Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (34)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complicated plot grounded in authenticity
MI5 Intelligence Officer Liz Carlyle is called to Geneva when a Russian intelligence agent approaches MI5 and demanding to speak to her. He has news about the infiltration of a top secret US/UK defence project. As Liz and her team hunt for the mole hidden somewhere within the Ministry of Defence, the Swiss authorities are conducting parallel enquiries into another...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by Julia Flyte

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
- I had always looked forward eagerly to her books. It just seemed weak in plot and in chararcter development. It won't stop me reading her though. we all have off days/months.
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complicated plot grounded in authenticity, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
MI5 Intelligence Officer Liz Carlyle is called to Geneva when a Russian intelligence agent approaches MI5 and demanding to speak to her. He has news about the infiltration of a top secret US/UK defence project. As Liz and her team hunt for the mole hidden somewhere within the Ministry of Defence, the Swiss authorities are conducting parallel enquiries into another Russian intelligence officer based in Geneva. At the same time, Liz is trying to assist her mother's partner with a family problem associated with an anarchist group in Southern France. There are some connections between these storylines, although the connections are not as straightforward as it will initially appear.

What I always like about Stella Rimington's books are the way that they ooze authenticity. Even little throwaway lines like describing the MI6 headquarters as "a mixture of understated gloom and grandiose pomp." When she describes surveillance operations or the way that agencies exchange information, you know that it's grounded in the reality of how these things are actually done. While there is action and violence in her stories, it doesn't stretch beyond the limits of all credibility.

Rimington's weakness as an author has always been character development. She has a knack for writing extremely wooden conversations, but this story is very much investigation based so it's less of an issue than it is in some of her other books. The relationship between Liz and her French counterpart is still very much on, but it's a relationship that's entirely devoid of any spark. We are told of their feelings for one another without ever feeling them.

Nonetheless, I enjoyed the story. It's not a "can't put down" thriller, but it develops at a good pace and keeps some connections withheld until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Realistic, and one of the best in the series, 24 July 2012
By 
Jim J-R (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In former MI5 director-general Dame Stella Rimington's seventh Liz Carlyle novel, the counter-espionage officer is called to Geneva when a Russian agent insists on talking only to her. It continues the style of the previous books, focussing heavily on depicting the realism of life in the security service while presenting a compelling tale.

The characterisation moves up a notch in this novel, with a significant sub-plot around elements of Liz's private life, and more of her backstory is revealed. The other characters are used more than in earlier books, with several of them getting significant portions of the narrative.

The plot is compelling and moves at a good pace - the realistic nature of the storyline may put some readers off as it's certainly not 'action packed', but I enjoy the insight into the actual workings of the security services that Rimington's real-life experience brings.

I found this to be one of the best in the series, with a good strong plot and compelling characters. I look forward to more adventures and finding out how the characters' lives will change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
- I had always looked forward eagerly to her books. It just seemed weak in plot and in chararcter development. It won't stop me reading her though. we all have off days/months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable romp, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first Stella Rimington book I've read, and probably not the last. A little silly towards the end, but in keeping with most spy jaunts. I was guided by the other customer reviews, which at the time, were positive. Other books in the series have not faired so well, so I shall choose my next installment with care. A good holiday read which temporarily allows you to feel like a spy, but no big surprises at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most authentic voice in modern count espionage fiction., 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sella Rimington writes with an easy mastery of the genre. As a former Director General of the Security Service of the United Kingdom her writing shines with authenticity.

To the Author: Bravo, another Stella performance... Sorry couldn't resist.

Mike Day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Abundant intrigue, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The intrigue was very gripping although so many names was a little confusing. However this did not spoil the flow and interest in our Secret Service which the author clearly has a deep knowledge of. A fascinating book which I would recommend to anyone. Well done Stella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review by Charlie, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Geneva Trap: A Liz Carlyle novel (Liz Carlyle 7) (Paperback)
Well, it was a book and I read it. It wasn't bad but it wasn't good either. It was a lazy book. We were given sketches of the characters rather than portraits and there were no layers or convolutions to the plot which just plodded on in a pretty straight line. Something could have been made of the two cities, Geneva and London but we got no sense of place whatsoever. The book felt like the first draft of a book which was going to be developed into something rather interesting and I was left with a feeling of disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 30 Aug 2012
Not many spy writers have actually run an intelligence agency but Stella Rimmington has. The depth of her knowledge shines through on every page of this compelling thriller. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from page 1, 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A reader can always tell when the author is 'shooting from the hip', that is writing without any real experience or authority, the narrative will always be hollow and lacking detail. Not so with this offering from Dame Stella which oozes authenticity and is a truly gripping tale. A first class, compelling and thoroughly entertaining novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent story about intelligence operations, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Geneva Trap, Stella Rimington, Bloomsbury, 2013 (2012), 328p.

This is an excellent story about intelligence operations, featuring the author's recurring character of Liz Carlyle and her regular supporting cast. This is not an action `thriller' with heroes running around with machine guns and bombs shooting up villains and blowing things up, having spectacular car chases and escaping from deadly traps and situations, while high-tech weapons are stolen or taken over for nefarious purposes. Having said all that, all the above does actually happen, but in the context of a structured intelligence-gathering operation that happens to coincide with some unrelated counter-terrorism operations, due to personal interactions between the main characters. The story begins with two apparently unrelated incidents in Switzerland, when a Swiss intelligence officer spots a suspected Russian intelligence officer and decides to follow him to see what he's up to; and another Russian contacts MI6 in Switzerland and asks to meet Liz Carlyle. The Russian contact reveals that there is a third-party mole in the MoD interfering with a top-secret Anglo-American drone project. As MI5 investigates, small pieces of information are gathered that are slowly woven into a bigger and bigger picture. Meanwhile, Liz's prospective step-sister returns to England from several years in a French commune, which Liz's boyfriend is investigating. This grows into a separate and unrelated plot that gives us something to watch while the other one gestates, but is interwoven so carefully that we don't notice or even care, as this is the more `human' side of Liz's life. The two stories eventually reach a climax and conclusion, in an excellently constructed and seamless story. This is not Bond or Bourne, but it is its own more `real' world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Geneva Trap: A Liz Carlyle novel (Liz Carlyle 7)
The Geneva Trap: A Liz Carlyle novel (Liz Carlyle 7) by Stella Rimington (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews