an evening with you, with captivating stories told in a...
Published 4 months ago by michael l horsman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Full of facts, well written, but lacking in drama and humour
Published 3 days ago by guy wigmore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to put down, 6 April 2014
By 
michael l horsman (scottsdale, az United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
I came to cycling through the grand tours, but the classics races have always been fascinating, particularly the five known as The Monuments. This book was just what I needed to deepen my understanding of how they came to be, and of the riders who made history through them. Peter Cossins writes as if he were spending an evening with you, with captivating stories told in a conversational tone. I loved this book, and now my wife is loving it as well. I bought a second copy for my son, and he and I have already enjoyed some lively discussions about how a particular hill was added to Flanders, or the era of unpaved roads in northern Italy, or the efforts to pave the cobbles in the Ardennes. I will be reading it again when the monuments races are back next year. A fun and enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's taken me a long time ......, 21 April 2014
By 
Ian Franklin "Justme" (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
I've been following these races since the 1960s. That means I've experienced 50 years of the history about which you so eloquently write. What a great writer Peter is: many people cannot turn their reportage into good book writing but Peter Cossins has no problem. If you love this sport, it's classic and historical events, then read this book. The description and potted history of each race is absorbing and fascinating. A truly great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous read, 6 April 2014
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
This book has been a revelation, especially as I've been reading it through the Classics season. The author's conversational style pulls you in and there are any number of fabulous anecdotes. I've been particularly impressed by the chapters covering the Tour of Flanders, which gave me real understanding about why cycling plays such an important role in Flanders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book not knowing too much about the Monuments and have really enjoyed the insight it's given me. I've been reading the section about each race in the days before it takes place and that's enabled me to get a lot more out of what's happening in the race, as well as providing a fascinating look at each race's history. I'm primed for Flanders and Roubaix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MONUMENTAL, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
Beautifully written book, covering every great moment of all 5 'Monument races'. Short on pictures, but then i feel the quality of this book more than compensates for this. If you are interested in Professional Cycling then you will absolutely love this book. Well done Peter Cossins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIne of information, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had thought I was very well read re continental cycling but this book has just so much information. Fills a gap in the market and is definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book., 31 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
Ignoring the editorial/authorial mistake about the number of riders who have won all 5 classics (3 not 2 as stated), this is a superb book, well researched and full of anecdote and a delight to read from the first page to the last page.

I wish I had been present for some of the epic battles described in the book.

Don't let the 1 star review put you off. Chapeau Mr Cossins - a great read all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book at a great price, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races (Paperback)
Very quick delivery - delivered early in the afternoon the very next day. The book was well protected and arrived completely undamaged and in perfect condition.
The book itself is an inspiring must-read for any avid cyclist. Well written and interestingly told in an easy tone. I would recommend this book to cyclists at any level and to non-cyclists who have an interest in the history of the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A monumental read, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book delves deep into the history of all the classics giving it a true monumental status as a classic book for cycling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Full of facts, well written, but lacking in drama and humour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Monuments: The Grit and the Glory of Cycling's Greatest One-day Races
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews