Customer Reviews


185 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Cross
Anyone who has read anything by Ben Macintyre before will know that they are in for a treat. He is a wonderful storyteller and, in this book, he is on territory he seems to understand brilliantly and relish. The Allied military planners were working on the the great assault on Nazi Occupied Europe - the D-Day invasion would decide the outcome of the war. In order to...
Published on 13 April 2012 by S Riaz

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Double, double, toil and trouble
Ben McIntyre can spot a good yarn and tell it compulsively - I never tire of recommending Josiah the Great. The author's dabblings in the behind-the-scenes stories of World War II have also been rewarding, but Double Cross is something of a disappointment.

No doubting that the five double agents (who never met) portrayed here were brave, audacious people; no...
Published on 21 May 2012 by G. M. Sinstadt


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A whole new world, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At last the story of unsung heroes who put their lives at risk and were never acknowledged fully for what they did. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, easy to read and captivating, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm always fascinated by the second world war, but learning about the rarely covered double agents put a totally different perspective on events. What MI5 achieved without the benefit of computer records or good channels of communication is astounding. How they manipulated the Nazi regime is beyond clever (including having g them fund the double agents). A very good book and written in a way that makes a complex series of events and personalities easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double cross - 2nd world war intelligence., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book on a personal recommendation and was not disappointed. It was a facsinating story which was well told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Cross (Hardcover)
A very interesting book which gave a thorough picture of a world I didn't know too much about. Churchill's famous words "Never have so many owed so much to so few" could be addressed to these heros as well. Thanks to them thousands of soldiers lives may have been saved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING READ, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies (Paperback)
The book described in considerable detail events that I only vaguely knew about. It was very revealing and most absorbing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A human story, of real people doing extraordinary things..., 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies (Paperback)
Ben MacIntyre has written a fast-paced, absorbing - and true - account of the British Intelligence operation which led to the successful invasion of France on D-Day, 6th June 1944. Other reviews here have precis'ed the story, I'll just say that the tale focuses very much on the individual agents, portrayed with all their flaws and character quirks. MacIntyre writes as if in the moment, with the character of each agent, and their handlers on both sides, British and German, vividly brought to life. We get to know, and care about them, as people. It's a very impressive performance, given that he is writing from research rather than personal encounters. Even if you have no interest in WWll, or espionage, this book will draw you in. No dry re-telling of a well-worn war story, it works terrifically as human drama. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Double Cross, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies (Paperback)
I Bought this for my husband at xmas. He was pleased with it and said it was a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an oddball world?, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies (Paperback)
Having read some of the other reviews of this book, I have a slightly different take.

I could not believe that oddballs were employed as agents (spies) - admittedly these were people with commitment. It was the insight, it seems, of the Double Cross team (the XX) that judged - successfully - who would make good agents.

We think of spying as being in a risky business, but the losses to the spy team were much less than, say, an equivalent number in the army, or of civilians.

The backroom boys of the XX team - the agents' handlers and employers - were a bright bunch; but they had what I would call `a good war'. Meetings were often held in top class hotels, and the working atmosphere was rather like that of a good club committee (cricket club terminology was often used).

The XX work was assisted by the almost total gullibility of the German spy team. I was also surprised by the corruption here - for example cash that was intended for their agents was often funnelled-off to support the comfortable lifestyle of the German managers.

The positive thing is that the DD Normandy landings really were, in part at least, assisted by XX work insofar as German army divisions were held in reserve around Calais for too long.

I enjoy Ben Macintyre's writing - everything is clearly expressed - with more than a touch of ironic humour where appropriate. That said, descriptions of agents, false agents, double and even triple agents, each with their own special XX names (and with different names used by the Germans - as these agents were working with both sides) underline the almost surreal world in which they existed.

I was pleased to note that the work of the code-breakers at Bletchley Park is often cited as invaluable.

I recommend this as a fresh perspective on the 2nd World War - even though the absurdities are difficult to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 12 Aug 2012
By 
P. Waller "Pip" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Cross (Hardcover)
Having read Operation Mincemeat and Zig Zag by the author it went without question that this one would be a scintillating read also. I watched the documetary repeats recently on BBC 2 of Mincemeat and Double Cross narrated by Ben Macintyre and was impressed at the information he obtained on both subjects. Double Cross goes up another notch as far as it being one of those books that comes along now and again that is hard to put down. Intriguing from start to finish and what I found made it all the better is we find out what happened to the participants after the war. Because of these people I think it would be fair to state that had they not done what they did to the level they did we could now all be speaking German. All this taking place almost 70 years ago still makes enthralling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who needs spy novels when the real thing is so interesting?, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is an account of the double-agents and their role leading up to the D-day landings of the second world war. It is extremely well written and is as good as many a spy novel. If you want to cross reference all the details are available but if you just want a good read you can do that. I like the fact that all the references are linked (in the Kindle version) to the end of the chapters and not all through the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies
Double Cross: The True Story of The D-Day Spies by Ben Macintyre (Paperback - 30 Aug 2012)
2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews