Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Teens
I have just finished reading this book with my 9 yr old daughter, she chose the book on a trip to Waterstones and I have to say I was somewhat surprised! However, we both thoroughly enjoyed it and I found myself reading pages and pages of it to her, going well beyond her bedtime at times. It is a somewhat dark view of the near future with well written characters and a...
Published on 7 July 2009 by I. Price

versus
44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept
This is a book that is aimed at a young adult readership, but it's one of those gems that can be picked up by an older reader and, because of the interesting concept and style of writing, can be enjoyed by them as well.

I found the central theme really refreshing - there are no vampires or supernatural creatures here, just humans living in a future society...
Published on 6 Oct 2011 by Kate


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, 6 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Declaration (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that is aimed at a young adult readership, but it's one of those gems that can be picked up by an older reader and, because of the interesting concept and style of writing, can be enjoyed by them as well.

I found the central theme really refreshing - there are no vampires or supernatural creatures here, just humans living in a future society where immortality is valued above all, and having children a punishable offence. Anna is a Surplus - as in surplus to requirements - who was discovered by the authorities as a toddler and taken away from her parents. She believes that she isn't worthy of hopes or dreams, or a life of her own, and is instead content to lead a life of service without asking too many questions.

Then Peter comes along and changes everything. Soon Anna is left questioning her every belief and her world is turned upside down. A tense adventure follows, with a very dramatic climax - and I'm sure a sequel is soon to follow.

The plot is cleverly written, the characters believeable - especially Anna's - and, although I found the ending rather a little too neat and couldn't work out for the life of me how certain parts of it were planned in advance by certain characters, I enjoyed it.

To anyone who's a fan of Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games series or Richelle Meade's Vampire Academy series, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for Teens, 7 July 2009
By 
I. Price (East Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
I have just finished reading this book with my 9 yr old daughter, she chose the book on a trip to Waterstones and I have to say I was somewhat surprised! However, we both thoroughly enjoyed it and I found myself reading pages and pages of it to her, going well beyond her bedtime at times. It is a somewhat dark view of the near future with well written characters and a gripping plotline. As a cynical forty-something I was somewhat taken aback to find a tear in my eye in the final chapter, if you have kids of your own and you read it you will understand why....

Well worth a read for young and old (middle aged anyway - no longevity for me!) alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 2 Oct 2007
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Declaration (Hardcover)
C.S. Lewis, author of THE CHRONICLES OF NARNIA, once wrote that there are three ways of writing for children. The first is to cater to what children want (but people seldom know what they want and this usually ends badly), the second develops from a story told to a specific child (Lewis Carrol's THE ADVENTURES OF ALICE IN WONDERLAND, for instance), and the third is that it is simply the best art form to convey the story.

Gemma Malley's debut young adult novel, THE DECLARATION, is of the last category.

I am making this point because while THE DECLARATION involves two teenagers, fourteen-year-old Anna and fifteen-year-old Peter, it never feels aimed towards the teen audience Therefore it is categorized as a young adult novel by the age of its narrators rather than its content and this, I believe, will give it an enduring quality. C. S. Lewis wrote, "Where the children's story is simply the right form for what the author has to say, then of course readers who want to hear that will read the story or reread it at any age."

THE DECLARATION opens in the year 2140, and people have conquered death in the form of Longevity drugs. With limited food and fuel resources, waste has become a serious crime and the worst crime of all is having a child. Anna is one of these children. She is housed at Grange Hall where she and other Surpluses are taught that the most they can ever hope for is a harsh life of servitude to make amends for their existence.

Anna is well on her way to becoming a Valuable Asset when Peter arrives at Grange Hall. He challenges everything she has learned by arguing that people who take Longevity are the real criminals and perversions of nature, not the young. He also claims that he knows her parents and that they want her back. Peter is strange and new, but is he enough to make her risk everything to escape with him?

Unlike some novels that use characters, plot, and setting as a vehicle to drive home a message, Gemma Malley never lets the moral and ethical questions she raises detract from the actual story. The characters are well drawn and identifiable, and the language is simple and unpretentious. THE DECLARATION is not without flaws, especially the failure to explain or integrate Mrs. Pincent's involvement with the black market product Longevity+ into a major plotline, but this lends mystery and excitement for a sequel.

Even though it contains a handful of science fiction and young adult hallmarks, such as a utopia/dystopia setting, wonder drugs, and finding and defining oneself, it cannot be dismissed as merely a youthful 1984 knockoff. It is mostly a book about people, fear, and loss. Themes that are, if not always, exquisitely accessible in this age.

Five Stars and a Gold Award.

Reviewed by: Natalie Tsang
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best reads in a VERY long time, 24 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Declaration (Kindle Edition)
Surplus Anna is almost 15. She and many other children live in Grange Hall where they are taught to believe that their existence is is a burden to Mother Nature and humanity. It is now 2140 and since 2030 Longevity drugs helped cure all illnesses and made natural death impossible. People are old and don't die, but if the population keeps growing then there will be no space more children. Due to this, having children is against the law and to show that you agree to this law, you have to sign The Declaration.
The children at Grange Hall are brainwashed by their house matron Margaret Pincent to believe that their parents are sinners for signing The Declaration and then having children. They are treated badly and punished, when orders are not done, by being sent to Solitary (the basement of the building), deprived of something (a blanket, hot food etc) or by simply getting beaten.
But when Peter arrives with news about Anna's parents, EVERYTHING changes. Peter urges Anna to escape with him, though she is hesitant at first, she agrees and the two of them escape to Anna's parents. All this while Anna keeps a journal in which she writes all of her thoughts and plans on escaping. But this journal gets into wrong hands and becomes a problem for Peter and Anna.

* * * * *
I give this book five stars out of five because I think that Gemma Malley has done an incredible job of imaging life in the future and creating a story around it. The descriptions are very detailed in a few aspects including the look of Grange Hall - it felt like I was seeing it first hand. What I loved about this book is how it related everything back to the base of the story like a Mind Map. The story was complicated but it fit extremely well almost like puzzle pieces, things that didn't make sense at the beginning, fell into place easily at the end. This book was possibly the best books I have read in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and Thought-provoking, 2 April 2009
By 
Jenny, Wondrous Reads (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
This book immediately caught my attention because it's set in the future; in 2140, to be exact. It's original and thought-provoking, yet terrifying at the same time.

I love the whole idea of the Longevity+ drug that enables you to live forever, as well as the actual Declaration (which states that you can only have a child if you opt out of longevity) and futuristic setting.

All the characters are well written and engaging, especially Peter and Anna, who are struggling to stay alive and live a free life. Mrs Pincent and Mrs Sharpe are also fantastic characters and, although they live very different lives, are both easy to identify with.

The Declaration is about freedom, loss and mortality. It raises many questions that are relative to today's society, and leaves you with plenty to think about. Gemma Malley has written a brilliant book that will inspire intelligent discussions and ideas, and one that will undoubtedly leave you grateful that we have options and independence. It's a chilling story that is guaranteed to shock you on more than one occasion.

I can't wait to read the sequel, The Resistance, and highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who Wants to Live Forever?, 21 July 2009
By 
Quicksilver (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
The premise of this book is simple. In the near future scientists create a longevity drug.
Nobody dies from natural causes, the population explodes and 'The Declaration' is created to control it - Every citizen who uses the longevity drugs must agree not to further propagate the species. Any new children born are considered 'Surplus'; the unwanted consequences of their parents' selfishness, and wasters of the Earth's valuable resources.

Anna is a model Surplus, subservient and brutally trained for a life of obedience and servitude. In this novel, Dickens meets Orwell; Anna lives at Grange Hall, an orphanage run by a totalitarian state. After she meets Peter, a recently captured 'illegal', Anna discovers that life in the outside world is not quite what she has been told.

The near-future drawn by the author is scarily plausible, and the sections that deal with the drugs, government and manipulation of the population are fascinating. It's a shame there weren't more of them. Most of 'The Declaration' deals with Anna's life at Grange Hill, and is a little run-of-the-mill, dwelling on terrible food, nasty teachers and petty squabbles between the children.

This though, is only a small gripe. Malley's novel remains readable throughout and the ending will knock your socks off. One of the best realised dystopian visions I have read in a long time, 'The Declaration' is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Declaration, 15 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
I read this a while ago, and it paints a rather negative view of the future, should we find a way to live forever.
Lets face it, a lot of people find the subject of death rather daunting, and so it follows therefore that someone would invent a way to stop it, and this is the main premise of this book.

The way in which the 'Surplus' children are treated in diabolical to say the least and i'd like to think that things would never come to that. The idea behind the story is that if you choose not to have children then you can take the drug that stops you dying, indoing so you have to sign the decleration.
Any parents that do have children whilst taking the longevity drug is arrested and the child locked up with the other surplus children.

Anna, the main character is one of these and at the beginning she believes all the lies she's been told, but her mind starts to change when a new boy turns up and starts telling her some rather frightening truths...

All in all this is a fantastic read which can be rather hauting at times if you seriously consider the consequences of a world where no one dies.
The one message that is sent again and again (in different ways) is that people are not meant to be immortal, things do come to an end and that ultimately life will go on, it sounds very tacky, but really it isn't.
This is a powerful and emotional read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is it with all these YA authors!!!!!, 24 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
WOW,

Just finished this today.... What a real good read and concept.

Brilliant story and very well written.

Off to read The Resistance now....

I have recently read "The Hunger Games" "Gone" 1st 2 of Septimus Heap, all 4 of the Twilight series... Just cannot get enough of these stories that are so different. Would very highly recommend the Hunger Games...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK, 26 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
I strongly recommend this book. I have read all of the series and when I was reading them I couldn't put the book down. I have already recommended this book to familly and friends and my friend is already on the Resistance (the second book.) It is suitable for all ages. I read it when I was eleven and my Mum has read it too! It is sometimes quite complicated so isn't really suitable for readers below 9. If you do buy this book I bet you will enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASSTICCCCC, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Declaration (Paperback)
AS A TEENAGER I LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS WAS THE MOST AMAZING BOOK I HAVE EVER READ! IF YOU WANT MY ADVICE GO FOR THE HARDCOVER ONE THOUGH, THE COVER IS SO SIMPLE YET COMPELLING! I BORROWED THE FIRST TWO FROM MY FRIEND THEN PROMTLY BOUGHT THE WHOLE SERIES FROM AMAZON WHEN I FINISHED!!! FANTASTIC XX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Declaration
The Declaration by Gemma Malley (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews