Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
I wouldn't ever have expected to be recommending a book by Germaine Greer, but this is really interesting. It is very well written, as one would expect, and hard to put down.

She tells the story of her time spent owning and revitalising a small area of rainforest in Australia.

Strongly recommended, not just to environmentalists, but as a general read.
Published 5 months ago by EJN

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy project but a difficult read
I heard some of the readings of an abridged version of this book on Radio 4 and thought it worthwhile to read the book, but the abridged version was better to listen to than the full book was to read Germaine Greer is trying to make some important and serious points, but her writing style is not so accessible. She uses a strange and rather false dialogue style to present...
Published 4 months ago by H. Tollyfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Beech: The Rainforest Years (Hardcover)
I wouldn't ever have expected to be recommending a book by Germaine Greer, but this is really interesting. It is very well written, as one would expect, and hard to put down.

She tells the story of her time spent owning and revitalising a small area of rainforest in Australia.

Strongly recommended, not just to environmentalists, but as a general read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not about a tree, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Greer has a way of mischievously drawing the reader into a book that not only describes a White Beech in one page but spends the rest of the book contextualising said tree in a plethora of historical, scientific, political and geographical data and information one would hardly expect to find.
There is a strange relationship between the immigrant Australian population with its superficial European roots, prejudices, bigotry and naiviety, and the indigenous population with its history deep in the mountains, valleys, deserts, rivers creeks and especially rainforests in that the immigrant is denied access to the culture and mystery of the continent, and when the immigrant feels they have some intuitive understanding of Australia, becomes almost an apologist for trespassing on the sacred lands of the ancestors.
I have experienced this myself - my birth family are from the same area (and slightly north - up to Noosa and Bundeburg) but it wasn't until my elder sister visited UK and I took her to our own sacred sites - for example the Rollrights - that she really understood the aching in the Aboriginal heart.
Germaine misses this point, despite her many years in the UK ....but perhaps she has always over-intellectualises and leaves little to intuition?
However a fab read and lesson in the history etc of a few acres and one woman's attempt to make amends for our screwing-up of the magic land of Oz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy project but a difficult read, 4 Mar 2014
By 
H. Tollyfield "Tolly" (Sheffield United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Beech: The Rainforest Years (Hardcover)
I heard some of the readings of an abridged version of this book on Radio 4 and thought it worthwhile to read the book, but the abridged version was better to listen to than the full book was to read Germaine Greer is trying to make some important and serious points, but her writing style is not so accessible. She uses a strange and rather false dialogue style to present detailed botanical and ethnographic information and it doesn't quite work. Also the lack of photographs detracts greatly from the book; we have to rely on her detailed botanical descriptions of leaves etc. rather than seeing the photos of the items she is describing. Overall I think this is a missed opportunity to communicate an important message to a wider audience and help to build a movement to support the rehabilitation of temperate rainforests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating reading of an unusual and interesting subject, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
because I liked the book ! and found Germaine Greer's honesty and persistence in exploring her subject a great delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars White beech amongst lots of other species, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Beech: The Rainforest Years (Hardcover)
I enjoyed the book on the wholel but there was too much information about the species etc. I thought it was going to be about how Germaine Greer set about reclaiming the forest. There was very little about this. I listened to excerpts from the book on Radio 4 and that is why I bought it. It seems that the best bits were read out and there was very little left apart from the scientific data.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb ecology, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a brilliant book about the ecology of Australia.It should be read by all that live there and the rest of the world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and fascinating., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think some readers might not enjoy the detailed history of the degradation of the natural environment of Australia, there's an unexpected amount of plant names and stories of the botanists that discovered them and maybe the writing isn't the greatest but really who cares about that as the subject is so interesting. Personally, I loved every bit of it and could hear Germaine's familiar, unique voice throughout, sometimes laughing, sometimes righteously angry and always incisive. This hopeful tale of a patch of Rain Forest being brought back from the brink is not romantic but it is heartening and makes me want to contribute in some small way to protecting our fantastic natural world. Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sent as present to my daughter, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Beech: The Rainforest Years (Hardcover)
Having heard the book being read by the author on Radio 4 it fired my enthusiasm and I will be buying my own copy shortly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars how brilliant is our germane?,, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GG is amazing..here you would think she is a professional botanist and her passion shines through. the story of what she has done to regenerate australian rainforest blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 18 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Beech: The Rainforest Years (Hardcover)
A great long read could not put it down . Germaine Greer has excelled herself once again would recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Beech: The Rainforest Years
White Beech: The Rainforest Years by Germaine Greer (Hardcover)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews