Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book about a boy growing up in Suffolk, 20 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
I love this book, it is a real life book about a boy growing up in Suffolk in the 70's, his childhood was one of freedom and full of adventures, just like all boys should have. It starts off with the things that he makes from G0-Karts to Guns to having fights with other boys from another school. He also manages to nearly kill himself over the years. He then grows up and goes from making anything he can to making beautiful Jewellery, It tells you where he gets his ideas and inspiration and turns them from ideas into Iconic pieces of jewellery like his wonderful Bee. This book takes you on a beautiful Journey from small boy to Iconic Jewellery and will have you laughing your socks off to blubbering every now and again. I wish it went on for longer but it leaves me in hope of maybe another ? Fingers crossed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous memoir, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful series of stories of a seventies childhood. I found this a joy to dip into and so charming to read. The descriptions of his wild, chaotic, carefree and happy upbringing are engaging and delightful. The interweaving of the story of how he became a jewellery designer with the story of his life is beautifully judged: as exquisite as his jewellery. Just loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there is no Truman Capote around.., 23 Mar 2014
By 
Pushkin (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
get the jeweller to write himself. Beautifully done, all things English, true to the brand. I'd expect more illustrations though..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy thank you., 4 July 2014
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
Very happy thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an interesting book.................., 18 May 2014
By 
printmaker "Caz" (Grinstead, Wsx. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
An interesting book.................it's always good to know artist/makers inspirations and thought processess to final outcome. Quite a good juxtaposition between life as a child and later life. Did not feel this book was a labour of love though. More a labour................however, would still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very moving and inspirational, 8 April 2014
Well done Alex you have brought to life precious childhood memories along with an understanding of your talented work that reflects your success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jewellery & Families., 7 April 2014
By 
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
This was an interesting read. Jewellery designer Alex Monroe lets us into his head & reveals where he gets his inspiration & how this develops into the finished pieces. The creative process is intercepted with snippets from his childhood & also that of his parents & grandparents. His time growing up in Suffolk sounded wonderful & made me long to be a part of it.
It might be because I was reading a proof copy but the photos & drawings were black & white copies & a little poor quality. I would have liked to have seen them in full colour & detail to truly get their full glory but I don't know, this might be in place for the finished book.
A great read for fans of Alex Monroe or anyone interested in the jewellery or design world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !, 1 April 2014
This review is from: Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things (Hardcover)
One of those rare books that you don't want to finish.
A Beautifully written book full of detail of life growing up in rural Suffolk but the author also generously shares his many decades of jewellery expertise with the reader.
The book covers in detail the inspiration behind all of his iconic collections with original copies from his sketch books
Such a pleasant surprise, I truly hope that there is a sequel...soon
I've never read a book twice but I can see this getting an airing again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things
Two Turtle Doves: A Memoir of Making Things by Alex Monroe (Hardcover - 13 Mar 2014)
11.89
Usually dispatched within 7 to 10 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews