Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime fiction with a difference and at its best
Superb, the writing is like fine wine and you dont want to just knock it back but take your time. The background is very different to normal crime fiction set as it is in Egypt and the politics and cultural history makes this a dense and compelling read with the tension building all the time. First time I have read Parker Bilal but it wont be the last - Adrian Pearson
Published 21 months ago by Adrian Pearson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too complicated for this reader
Set in Cairo in summer of 2011, shortly before the 9/11 attacks, this is the story of a private detective hired to investigate threatening notes with a religious tone sent to a local travel agency. The detective, Makana, who previously appeared in The Golden Scales: A Makana Mystery (Makana Mystery 1), is a former policeman who fled his native Sudan some years...
Published 17 months ago by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime fiction with a difference and at its best, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb, the writing is like fine wine and you dont want to just knock it back but take your time. The background is very different to normal crime fiction set as it is in Egypt and the politics and cultural history makes this a dense and compelling read with the tension building all the time. First time I have read Parker Bilal but it wont be the last - Adrian Pearson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent follow up to "The Golden Scales", 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dogstar Rising: A Makana Investigation (Makana Mystery 2) (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed the first Makana novel.

"The Golden Scales" introduced me to a new cast of interesting characters set in Egypt at a time when corruption at the highest levels, religious intolerance and an all pervasive and brutal secret police force is rife. My only concern with this opener was the way the author hurtled the reader towards a fiery finale - almost as though the author turned up the heat in the hope that Hollywood would come calling.

"Dogstar.Rising is an excellent follow up. Another very interesting plot line and another set of interesting characters added to which the author appears to capture the real atmosphere of life on the streets of Cairo during such turbulent times. What I particularly liked about this second outing for Makana is that the pacing of the plot is a lot more measured. This time the author has not hurtled us towards a climactic finale but nevertheless it still manages to be a real page turner. I can generally tell if I have really been stimulated by a book by my level of disappointment when I finish the final sentence. That was the case with this one but at least I can comfort myself in the knowledge that the third in the series is already out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makana in fine form, 25 April 2013
Another fine crime/mystery tale by Parker Bilal. What I find especially interesting about these stories is how the author makes Egypt (and especially Cairo) a key character in the narrative. The crumbling facade and mouldy despair of Egypt on the eve of 9/11 is evoked graphically but with a tinge of resignation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant second book, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Maxwell (Tunbridge Wells, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Parker Bilal has transported this reader to Egypt's dusty streets and stunning scenery within seconds of starting the book.

His story telling is magical,sad,funny and thrilling all in one and his characters so life like,you really feel you know them and are there with them watching the story unfold.

So glad I found his books and cannot wait for the third in this brilliant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good story of crime in Egypt, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read that starts innoxiously enough but rapidly races onto murder and illicit business in high places. The trail leads from the shady desolate dark alleys of Cairo across the length and breadth of Egypt encountering. a whole cross section of society along the way. Set in the political, social and religious tensions that affect Egyptian life it provides a thrilling and fascinating story..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Egypt you never see in the headlines, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It gave me an overview of what happens in egypt from the side of the people and also made me understand their religious problems, but ultimately it was a very good detective novel with characters which you feel involved with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book with a fast paced plot that keeps you wanting more and more. Conspiracy theories a plenty! Highly recommended if you like a book that keeps you gripped with surprises from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent continuation of the Makana story, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent, well written story. The second Makana mystery is set during the religious tensions in Egypt. More about his family tragedy is revealed, with more clearly to follow in MM3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too complicated for this reader, 25 July 2013
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Set in Cairo in summer of 2011, shortly before the 9/11 attacks, this is the story of a private detective hired to investigate threatening notes with a religious tone sent to a local travel agency. The detective, Makana, who previously appeared in The Golden Scales: A Makana Mystery (Makana Mystery 1), is a former policeman who fled his native Sudan some years previously. He quickly learns that the notes were intended for someone other than the owner of the travel agency but also that the owner has his own reasons to feel apprehensive. This is a complex mystery with multiple strands but the real standout of this book is the way that it conveys modern Egypt, with its religious conflicts, corruption and violent underworld.

I feel like my giving this book three stars is my personal failure, because I kept feeling when I was reading it that it was a great book that I just wasn't quite appreciating as I should. Somehow I kept losing interest in it, getting confused by the many characters and the multiple plot strands. Makana is a terrific character that I really like and as I've mentioned above, the sense of place is one of the best things about this book. I just couldn't help feeling that maybe if he'd kept the story slightly simpler and more linear, that the book may have worked better. I enjoyed it, but as it took me almost two weeks to read, I don't feel that I can justify giving it more than 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good condition and arrived quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dogstar Rising: A Makana Investigation (Makana Mystery 2)
Dogstar Rising: A Makana Investigation (Makana Mystery 2) by Parker Bilal (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews