Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating portrait
Apart from her passionate rendition of "Je ne regrette rien" which I heard often as a child, I knew little about Edith Piaf until I saw this book for sale, and thought I would buy it. The author is clearly a devotee of Piaf, and has done meticulous research into her life to produce a book which, for me, provides a good balance between her lowly beginnings (which would...
Published on 19 April 2012 by GillianEliza

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meticulous but tiresome
This is a very researched and meticulous account of Mme Piaf's life. Unfortunately it's not very interesting. I saw the film ''le vie on rose'' and wanted to find out more about Piaf. I thought the film was top notch and really enjoyed it. However I found this book tiresome. There is absolutely no spice in it.
If I had known what it was like I wouldn't have bothered...
Published 18 months ago by Anna Wilkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meticulous but tiresome, 28 Oct. 2013
By 
Anna Wilkinson (skegness united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
This is a very researched and meticulous account of Mme Piaf's life. Unfortunately it's not very interesting. I saw the film ''le vie on rose'' and wanted to find out more about Piaf. I thought the film was top notch and really enjoyed it. However I found this book tiresome. There is absolutely no spice in it.
If I had known what it was like I wouldn't have bothered buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating portrait, 19 April 2012
By 
GillianEliza (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
Apart from her passionate rendition of "Je ne regrette rien" which I heard often as a child, I knew little about Edith Piaf until I saw this book for sale, and thought I would buy it. The author is clearly a devotee of Piaf, and has done meticulous research into her life to produce a book which, for me, provides a good balance between her lowly beginnings (which would account for her poor health, her work ethic and her indomitable spirit) her adult life (let's just say that her many affairs are described in a respectful and non-salacious way), her work, including detailed accounts of her musical partnerships, stage performances and television appearances, and her mentorship of many of France's premier performers who probably have her to thank for their successful international careers. Altogether a very satisfying read. If only all biographies of famous people could be as good as this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little sparrow, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
A very interesting read on Edith's life regarding her personal life and her amature and professional life, sad at times but a worthy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real Piaf?, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
A thorough look at the obtainable facts about the short life and loves of this amazing and bizarre singer. I found it very readable and as believable as I wanted it to be, leaving me feeling that I know her that much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
Great book about very interesting personality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD VALUE, 23 April 2012
By 
Ms. Sybil Walton "sibbi" (north east england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
THIS WAS PURCHASED FOR A FRIEND WHO HAD HEARD ABOUT IT ON A RADIO PROGRAMME. SHE IS REALLY DELIGHTED WITH IT AND WAS VERY SURPRISED AT THE LOW PRICE FOR IT. I EXPLAINED IT WAS FROM AMAZON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
bought for a friend they are very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf (Paperback)
Bought this for my grandad and he loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf
No Regrets: The Life of Edith Piaf by Carolyn Burke (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2012)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews