Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another brilliant book by Tim Birkhead
After 'The Wisdom of Birds' I thought that it would be very difficult for anyone to write anything quite so good about birds for a long time. I am pleased to say that I was totally wrong - its been done again, and by the same author! For anyone who has watched birds for any length of time it is not long before they start asking questions such as 'how do they do that?' or...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by Dave

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Informative but timid
An easy to read, enjoyable, informative book.

I especially enjoyed the explanations of how birds hear and see differently from humans. For example it is mind stretching to contemplate how some birds can perceive some sounds which exists only for a short time span whereas humans can't.

For my taste there was a little too much 'history of science' in...
Published on 30 Sept. 2012 by M. D. Holley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning., 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most fascinating and thought-provoking books I have ever read. It reaches into the entire range of life experience,emotion and sensation. It s also a brilliant exposition of scientific method. I wish this had been around when I studied Biology at University in the 60's. It would have inspired me and changed my entire outlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Illuminating description of birds' senses, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This very readable book gives an analysis of birds' senses, as far as is known today, together with a history of the scientific discoveries, theories, and experiments which have resulted in our current knowledge. The topic is much more varied and interesting than you might expect, and full of surprises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense (Kindle Edition)
You don't need to know anything about (or love) birds to find this book fascinating. Read how birds see, hear and smell and learn how this knowledge has impacted on our own lives. A book written with deep scientific research but also an easy and enjoyable read for the uninitiated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Facts, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
J. R. Taylor "Flossytreadwell" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing facts I'd never have known. Birds are amazing creatures I have one but the data collected from studies in this book is of great value. People have spent many hours gathering the data & the detail in this book make that clear.
A beautiful book that can teach us much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable, 28 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird (Paperback)
Fascinating!! A huge amount of interesting and intriguing information - very addictive, keeps you wanting to read and learn more. A very enjoyable read. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird (Paperback)
contained information not found in my many bird books.Easy read and keeps you reading without losing interest.Recommend to anyone with interest in animal behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How Do They Do That? Now We Know Thanks To Mr Birkhead., 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird (Paperback)
One of the most illuminating books I've read. Written in an informative but entertaining way, it allowed the reader to see birds in a new light.
: brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars shows it to be a truly more amazing planet than we ever experience, 23 Dec. 2014
So far well up to expectation, to be able to experience the world as a bird, shows it to be a truly more amazing planet than we ever experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Thomson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird (Paperback)
This book is very good value for money and I would recommend it to anyone to read even if they are not particularly interested in bird watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bird Sense, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bird Sense (Kindle Edition)
'Bird Sense' bird sense is easy to understand , well written and a fascinating insight into bird life and understanding bird behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird
Bird Sense: What It's Like to Be a Bird by Tim Birkhead (Paperback - 17 Jan. 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews