Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It will always break
Wilson's stories are set in far reaches of British Columbia, in the remote town of Invermere, a world of dead-end jobs, broken families, and brutal winters. The twelve stories cover three generations, using recurring characters but changing perspectives. They plot the relationship between fathers and sons, and of men and their loves.

It is a tough,...
Published 17 months ago by Mostly Harmless

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A challenging read
I can see now why this collection of DW Wilson's short stories has received such mixed reviews.

At one level the stories represent a really well written, thought provoking insight into the macho world of backwater Canada, and at the other it is simply a really challenging and sometimes not massively rewarding read. The challenge is compounded by the fact that...
Published 12 months ago by Garry M


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read, 13 Aug 2013
By 
M. Joseph (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book but did not find it so good that I could not put it down. A pleasant read but I will probably not read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A sensistive hard man, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love these stories, they have an insight into tough, ordinary lives and make you think. The writing is as spare as the stories, and feels true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Slow and disjointed, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This just didn't do it for me. The little snippets into peoples lives with no real story just left me unable to bond with characters and overall i found it a boring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A series of disjointed short stories, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, so the characters came and went but there was no process to the whole, just snapshots. Could do with a glossary for non-Canadians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonder full, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What Alison Munro does for the female of the species, Wilson does for the boys. Beautifully written short stories. To be treasured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the boys, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a set of stories all based in the same town somewhere in Canada. Each chapter is told by a different character and give a different perspective on the town and way of life. The book didn't really hold my attention which meant I put it down between each chapter and then couldn't remember the characters. The stories covered father and son and male friends so there was some overlap.

All stories told from a male point of view so the wives, girlfriends and mothers did not have a voice. I prefer a female author and found the book lacking in depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort or money I paid!, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Could easily have given up on this. Only continued as don't like to leave books unfinished.

More suitable read for men than women in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull., 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very elementary writing style. I actually quit out of boredom. I did not wish to devote time to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not my cup of tea, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Far too American and aimed at men. I did not understand a lot of the language usage and was not keen on the level of violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless, 29 July 2013
By 
S. J. Huggett "Huggy" (Pembrokeshire, Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The only book I've given up on after reading 3 of the short stories. Found them disjointed and pointless actually deleted it from my kindle..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once You Break a Knuckle: Stories
Once You Break a Knuckle: Stories by D. W. Wilson (Hardcover - 12 April 2012)
£11.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews