Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venetian Blinder
It comes as no surprise that, for his first book, Venice expert and addict Russell Norman has applied the same attention to detail as marks out his restaurants to delivering a beautiful, practical and eminently useable volume. Part travel guide, part cookbook, part love letter, Norman conveys the reader around Venice as if in a gondola, taking in ciccheti here, pizzette...
Published 24 months ago by Hugh R. Wright

versus
7 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This book came very well reviewed, but unfortunately did not live up to expectations.
Well presented, but fairly run of the mill recipes and nothing that had a "wow" factor
Published 20 months ago by Dr. Richard Parker


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Venetian Blinder, 25 July 2012
By 
Hugh R. Wright (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
It comes as no surprise that, for his first book, Venice expert and addict Russell Norman has applied the same attention to detail as marks out his restaurants to delivering a beautiful, practical and eminently useable volume. Part travel guide, part cookbook, part love letter, Norman conveys the reader around Venice as if in a gondola, taking in ciccheti here, pizzette there, all washed down with an Aperol Spritz. As a huge fan of his Polpo restaurants, it's a joy to now have this definitive guide to the dishes I enjoy there so as to be able to enjoy them at home. The cleverly stitched spine, enabling the book to lie flat on the worktop, will surely be as widely copied as Norman's small plates, no reservations business model.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polpo, Best Italian cookbook yet!, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Heard this book being reviewed on Womens Hour a few months ago, was intrigued and had a look online. couldn't resist it as it is about the little bars/restaurants which we like to frequent in Italy. Have been so pleased with it, used it more than any other Italian cookbook I own and every recipe has been a success. Just laying up litres of the tomato sauce which is fab, to eat with the Polpette (meatballs) again fab, as is everything else I have tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Quite apart from the delicious recipes, the production qualities of this book are stunning, with beautiful photography and illustrations, and a very unusual spine design which makes you want to pick it up and turn the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cookbook I have every bought, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Best cook book I have ever bought, its simple ingredients and clear instructs have helped me as a novice cook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Bought this as a present, it is so pretty and so different, there is only one pasta recipe, which makes a refreshing change. Some friends of the books recipient most definitely had book envy when flicking though the great sounding recipes and gorgeous images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cook book ever, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Used it many times and a copy bought for a friend went down extremely well too. This year has been a good one for cookery books but this is easily tops!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you love the restaurant, then it's worth buying the book, 6 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Having visited Polpo the restaurant, and loving the food, I was delighted there was a book available so I could make the dishes at home. Inspired by what I ate, I invited one of my Italian friends over and we tried making a few dishes. The tomato sauce could not be easier, a lot of tomatoes, both canned and fresh, some oil, garlic and oregano boiled down.

To go along with it, we made the lamb and pistachio meatballs, as they were a little unusual and putting them in the oven took out the messy job of frying them off in a pan. They are moreish bite-sized of yummyness. Definitely worth making.

We also made pizzetta and made a version of the blanca, with asparagus and courgettes. Make sure that you roll it out very thinly as if it's too thick, it won't cook in the middle, though that didn't put my friend off!

Also on the menu were the prawns - we could only obtain frozen raw prawns with no shells on, which just didn't work, as there was too much water content that oozed out. It tasted nothing like the ones I tried in the restaurant, so it's worth shopping around for fresh raw prawns.

The mozzarella bocconcini - mozzarella dipped in breadcrumbed and deep fried were interesting. The mozzarella just melted out and I had to cut the ball in half as it was quite chewy.

All in, the dishes were tasty and it saved me a lot of money from returning to the restaurant. The photos are beautiful food porn and really makes you want to make the items. It's bounded in such a way that you don't have to press the book down and ruin the spine, which is exposed to show the workmanship. The instructions are easy to follow, so if you're a completely new starter to cooking, it's straight forward.

My Italian friend said some of the dishes weren't really Italian but i'm not complaining and it does say "of sorts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polpo book review, 22 Aug 2012
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Now here's a thing I have never tried before- - roasting grapes, so when I spotted this recipe in the new cook book that I recently received I thought I would give it a go. Yesterday we found our selves at a wedding in the morning, (my step niece got married) then kicking our heels for the rest of the day before heading to the evening reception party, so at lunch time I thought I would try my hand at this, the full recipe is Goat's Cheese Roasted Grape & Walnut Bruschette, but I'm not a huge fan of walnuts so left those little chaps out, and added some slight variations of my own.

Polpo, A Venetian Cook Book (of sorts) published by Bloomsbury, is responsible for my little trip down memory lane today, filled with lovely photos (that makes me think we should visit Venice again, though maybe next time in the spring), and one hundred and forty simple recipes all inspired by the culinary treats found in the back streets of Venice and recreated by Russell Norman. If you intend to take a trip to Venice, take Russell Norman's advice, stay away from the tourist places to eat, and take a wonder down the back streets where the real taste of Venice awaits.

See the full review at [ ... ]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Wonderful Restaurant, 12 July 2012
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
Have visited the restaurant a few times when I've been in London and thoroughly enjoyed my meals.
With the book available, it's great to recreate some of the dishes.
I've only had the book a few days and have enjoyed a number of dishes from the book already.
The fried stuffed olives are wonderfully moreish! Umami!!!!
Piedmontese peppers with white anchovies were outstandingly scrumptious.
The Cod 'Cheeks' sitting in my freezer from my last trip to Shetland will be used with the lentils and salsa verde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marvelous cook book, 7 Aug 2012
This review is from: POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) (Hardcover)
On one of our trips to London my partner and I discovered Polpo and were delighted by the Venetian cuisine. I wanted to surprise my partner on our anniversary with a romantic, unique dinner but I am not the best, and certainly not the most inventive cook out there! So I knew I had to do some research online and find some good, easy to make recipes. I specifically looked for Venetian food and was surprised to discover that there was a cookbook giving away the Polpo-recipes. You can imagine that I bought it straight away! The recipes were easy to follow and my partner was really impressed and happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts)
POLPO: A Venetian Cookbook (Of Sorts) by Russell Norman (Hardcover - 5 July 2012)
17.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews