Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for special occasions
Raymond Blanc gives clear instructions with a beautiful colour photograph of each recipe. He anticipates any queries with footnote tips on how to deal with them. Each recipe is a clear step by step guide as in his recent Kitchen Secrets TV programme. The recipes are for special occasions or those who like to produce really good meals at home. I am an experienced cook...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Vivienne Bishop

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like a TV book (to much of "As seen on BBC"), his recipes ten to be a little repetitive
Raymond Blanc's recipes, which I love, tend to be a little repetitive through his bibliography. Also the book is too much of a TV cook book. Some recipes are for to advance to be made at home. Nevertheless Raymond remains of of my favourites chefs all over the world.
Published 8 months ago by Pedro Goncalves


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars common sense and great tasting results, 13 May 2013
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Paperback)
So many TV chefs have recipes designed for the camera and the soundbite. The wonderful thing about Monsieur Blanc, with his ooh la la exclamations, is that he knows how to cook and his wisdom is a gift for us all. This book is good for me as it teaches me the tips and how-tos and lets me cook my own food with his flair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful to look at and easy to use, 12 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
This book is easy to use with lots of hints and tips. I have made 3 recipes so far and all have turned out perfect. This shows that the recipes have been refined to perfection. If you follow the instructions to the letter you will have success. I was lucky enough to meet the great man at a local food fair and he was lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 19 May 2011
By 
Miss S. O'Brien (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
Great book. Recipes excellent, pictures and instructions very helpful. I love Blanc's work and am so glad to have this wonderful selection of his recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, good selection of recipies from quick and easy to trying your hand at artisan style food. All rated so you know what your letting yourself in for before you embark on cooking.

Especially like the start of each chapter where basics are covered to improve your success, such as when to take lamb out of the oven for different gradings of pink. Heating your oven 20 degress higher for cakes as when you open the door that extra heat will be lost. Once in the oven you drop the temp. down to stated recipe temperature and many more tips also covered within the recipe to help you out when things go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Raymond Blanc into your own Kitchen, 15 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
I bought the book for myself after watching his TV series - he made everything seem so easy, even the more challenging dishses. His recipes are easy to follow and the results very pleasing. I also bought the book as a present for a friend who is an very good cook. She thinks the book is wonderful - she is reading it like a novel as it contains so many interesting ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitchen Secret, 12 May 2011
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
Just a lovely book. His gentle and amsusing narratives run all the way through- you can hear his lovely accent and see his charming smile as you read it. It's a cookery book that makes you happy.

I would like to send an image but I think my souffle needs more work- it sank without trace but I am sure it was my fault and not Raymond's.

If you like Raymond Blanc you'll love this book.
Maggie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book !!, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic book. The recipes range from easy to complex.
There are plenty of photographs to complement the recipes.
The text from Raymond Blanc is very useful and he has included lots of tips and advise.
I have to admit I even found myself reading it with a French accent and adding my own "voila" every now and then !!!

Would highly recommend this book to any budding or accomplished foodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
Brilliant, Brilliant, Brilliant! This is the Rolls Royce of cook books and from start to finish it's packed with mouth watering recipes the whole family will love. The cherry clafoutis is sublime. The 5 hour lamb,so simple in execution, is unbelievable good. The slow cooked marinaded pork belly is so stunning I ended up making it 4 times in one week and the smoked salmon omelette is now the breakfast of choice for my fussy 16 year old. The fact that you can follow the TV series and see Raymond giggle hysterically as he makes these recipes adds to the experience and I don't know about 'every house having and Adam' but every cook should have this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the series? You'll love this book!, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
If you loved the two T.V series, you'll love this book. All of these inspiring recipes are presented well and are easy to follow with lots of tips and super photos that tempt you to have a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 2 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kitchen Secrets (Hardcover)
This is a lovely recipe book which accompanies the recent tv series. Very clear instructions and beautiful photographs. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kitchen Secrets
Kitchen Secrets by Raymond Blanc (Paperback - 11 Oct 2012)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews