Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars296
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2012
William Boyd is one of the best authors of our time and this suspense novel keeps up his high standards. It has a lot to recommend it: a period piece; espionage; interesting, well-drawn characters; and, of course some humorous touches. It's quite a long book - but I didn't want it to end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2012
a thrilling thriller, offering the reader the same hidden hints (and deadends) as le carre, but not vitiated by le carre's "clever" plot- and time inversions. my kindle version was, like other kindle offerings, quite carelessly proofread, which is irritating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
I've always enjoyed William Boyd's books and this one didn't let me down! It keeps you guessing until the end and he describes both Vienna and war torn London really well. It's also nice to read a book set in WW1 as most spy type books tend to be set in WW2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2013
Well plotted and interesting development of characters, especially of Lysander, who is quite unsympathetically presented initially but is developed into a complex and cunning individual by the culmination of his investigation. A really enjoyable novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
Fantastic writing, really well crafted and really interesting characters. Cannot anticipate plot turns.

Not a dull page. My second novel read from this author and will be buying back catalogue.

Highly recommmended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
The first chapters in the book are definitely the best. Vienna and the relationships are beautifully described. Alas I had to wait almost till the end of the book for Hettie and Lothar to reappear.
And then it was not in Wien.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.