Customer Reviews


189 Reviews
5 star:
 (167)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Tickle A Sleeping Dragon
The Hogwarts Library is a fantastic collection of additional Harry Potter books written and illustrated by J. K. Rowling. The books included in this set are Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them, The Tales of Beedle The Bard & Quidditch Through The Ages which have all been previously released in paperback with partial proceeds going to charity (Comic Relief & Lumos)...
Published 22 months ago by Quinn

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars You only had to say...
The books were in a great condition but the box which they are displayed in was completely ruined. If I had known I wouldn't have purchased this one as it looks awful on my bookshelf but nowhere did it say that this was going to be the case.
Published 3 months ago by Lily Owens


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Tickle A Sleeping Dragon, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (Hardcover)
The Hogwarts Library is a fantastic collection of additional Harry Potter books written and illustrated by J. K. Rowling. The books included in this set are Fantastic Beasts & Where To Find Them, The Tales of Beedle The Bard & Quidditch Through The Ages which have all been previously released in paperback with partial proceeds going to charity (Comic Relief & Lumos). While many fans will own these books already I feel this lovely set is a worthwhile purchase - I was thrilled to update my flimsy thin paperbacks with these wonderful, larger hardback editions. All three books come housed in a solid red sleeve with a gold embossed Hogwarts symbol on the front and back covers and the books themselves are presented with matching green, blue and red covers respectively. The gold embossed finish on each hardback really enhances this collectable boxset and, needless to say, the books are charming and well-written. Each one offers an extra glimpse into the magical world by exploring mysterious creatures, sporting history and enchanting fairytales with additional notes from our favourite wizards. Any Harry Potter fan will be thrilled with this set, suitable for muggles and wizards alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adds depth to the Harry Potter universe, 27 Sep 2009
By 
J. Ellis (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
in the Books Harry plays Quidditch, in Quidditch Though the Ages you get an entire history of Quidditch to satisfy any questions you may have about it.

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them gives you an insight to creatures that appear in the books but no information is mentioned or not enough, Another fun aspect about this is Harrys book and contains his, Rons and hermiones scribbles adding jokes and just something to distract you if you find the books getting a bit boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the Harry Potter fan in your life, 7 Feb 2010
By 
M. Richardson "Lemonflanplanman" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this for my son who has just torn through the 7 Potter books and was desperate to read more. These little books were perfect for him as they give a real insight into the world of Hogwarts. I would very much recommend this to someone keen on Potter and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My experiences of these items, 13 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic beasts is an exelent read with some of the creatures that appear in the Harry Potter video games. It is based from Harry Potter's own copy of the book and includes scribbles made by Harry and his friends! Quidditch through the ages is also a good read, it is based from a copy in the Hogwarts School library. It has interesting facts about quidditch and broomsticks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbledore was right, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (Hardcover)
The books are presented fantastically - QTtA and FBaWtFT not the same colour scheme as I remeber from my youth, but that's hardly a complaint, is it?
Any avid Potter fan will enjoy the background information in these books.It really shows that Rowling put a lot of thought into her best-known series.
There was some damage to the box and the back cover of one of the books when I received them, but I can't fault the seller, since that much was outlined in the product description.
All in all: great books, even better nostalgia.
9.5/10, would buy again (except that I'd already have a copy if I decided to buy again...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for any Harry Potter fan!, 24 Sep 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
The inestimable J.K. Rowling produced this cute pair of books for the charity Comic Relief. Written in a tongue in cheek manner, these two books claim to come directly from Hogwarts! Quidditch Through the Ages is a library book that gives the evolution of Quidditch from its inception, and tells everything about how it's played. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is a textbook that discusses magical creatures in J.K. Rowlings world, treating them all most seriously, and telling you a surprising amount about them.
These are great books, and a must-have for any Harry Potter fan! They are good, light-hearted books that give the reader a good glimpse into J.K. Rowling's world. (Plus, I must say that I learned a lot about Quidditch!) I highly recommend these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any fan!, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (Hardcover)
A lovely collection, the slipcase is red linen with gold embossing and matches the special edition box set. All the books have extra comments, either scribbles form Harry, Ron and Hermione or notes from Dumbledore. They are different to previous version and £4.80 from set will be donated to charity. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you cannot go to Hogwarts, let Hogwarts come to you, 6 July 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although not a necessary addition to everyone’s personal Harry Potter library, these two little books are quite interesting and a lot of fun to read. They are both quite short, totaling less than sixty five pages apiece, but they are wonderfully put together and made to look like copies of real books from the Hogwarts library. None other than Albus Dumbledore himself writes the introduction to each book, explaining how and why these books are being made available to Muggles for the first time and explaining how proceeds from each book go directly to a fund, set up in Harry Potter’s name by Comic Relief UK and author J.K. Rowling, which is dedicated to help children in need throughout the world.
Quidditch Through the Ages, penned by Quidditch expert Kennilworthy Whisp explains the ultimate sport of wizards from top to bottom, giving the centuries-old history of the game as it has evolved. First and foremost, he explains why wizards and witches employ brooms to fly on in the first place, and then he proceeds to give an account of the changing rules of the game from its early days of primitive baskets set atop poles to the standardized and world-sweeping format of today. Of most significance and interest is the story of how the Golden Snitch was introduced into the sport. Different strategies and maneuvers are named and explained, the thirteen Quidditch teams of England and Ireland are identified, some of the seven hundred types of fouls are explained, and some of the most memorable games and individual performances are detailed (including the Tutshill Tornados’ Roderick Plumpton’s amazing snag of the Golden Snitch only three and a half seconds into a game back in 1921).
Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them by Newt Scamander is a compendium of all the fantastic beasts currently known, from the Acromantula to the Yeti. Prior to the actual listings, Scamander explains the criteria by which some beings have come to be labeled beasts (it’s more complicated than you might think) and devotes some time to the obvious question as to why Muggles seem to spot such creatures only rarely. Each listing also carries the classification assigned each beast by the Ministry of Magic, which is important information given that these beasts range from the harmless to the controllable to the incredibly dangerous. Along with fascinating descriptions of the animals we have already encountered in the Harry Potter books, there are some real jewels of information included here, solving several Muggle mysteries such as that of the true identity of the Loch Ness Monster. Fantastic Beasts is a copy of Harry Potter’s own personal copy of the book, and its margins are dotted with little notes ranging from the mundane to the bitingly funny written by Harry, Ron, as well as Hermione. Now, if we could only get our hands on A History of Hogwarts; I’m sure Hermione has a copy they can use for the printing of a Muggle edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect - lower ratings seem to be from people expecting too much., 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (Hardcover)
Right, first off, I'm a bit frustrated that people are giving this product poor reviews because the individual books are simplistic, or short. These were Comic Relief extras, written with to raise a bit of cash for charity. If you're going to buy, make sure you know what you're paying for, before clicking that button.

That aside, I'm perfectly happy with the box set. I work in a bookshop where we sell this set at £20 (£5 off the £25 RRP.) I wanted to buy it for a friend, but decided to check Amazon first. £10 is an incredible price for it, it came sealed in cellophane and arrived promptly.

In summary: yes, they're short, but if you've researched properly, you'll know that already. Regardless, the box set makes the perfect gift for a Potter fan; my friend loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (Hardcover)
As described and arrived on time! The packaging was good too! The price- very reasonable as well so if you are a HP fan, get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hogwarts Library Boxed Set including Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews