Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The war against the Taliban, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I'm ashamed to say that I had assumed Sandy Gall had retired to a quiet life some where!
Not a bit of it.
I had no idea that he and his family were so devoted and active in the support of Afghanistan and it's people.
His knowledge of the country, it's customs and it's history is astounding.
I found this book hard to put down and that it exposed my ignorance of the details of the troubled times this country has been through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Insightful account of the first 10 years of the Afghanistan campaign to date, exceptionally well researched and written with excellent source material
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afghanistan, 10 Nov 2012
An excellent analysis of the conflict in Afghanistan from someone whose experience spans over 3 decades in the country. This is a thoroughly readable account of the complex issues that faced British and American forces and government departments trying to to create a stable country in the far east.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gritty reality and jet black humour, 21 Feb 2012
By 
Daniel Park "danielpark99" (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sandy Gall is a veteran news reporter and accomplished author with an entirely deserved reputation for letting the main actors in any political situation speak for themselves.

He repeats this knack in his new book, stitching together the opinions of people "on the ground" in Afghanistan to create a picture of high blown sentimental ideals on the part of "reforming" Western powers who completely failed to learn the lessons of previous Imperial and Soviet disasters in the country, or grasp the geographical and political realities of a system based on opiates and commonplace corruption.

Gall combines the gritty reality of the chaotic situations he observes with the often jet black humour of the people he speaks to. For example, when ex-finance Minister Dr Ashraf Ghani revealed that Afghanistan's rating on international transparency had dropped from 114th to 179th out of 180 countries between 2005 and 2010, one local wit observed "Oh, poor Afghanistan, even on corruption you cannot be Number One."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
James R. Parker "jasparker" (PlaŁen - Germany today) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with all these items. Many thanks J.P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars only just started reading, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Against the Taliban: Why It All Went Wrong in Afghanistan (Paperback)
i have only just started to read this book will right an other review when i have finshed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars War Against the Taliban, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read this I fail to understand how we ever got into this quagmire. What a waste of life. We and NATO keep piling money into Pakistan only for them to pass it on to the Taliban. This book should be read by all politicians,
Aid to Pakistan should stop immediately until they mend their ways. What a waste of tax payers money and loss of life. Tony Blair, Gordon Brown how do you sleep at night?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brillant book, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very informative book for those interested in Afghanistan. If anyone with sense in power had this book before entering Afghanistan in 2001, them we may not be in the situation we face now, with thousands dead and only now realising that talking the opposition is the way to peace . Possibly given Mr Galls intimate knowledge of the Afghan people he should have been consulted prior to entering Afghanistan!

One criticism would be more detail on how much Pakistan has helped the Taliban and kept a war continuing with Western Governments own money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoughtful record, 1 May 2012
Most useful for its many detailed interviews of senior British, Afghan, Pakistani, American and other officials involved in Afghanistan in recent years. Ranges widely, discussing both low-level military tactics and national and international politics. Ends with a thoughtful delineation of the deeply connected problems of Pakistan, India and Kashmir.

Major lessons stand out including the need for a single and clear military chain of command combined with integrated direction of the political-diplomatic effort. Both are much resisted by bureaucracies and nations even when acting alone, still more when in multinational efforts. They pay the price. And the civilian population pays a much higher one.

Afghanistan has had a terrible time: can it emerge into peace any time soon? In his book Gall keeps hope alive. Just.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The author gives his side of the fight and struggles that are part of everyday life in Afghanistan. Worth reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Against the Taliban: Why It All Went Wrong in Afghanistan
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews