Customer Reviews


253 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (93)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the ending
It makes a change to have a spy thriller set in Vienna around the turn of the first world war and William Boyd gets to grips with this one very well. In fact, if you hadn't read the blurb, you might be thinking this was a rather lame love affair doomed to failure thanks to the up and coming horror of the war.

But Lysander Rief, there's a name and a half,...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Michael Watson

versus
120 of 132 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Anticlimactic
In his novel Restless, William Boyd pulled off the difficult trick of marrying a tense wartime thriller with an affecting study of a daughter coming to terms with the knowledge that her mother is not the person she thought she knew. The result was a book that had the compulsive appeal of a commercial page-turner with the satisfying emotional depth of the literary fiction...
Published on 24 Feb 2012 by M D Smart


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great characters, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting and thoroughly researched book, well written and a good read right to the end.The demand for a certain number of words of review is tedious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. Well written, plenty of twists within the plot to hold readers attention. Would read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First book I've read on an e-reader. Decentish plot and well thought, realistic characters. As usual with Boyd, well written but easy to read prose. Not at the level of his early work, but worthwhile none the less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sunrise ..., 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is as good as any William Boyd I have read with the usual twists and turns. Not great but completely competent and an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for Sunrise (Paperback)
Fantastic writing, really well crafted and really interesting characters. Cannot anticipate plot turns.

Not a dull page. My second novel read from this author and will be buying back catalogue.

Highly recommmended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Contrived, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waiting for Sunrise (Paperback)
William Boyd has lost his way. He seems to be trying to improve as a writer, but that's not how it works. People who write above the bar that separates literary excellence from the worthy amateur may develop, but they don't improve - and the development is an organic process; it is not contrived. Pick any book from writers like John Banville or Toni Morrison from any period in their career and the quality is consistent. Barbara Kingsolver writes consistently above the line, with one astonishing book half way through her career. There is no ascending graph to be had, and in trying to achieve stylistic progress Boyd has sacrificed substance and, in Ordinary Thunderstorms, style as well - this was the first of his books to fall below the line. Waiting for Sunrise is borderline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good read, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good read. Will buy more William Boyd works as this kept me interested from begininng to end, with unexpected twists to the plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Ben Wooding (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
William Boyd is my favourite writer - you're interested in the characters from the word "go". This book is no exception - a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, but..., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a pleasant read in Boyd's excellent prose, but it's not up to the standard of his previous thriller 'Restless'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 23 Sep 2012
By 
B. M. Beech "mothxpoole" (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping read! I was a bit dubious when I started the book as I didn't warm to any of the characters, but quickly found it was difficut to put down. The style suited me, easy to read but with enough references and unusual (to me) words to keep me alert and concentrating. In spite of the setting (WW1)it felt of the time without being arcane or pretentiously 'period'. I thought it was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting for Sunrise
Waiting for Sunrise by William Boyd (Paperback - 17 Jan 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews