Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for every cook!
I love this book. Not only does it have a excellent techniques section at the front and a series of guides to be used as reference for all types of cooking. Some old and classic recipes, but many more modern ideas too and a really interesting section on exotic meats. It's text heavy and certainly not one of those 'coffee table' cookery books but a reference guide that...
Published on 18 July 2010 by Mr. R. A. Varga-clark

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had expected from Leith's
Having already purchased both Leiths Baking and Vegetable Bibles I was keen to see what the Meat Bible would add to my cooking repertoire.
The five main sources of meat are covered, including some interesting offal recipes. However at the beginning of chapters a diagram and table showing cuts of a particular animal is given, then in a recipe an unidentified cut or...
Published 21 months ago by Arjeyesk1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful for every cook!, 18 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Leith's Meat Bible (Hardcover)
I love this book. Not only does it have a excellent techniques section at the front and a series of guides to be used as reference for all types of cooking. Some old and classic recipes, but many more modern ideas too and a really interesting section on exotic meats. It's text heavy and certainly not one of those 'coffee table' cookery books but a reference guide that will last a lifetime. You'll never need to buy another book on meat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "the best friend you can have in the kitchen.", 17 Dec 2011
This review is from: Leith's Meat Bible (Hardcover)
Leiths Meat Bible is not a pretty, artily produced cookery book, which has become the norm for publishing houses today, but it is a valuable addition to the chef's bookshelf, accurately described by Nigel Slater as "the best friend you can have in the kitchen."
This 500-page tome, containing more than 450 recipes, is a real tour de force of meat, game and poultry cookery. Knowing that it comes from the Leiths School of Food and Wine stable, which has been producing highly skilled chefs and home cooks for a quarter of a century, you can be sure that it is thorough, reliable and informative.

The first part of Leiths Meat Bible - which is the latest in a series of useful books that include Leiths Vegetable Bible, Leiths Cookery Bible and Leiths Baking Bible - provides the basic techniques for choosing, preparing and cooking meat, including a fascinating chapter on understanding meat. There is also an illustrated guide to the different cuts, advice on how to handle and store raw meat, and easy to follow instructions on every kind of cooking method you will need.

The rest of the book is divided up into each type of meat and includes a wide range of recipes, from the classics, such as a basic beef stew, shepherd's pie and slow-roast pork belly, to dishes that show more flair, including fillet of lamb with artichoke hearts, peas and pistou, duck breasts with whole baked caramelised oranges, and Thai basil pork.

Beyond beef, lamb, pork and chicken, there is a section on a wide range of game dishes, as well as a chapter on exotic meats. So if you are looking for something a little different for your menu, you can dip into recipes for the likes of pan-fried alligator tail steak with lime butter, camel fillet with Châteauneuf-du-Pape and butter jus, or kangaroo, pomegranate and macadamia nut stir-fry.

Particularly useful is the wine suggestion for every dish and tips on what to do when a dish goes wrong. So, if your puff pastry is too tough, leaks fat or has risen poorly, Clarke and Spaull will tell you why.

This comprehensive book is rounded off with useful advice on menu planning, catering quantities and kitchen French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had expected from Leith's, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leith's Meat Bible (Hardcover)
Having already purchased both Leiths Baking and Vegetable Bibles I was keen to see what the Meat Bible would add to my cooking repertoire.
The five main sources of meat are covered, including some interesting offal recipes. However at the beginning of chapters a diagram and table showing cuts of a particular animal is given, then in a recipe an unidentified cut or possibly an alternative term for a cut is used, which is a shame. I am also a little dubious as to how many readers, certainly in the UK will find the section on Exotic game useful. Whilst i am not averse to trying 'Camel fillet with Chateauneuf-du Pape and Butter jus', or 'Griddled Python with Baby fennel Tempura and Pernod sauce', I just wonder where in Rural England I could lay my hands on 500g of boneless python?
The end of the book is padded out with recipes for a whole raft of sauces, pastry, pizza and pasta, even mashed potato, rice and grains . . . wine matching, menu planning and catering quantities. A few more good recipes would have been preferable I feel.
I am hoping to find my way into this volume and rave about it in the way that I do the much used Baking and Vegetable Bible, but as of yet I have only used one recipe for Venison steaks with lemon and redcurrant sauce - a sauce I will make and use with lots of different game I have to say! Definitely a case of look through this book before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, prompt service, thanks, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
Got this for my boyfriend, he is a chef and he appreciates good meat!
He really loved the book. It also arrived very fast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful cook book, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
Some very useful points in this book, much appreciated, I found the book an asset to the cooking experience. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 11 Jan 2014
By 
N. G. Farrow (fife) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
Bought this for my son who is a chef. He has already found it useful. Book was in good condition and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars leiths meat bible, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
after buying this book, I am definitely going to invest in some of the other titles in the leiths range. As an avid watcher of cookery programmes I thought I knew quite a lot about cooking meat, but I was finding things out in almost every chapter .the fillet steak I cooked after reading the book was the nicest I have had in years, and the gammon joint cooked for Christmas, was commented on by our visitors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..., 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
This was bought as a xmas present for a super meat eater. He loved it, fantastic recipes & tips. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book., 4 Jan 2014
By 
Deb D (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
This is a good book which i bought as a gift but it arrived from Amazon with big black fingerprints on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meat meat meat, 30 Dec 2013
This review is from: Leiths Meat Bible (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for someone but ended up reading it from start to finish myself, very good recipes too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leiths Meat Bible
Leiths Meat Bible by Max Clark (Paperback - 16 Aug 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews