Customer Reviews
You


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite torture
Joanna Briscoe is a superb writer, and this is her best book yet. A haunting, seductive story, about a mother searching for a baby she was forced to give up, it grabs you and holds you under, breathless for the outcome.

The people, the place, the hippy school where teachers called Idris and Kasha encourage the love-children of fading rock stars and cash-...
Published on 3 July 2011 by P M Overton

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You wot?
Bookish, sensitive schoolgirl Cecilia Bannen becomes infatuated with her tall, floppy-haired English master James Dahl at 'free-thinking' Haye House school in mid-to-late 80's rural Devon. Twist - her mother, Dora, (who teaches music at the school) becomes equally (and implausibly) obsessed with Dahl's wife, frosty, straight-talking, 'dark-eyed' Elisabeth (also a Haye...
Published on 16 Sep 2012 by annwiddecombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite torture, 3 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Paperback)
Joanna Briscoe is a superb writer, and this is her best book yet. A haunting, seductive story, about a mother searching for a baby she was forced to give up, it grabs you and holds you under, breathless for the outcome.

The people, the place, the hippy school where teachers called Idris and Kasha encourage the love-children of fading rock stars and cash- strapped hippies with the right connections to follow their fancy in jazz dance and naked swimming, the subsuming obsession of an adolescent girl's crush on her English teacher, and the same woman's anger and compassion for her young self twenty years later - all are described with such truth and originality that there comes a point where you simply forgot you are reading at all. You are living in this book.

This is one of those agonising books that you can't put down but don't want to finish. Exquisite torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loss and Longing, 9 July 2011
By 
V. Grand (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You (Paperback)
Joanna Briscoe's haunting book is all about the pain of loss and longing. Both Dora and her daughter Celie spend their adult lives yearning for someone who is absent, or not fully available. Haunted by loss, the real people in their real lives fail to get their full attention; and in Celie's daughter Ruth, we see this psychological pattern repeating in a third generation. Ruth, unable to fully feel her mother's devotion, turns to a fantasy world, with almost disastrous consequences.
Dora realises she did the wrong things "by attaching myself to someone who cannot be pinned down."
This novel is beautifully and subtly written, haunting and mysterious to the last pages, when it all falls into place in an ending you'd never guess (however hard I tried...) but makes perfect sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You wot?, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Paperback)
Bookish, sensitive schoolgirl Cecilia Bannen becomes infatuated with her tall, floppy-haired English master James Dahl at 'free-thinking' Haye House school in mid-to-late 80's rural Devon. Twist - her mother, Dora, (who teaches music at the school) becomes equally (and implausibly) obsessed with Dahl's wife, frosty, straight-talking, 'dark-eyed' Elisabeth (also a Haye House teacher). Novel cuts between burgeoning 'secret' love affairs of mother and daughter, and present day when Cecilia, now married, a children's novelist ( yawn), and mother of three, returns to draughty, ramshackle, Wind Tor, the house she lived in as a child, to look after Dora, now ill with cancer: inadvertently, she also revisits old passions.
Plenty of ITV-drama-friendly stuff in there already, but just to nail the deal, Briscoe also throws in a 'Lost Baby' plot as well.
Don't bother with the book if you're after anything original - the characters and use of the setting ('this strange, wild place') are all too familiar. The story is one-note since both central characters are dealing with the same emotions. The writing is patchy, including probably the gristliest sentence I've read this year - 'It was all too easy to regress, to become irritated and sulky yet self-sacrificing in Dora's presence, using abnegation as a passive weapon in the face of Dora's intractability.' That'll stick in your teeth alright. Characters continually 'colour' and 'flush', 'stiffen' and 'soften' and 'swallow'; hearts 'speed' and 'plunge'; lips are always being 'pressed together', eyes habitually 'shine with moisture' and there are many sentences that sound poetic but are actually meaningless: 'The raw air caught her breath.' Eh? 'Katya was there...her hair with its green tinge from the water's copper drifting about her small solid body.' You wot? 'His narrowness defined by the blackness of his eyebrows.' Come again? 'She put her arm around Romy's shoulder and swiftly murmured reassurances to her as she ran along the passage to Izzie's room.' Mutually exclusive actions, surely? A character throws leaves at a window to alert someone inside...leaves tend not to go where you throw them and what kind of noise would they make anyway? You can see the book's 'reveal' a mile off and Izzie, Cecilia's adopted, 'indie' daughter shows Briscoe's tin ear for the way young people speak...it's all 'babe' and 'lush' and 'Chill, Mum!'.There's a pointless piece of melodrama involving Ruth, Cecilia's youngest daughter, towards the end of the book.
But there are also good insights into the dangers and terrors of love, the unreasonableness of emotions, the pull of the past, and nice writing about ageing, responsibility and the beauty of wild landscapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Autopilot, 8 July 2012
This review is from: You (Paperback)
It's been a long wait since Sleep With Me, which is one of those books I've read again and again just to wallow in the beautifully told, urgent story of love and obsession and Bloomsbury. But while SWM was lean and spare and restrained, You rambles on and on, with a heavily-flagged twist that was disappointingly obvious.
The first half is beguilingly sexy and moreish, but towards the end it's as though you're reading the same chapter again and again, with the same characters having the same conversations, only in different seasons.
The character of Ari didn't come off the page at all - I assumed it was so he could be swiftly written out to enable some plot device. The halting dialogue was annoying after a while, especially when it's broken off for some unnecessary description. There's one tense conversation in Dora's kitchen in which the dialogue stops so we can be informed that she is fingering an enamel ladybird in a bowl. What's that for? And no tense conversation between the adult Cecilia and James Dahl is complete without dialogue being interrupted by an exhaustive list of types of birds that happen to be in the vicinity. And I'm sure some of them were made up.
After Sleep With Me, I tracked down a copy of Mothers and Other Lovers on Amazon, and I couldn't get past the first chapter. You is very similar, though admittedly better. But it's no Sleep With Me, sadly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 27 Jun 2011
This review is from: You (Paperback)
If you loved Joanna Briscoe's previous novel, Sleep With Me, as much as I did, you'll find lots to admire and enjoy in her latest, You. You is set in the countryside, in contrast to the very metropolitan Sleep With Me, but it excites in many of the same ways: with stunning prose, brilliant observation, high passion and some shocking twists in the plot.
The narrative offers the parallel stories of Cecilia and her mother, Dora, as each negotiates life raising children in the country. It begins when Cecilia returns to live in her childhood home and as the story unfolds in these two different dimensions of time, we see how the sometimes shocking events of the past - and particularly Cecilia's passion for her charismatic teacher, Mr Dahl - must inevitably come back to claim her.
The author evokes a brilliant sense of period in the flashback scenes, and a strong sense of place throughout. But it is the story that drives this book, and the tension builds as you turn the pages.
Treat yourself to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Kerry Blance "blancey" (gourock UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You (Paperback)
This was an excellent read - I could barely put the book down ! I could feel the pain of the main character Cecilia and felt as if i was actually in the story living through all her troubles with her. The ending was left that you felt that there could be a follow up to this novel - hopefully this is something Joanna Briscoe might consider ? I purchased this book on my kindle for £0.99 as it was the read of the day and by goodness it was worth every penny !!! x x ENJOY x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too slow, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: You (Paperback)
Gave up on this very quickly - too tedious to continue. Characters not very interesting, therefore not an interesting book. It m i g h t have improved, but I didn't have the patience or will to carry on, not when there are plenty of other books to read. It was a library book so hasn't cost anything apart from time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not gripping, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Kindle Edition)
This is the sort of book that you want to know the outcome, but you're not desperate to know. It plodded along telling the tale of a family living on the wild moors, alternately an incident in the past then fast forwarding to the present day. None of the characters were particularly gripping, a thing they had in common with the plot. It wouldn't be fair to give any broad hints here as to that plot, thus spoiling it for anyone intending to read it, but suffice to say it's about a teacher, a teenager, and a strange family set up. It all leads to a lost love, in more ways than one.

I found it a bit pedestrian and more than once blurted out "For goodness sake, tell her" (you'll know why if you read it) as I felt the pace needed geeing up somewhat, but as I say I persevered to the conclusion. It turned out rather predictable in the end and bordering on the ridiculous, so I don't think I'll be bothering with this author again. Not enough happened, and that that did was a bit of a damp squib.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You, 19 April 2013
This review is from: You (Paperback)
I liked the story but at times I lost flow reading it. The way it's written with people's hesitations all the - time, had me - sort - of - annoyed and I just want - wanted to - to read it without reading the same word twice!!! The passion was pretty evident in the sex scenes and the emotion tied up with each character was moving. It was worth reading although predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fevered and obsessive, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book but do feel that it perhaps tries to cram too many plot-lines in for it to become a five star read. The `past' story of Cecilia's obsessive teenage passion for her English teacher, Mr Dahl, is done excellently: the fevered, neurotic, all-encompassing desires of teenage girls is conveyed brilliantly and reminded me very much of my own schooldays.

Offsetting that, however, is the long drawn out tale of Cecilia's mother's own rather improbable passion for Mr Dahl's wife.

There is much that I enjoyed about this book and Briscoe has a deliciously light and satirical touch when describing the rather awful `progressive' school that studious Cecilia is sent to, and the `hippy commune' atmosphere of her home life.
So this is a mixed book for me: the `present' story, particularly, feels like there are too many stories pushed in which perhaps don't get the space to breathe as much as they should. This is overcome, however, but some excellent emotional writing, and the compelling, utterly gripping schoolgirl affair at its heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You
You by Joanna Briscoe (Paperback - 10 May 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews