Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and moving autobiography
This is a first-rate autobiography by a working class man, born in 1919, who became a soldier and experienced war in North Africa, Italy and Germany. His description of the firestorming of Dresden makes you feel as if you are part of it with him and it is, truly, a miracle that he survived to tell the tale. He was then taken prisoner of war and liberated by the Russians...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by J. Gibson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gave up
I was really interested in hearing about the life of a real life soldier, but I just could not get into it and gave up before the chap even went to war. I'm sure he had great adventures, but the book could not hold me enough to find out what they were.
Published 15 months ago by Shaun


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars much like his life I suppose - war years and post ..., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
Compelling read. Book of two halves, much like his life I suppose - war years and post war. Even though account of front line action is so vividly portrayed, nothing will ever portray the reality of what such men witnessed and took part in - the smells, the noise....
Post war, well ...beyond my imagination... I didn't know such activities and jobs existed. Makes my life sound so boring. But would not ever want to go through that war experience and message in book is well delivered and understood. Thank you to all those who put their lives on line for others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The incredible story of a courageous man, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just finished this most incredible story of the adventures of a very courageous individual - fortunately he was on our side - will we see the likes of men like this again? A must read for all ex and serving members of The Parachute Regiment and the descendants of The Rifle Brigade
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
A. G. Stout "fatboystout" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible., 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
The best biographical WW2 story I have read. Rick Stroud is a wily Tommy with an instinct for survival, soldiering and mischief that takes him through some of the toughest theatres of WW2 and home again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read This Book, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just read it. You will finish this book within two days, but will remember it forever. All would-be Tony Blairs listen to this man's message.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More then just a story, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is not about the glory of war but about survival then regret then peace. I recommend this as a really great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational story, by an incredible man, 21 May 2014
By 
M. Paddock (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
Easily the best first hand account of a British infantryman of the war. The book is well written and thoroughly engaging throughout, and the scope of what Victor went through during the war beggars belief! Having had the great honour of meeting Vic and talking with him a great deal of his experiences during those years, I am incredibly glad that he decided to write this book and share his experiences with those of us who were not there. At heart this book is the personal story of a British Soldier during the Second World War, and his incredibly interesting life as a civilian during the Cold War. Lastly this is not just the account of any soldier, as Victor was, and always will be a Rifleman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soldiering from a different viewpoint, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It started like many war expereince books but quickly became different in being more personal and more open.Also shows what can happen when a person is not treated with respect by their superiors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RIFLEMAN, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
this is one of the best books I have read in years. I was even reading it during the commercials while watching a movie. It really is undownputtable !!!!
VP Sidmouth Devon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant insite, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book gives a unique insite into the day to day events of war and it's personal traumas during & after the conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews