Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive bible of Moroccan cuisine
At this moment in time, this book is the last book you will need on the subject of Moroccan cooking. The author has taken me on a journey from my flat in London to the souks, medinas, villages towns and cities in Morocco. The book is well illustrated, detailed without being complicated and a joy to read. I have a few on Moroccan cuisine, but this beats all of them hands...
Published 23 months ago by Fran Alexandre

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much effort for too liitle result.
I'm sorry but I can't understand why everyone is raving about this. It makes me wonder if anyone reviewing this book , has actually tried to cook anything in it. I picked this book up on numerous occassions and chose a recipe to cook, only to be put off by the ridiculously over complicated instructions. It may be authentic in Morocco, but most British people haven't got...
Published 11 months ago by P. Ortiz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A picture book with lots of recipes, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
The author is American and the style is presumably also American - it is certainly not like any of the very many British-written cookery books here. Fortunately, the recipes have quantities in spoon measures and metric, rather than the usual cup measures used in the US.
A huge book, a little over 1kg (2.2lb), it is loaded with photographs of Morocco and its foods, various quotations etc., plus the recipes.
I have skimmed through it so far - no cooking as yet - and it does call for at least some ingredients that are tricky to source in the UK - dried rose buds and Medjool dates (the latter not so very difficult to find around Eid), or VERY tricky - argan oil (available at a substantial price via Amazon), for instance. There is also a pet hate of mine that is perhaps commonplace in the US (and in many UK Asian stores, unfortunately) - 2 kinds of cinnamon are mentioned and called for - Ceylon and cassia. Sorry, but cinnamon is cinnamon, cassia is cassia - they are not even remotely similar in taste (or appearance, unless ground), though both are bark from trees, which are botanically related.
Like many recipes from the Middle East, they are mostly simple and uncomplicated when committed to text - the art, no doubt, lies very much in the details of the choice, preparation, and cooking of the mostly rather few ingredients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excelent book, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book not only for the recipes I pick this up a lot . its a huge tomb and takes some getting through but with great delight. If you want Moroccan dishes this is a great book lots of great pictures as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
Having just got back from Morocco I was really keen to get a cookbook and came across this. The book is really great - easy recipes with fantastic photography to illustrate what your finished product should look like. Thoroughly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I REALLY love it!, 18 Mar 2014
By 
Ms. M. Weaver "mo" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
this must be one of the most beautiful books i have ever seen! Full of colour photos that not only show you the wonderful cuisine from Morocco, but also the context - the countryside, the people, the houses, - all inventively presented. The recipes are excellently laid out - clear and full of the right sort of information - the writer knows her subject - inside out!
But i also love the feel of the book - it is a matt paper (even the cover oozes quality) AND there are two lovely ribbons for you to use as bookmarks - in the colours of the saffron crocus.
love it love it love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for authentic Moroccan flavours, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
Excellent book. well laid out and starts with the basics e.g. preserved lemons. Determined to re-create all my favourites now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum, Yum, 17 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
Lovely book, nice pictures of the dishes shown often in a Moroccon situ to add extra interest and enthusiasm. I like the "Notes to the Cook" on each recipe page which gives some extra advice, nice thought. Sections inside include fish, poulty, meat, beans and vegetable dishes, desserts. 500 plus pages worth. Units used in recipes are gms, ml, teaspoons and tablespoons as one would hope. I look forward to warmng up the tagine with some tasty food
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
Large detailed book with good description of food and eaxy to follow recipes.Some of the ingredents are difficult to find in England thus an extended section on suppliers could be an increased benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to browse, 11 Feb 2013
By 
J. M. Cutler (Cotswolds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
...but not really to cook with. It's more of a cultural experience than a cookery book. It lives on the coffee table, not the work surface
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much effort for too liitle result., 15 Dec 2013
By 
P. Ortiz "Ozzy4466" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
I'm sorry but I can't understand why everyone is raving about this. It makes me wonder if anyone reviewing this book , has actually tried to cook anything in it. I picked this book up on numerous occassions and chose a recipe to cook, only to be put off by the ridiculously over complicated instructions. It may be authentic in Morocco, but most British people haven't got 3 hours a night to spare to prepare what equates to a slightly spicy stew. On the couple of occassions when I felt I had the stamina to tackle a recipe, the results were very underwhelming. Sorry, it was just too much effort for too little result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, interesting recipes, 23 July 2013
By 
Sean (Apple Valley, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Food of Morocco (Hardcover)
I bought this book after loving Claudia Roden's incredible Food of Spain cookbook and seeing her endorsement on the cover. This book is similarly beautiful, though it doesn't have depth of culinary history that the Spain cookbook. There are a wide variety of interesting recipes, though this humble cook would of appreciated a few more simple, essential recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Food of Morocco
The Food of Morocco by Paula Wolfert (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2012)
£22.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews