Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If even half of this is true, this book is a significant wake-up call
The problem with the world of shadows is that, by definition, one never really knows what's going on in it. But just occasionally, the grubs and moles rise to the surface and we catch a glimpse. The recent coroner's enquiry in London into MI6's Gareth Williams mysterious death is a case in point, as were the horrendous radiation-caused death of Aleksandr Litvinenko in...
Published on 3 May 2012 by Mark Meynell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better structure would have made it a better book
I am a fan of Edward Lucas but he has definitely not produced his best with this effort.

While I think he does enough to support his central premise, the writing lacks structure and the stories seemed, to me, to be all over the place. Not only did I find the chapter order to be disjointed, but I also felt the narrative within chapters was not always...
Published 18 months ago by johnverp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast service, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived very quickly in perfect condition. Present for my brother-in-law who once he started reading couldn't stop; gripped from the off although he admitted it was grim reading! He had requested it so wasn't a surprise. Very pleased all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thugs!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's what the bastards do best. they pander to the west's greed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Deception, 16 Jan 2013
By 
John R. Jolly "johnrjolly" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception (Kindle Edition)
Interesting book though often themes are repetitive and you get a feeling of dejavu. I would not recommend the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 5 April 2012
It is a real pleasure that Edward Lucas has at least published his new book on Russia and the West. Each of his chapters meticulously investigates important cases of Russian spying in the West to give us an understanding of how post-Soviet espionage works, what ideologies drive them and what the Kremlin is trying to achieve. Of particular note is his chapter on Anna Chapman. This case may have been laughed off in the Western media but Lucas uses it as an exegesis for Putin's tawdry regime - arguing that Chapman is in fact a perfect metaphor for the country that made her, recruited her and sent her to the West. Lucas sketches out how her mission in the "illegals" program is both the sad story of a Russian girl trying to use family connections to get to the West, a possible diversion of Russian espionage into dirty business and a genuine continuation of Soviet policies to gather compromising material on officials. It is a nuanced, alarming, and ultimately sad picture of a woman and regime. Drawing on Russian sources not seen in English this book is a necessary read to anyone who wants to know what the former KGB has evolved into. Mr. Lucas's work and journalism was ahead of the curve on Russia since the early 2000s and this book deserves to be read for those that want their reading on Russia to continue to be ahead of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new book by Edward Lucas, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whoever thought the cold war was over (and won by the west) may reconsider his or her views having read Edward Lucas' new book - "Deception" - which deals not so much with with the past but more with the present. It shows the enormous amount of resources being put to use by Russia today for intelligence purposes, deception and the good old "cloak and dagger" methods one thought belonged to past decades. Brilliantly written and well researched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, work has been put into gathering information, but not always correct facts., 24 Mar 2012
Quite a long book, and interesting, Deception accounts for the lives of Russia's spy ring in the US. While there has been substantial information and time put into the writing to make it historically accurate there are a number of critical inaccuracies ranging from biographical data to incorrect deductions about the spies. I would blame the media for these inconsistencies, upon which the book relies on for sources. It's also heavily biased but incorporates the most facts about the illegals program of all publications written to date. the book should be used more lightly as a guide and not so much a hard database to quote from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 7 April 2012
By 
A bookreading man (Lincs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terrific book, excellent range, punchy, insightful, without cliche. More of this sort of thing. Not the book if you want a long history from start to finish - but great if you don't want to read what everyone else has said, again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 18 April 2012
I am no supporter of Putin (who seems to be taking his country towards stagnation), but I see Lucas and Putin as two sides of the same coin and will criticise both. There are evidently people in Russia and people in Britain who want the Cold War to continue. In Russia people like Putin flag up the West as hostile to paper over the gap where real policies should be. In Britain it is people like Lucas, and perhaps those who wanted Katia Zatuliveter to be a spy, who seem to want the war to continue. They want us to have an enemy, because we, as a society, seem to have lost direction and it feels easier to define who we are by what we are against (and, of course, many of those still waging that original war are still around, just in more senior positions).

But the world is not the same, despite what this book says. The Soviet Union dissolved (thanks to Russian help!) 20 years ago. Russia might sometimes have parades on Red Square, but its presidential guards are in tsarist uniforms and the double-headed eagle is back. The Orthodox Church is strong, Solzhenitsyn is read at school, the right-wing are happy that the tax rate is flat and Russians can travel to most places (even to the UK, if they are rich enough). Lucas and his like direct their ire at Russia only perhaps because it was Soviet, but that was many moons ago. I think the author may be in danger of seeming to be stuck in his rut.

This book is a plea to try and get us to believe in old squabbles, but that makes it a bit lazy and old-fashioned, and a bit dated like our obsession with Nazis. It would be much better for us if we swept away all this clutter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Little is New, 24 July 2012
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly I found it at times like trying to walk through treacle. Other than M/s Chapman and her gang which there is not a lot about, the only other item is the indepth last chapter on Herman Simm. The rest of it is in many books on the security services and most in this is old news really. On page 135 he mentions Richard Thomlinson and his book, 'The Big Breach'. In the footnote (8)it states originally published in Moscow in 2001. I have the book and it states, 'Published in Great Britain in 2001'. In the Epilogue Thomlinson does state he had problems in getting the book printed but there is no mention of Moscow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception: Spies, Lies and How Russia Dupes the West (Paperback)
not what i expected, reviews were useless, had expected more about the man himself "putin", a book one could easely forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception: Spies, Lies and How Russia Dupes the West
Deception: Spies, Lies and How Russia Dupes the West by Edward Lucas (Paperback - 17 Jan 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews