Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and moving autobiography
This is a first-rate autobiography by a working class man, born in 1919, who became a soldier and experienced war in North Africa, Italy and Germany. His description of the firestorming of Dresden makes you feel as if you are part of it with him and it is, truly, a miracle that he survived to tell the tale. He was then taken prisoner of war and liberated by the Russians...
Published on 31 Jan 2011 by J. Gibson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gave up
I was really interested in hearing about the life of a real life soldier, but I just could not get into it and gave up before the chap even went to war. I'm sure he had great adventures, but the book could not hold me enough to find out what they were.
Published 15 months ago by Shaun


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling and moving autobiography, 31 Jan 2011
By 
J. Gibson (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a first-rate autobiography by a working class man, born in 1919, who became a soldier and experienced war in North Africa, Italy and Germany. His description of the firestorming of Dresden makes you feel as if you are part of it with him and it is, truly, a miracle that he survived to tell the tale. He was then taken prisoner of war and liberated by the Russians. After the war, in chapters worthy of John le Carre, he worked for the Soviets in London. This is not, however, a mere recounting of facts, however ironic - nor does Victor Gregg seek to blow his own trumpet. He does not see himself as any kind of hero. Nor was he, although he undoubtedly had guts. I think what I like most about this book is how the author's voice comes through loud and clear, often laughing at himself, often tinged with remorse. At the end of the book, you feel that you have met this man - he is real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Persoanl history on a global scale, 25 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Life as they say can be stranger than fiction and that's exactly what occurs within this autobiographical story by Victor Gregg who tells of his life experiences during the Second World War, from marching in Africa through Italy as well as being an eyewitness to the devastation of Dresden.

It's beautifully written and brings a human personal look to events that are pretty static and impersonal in the history books. Add to this a good understanding of pace, a solid comprehension of keeping it linear and it's a tale that should be passed on to others to read. With so much of recent history being lost with the elderly generation we need to get these stories down so that when the last one passes the stories are there otherwise we'll be left with a history that has no connection, cold and sterile.

Add to this events in his life after the war and it's a tale that will have many an author scrabbling to create an equally large as life character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rifleman, 30 Oct 2011
This is a fascinating, enthralling and compelling book. I read it in pretty much one sitting. Victor Gregg has done and achieved so much in his lifetime that it is almost impossible to believe, but it is all true.
There is enough material in this book for a television series, let alone a film. He showed compassion, courage, grit and determination. A humble man who was at the epicentre of so many notable events. I urge anyone to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EMOTIVE MEMOIRS, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this book and felt humbled by the strength of this man's character for, without people like him, we would not have "won" the war. He comes across as an uncomplicated man [in a good way] and his attitude to the bombing of Dresden is commendable. War is ugly, there can never be an excuse to bomb places like that and his description of this bombing left me deeply sad for its inhabitants. Victor Gregg seems to be the sort of man who thrives on excitement and change and this is how his book comes across. Unfortunately for him this attitude cost him his first marriage but he felt he'd learnt lessons from that. An excellent read if you are interested in people generally [as I am]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars radio interview, 26 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is a slight cheat, as I am buying the book on the strength of a remarkable interview with the author on today's "Saturday Live" programme [26th February 2011]. He comes across as an extraordinary person - he says himself that some of the things he did [such as [for fun] substituting cement powder for the powdered pumice being made into 'soap' in the factory where he worked as prisoner of war in Germany - and which naturally set solid, and caused all the electrics to blow in the absence of fuses... this earned him the death sentence] were 'mad'. But his vivid re-telling of events including the Dresden firestorm, don't allow us ever to imagine that war was just another story.

It ought to be standard reading for schools, perhaps, to see what war is - not something that exists in a book, or a game on a console, but something frightening, shocking and dangerous: to be avoided wherever peace can be given the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 18 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
This is a superb book for so many reasons.

The story itself is fascinating. It reads almost like a pulp novel but is wholly factual. Written by the author, about the author, it pulls no punches in telling his story from age 18 to age 90. It deals with his time as a soldier including his involvement in Alamein and Market Garden, his time as a POW, and his witnessing of the bombing of Dresden which left him a changed man. His marriage and the birth of his children, his divorce and remarriage, his work as a spy, his involvement in the fall of the Iron Curtain, and his feelings regarding all of these events.

It is a book that you will find hard to not read in a single sitting.

Be careful though, you may find yourself getting a little emotional at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rifleman, 25 Nov 2011
I have met Vic as I served 15 years in the Royal Green Jackets long after he retired of course but as the association webmaster have contact with the old and bold. I never realised what a really interesting story he had to tell. Well done Vic !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable book about war and its personal effects., 2 April 2012
By 
M. Roberts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a remarkable account of a very special life.
Victor Gregg does not pull any punches, whether describing the violence of the war in which he played a full part, his disgust at what all sides in that war did to innocent civilians and children, or his own faults in his personal life.
I have read many accounts of the war actions in some of which my own father took part, as well as books about brave, lucky and cheeky chancers, such as Agent Zigzag.
I believe this is the most telling of all the books about WW2 I have read.
Truly moving. I challenge anyone to read of his final moments with his first wife, without tears in their eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 26 Mar 2011
Great read, all the chapters are quite short, and its an easy read, but still a brilliant and interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book you will enjoy forever, 7 Dec 2014
By 
Mr. Anthony D. Sullivan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall (Paperback)
Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall
This book is a gem and a real life account full of facts that you'll never experience in a history lesson. Full of humour and giving a direct account for what it's like to grow up in a city under fire in wartime Britain. To join the armed forces, fight for your country, be de-mobbed and ultimately still play a part in the cold war. A brilliant and fascinating read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rifleman: A Front-Line Life from Alamein and Dresden to the Fall of the Berlin Wall
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews