Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book shame about the index
I looked around before I bought this book - I wanted something that had a lot more to it than the fish sections of general cook books, and I really wanted the sections on choosing fish and basic tchniques.

As you can see from the other reviews, it fits the bill very well

However, I mark it down one star because using it as a cook book is actually...
Published on 13 Nov. 2008 by Stokey Sue

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book for Fishermen
I was expecting a fish recipe book, rather than a book describing different types of fish and what to buy. It would be a good book for a fisherman or the other half of a fisherman. I just want to cook the fish.
Published on 16 April 2013 by yogamichele


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

60 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book shame about the index, 13 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I looked around before I bought this book - I wanted something that had a lot more to it than the fish sections of general cook books, and I really wanted the sections on choosing fish and basic tchniques.

As you can see from the other reviews, it fits the bill very well

However, I mark it down one star because using it as a cook book is actually quite difficult because of the lack of a proper cross-referenced index showing fish types and recipes. What they do is give you a load of recipes, which are listed under the name of a single fish, but may recommend up to about half a dozen other fish that will work.

Suppose you have a beautiful grey mullet. You look it up in the index and find pretty much zilch. So you turn to grey mullet in the fish directory and hidden in the grey box in the margin are some page numbers which contain recipes suitable for using with grey mullet - but no clue whatsoever as to what any of those recipes might be. So you have to turn to each one in turn to discover what they are. By the time you have done this you've spent half an hour finding out that the recipe you fancy needs an ingredient you don't have and the corner shop closed 10 minutes ago.

Wouldn't have been easier just to list in the index all the recipes under the fish to which they can apply ? And entries for fish steaks and fish fillets while you were at it guys - not all of us cook for 6 all the time, and those of us in small households tend to buy our fish dismantled (PS if you read this guys, look at Rose Elliot's Bean Book for an example of an almost perfect ingredient-led index).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thorough trawl, 21 Dec. 2007
The first thing I couldn't help noticing about The River Cottage FISH book is how big and heavy it is - definitely not a book to take on a fishing trip but then that was probably never its intention.

Written by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and the appropriately-named Nick Fisher, they have a clear view of its "nitty gritty". Apart from the "delightful activity of cooking and eating fish", FISH is about understanding the business of catching and preparing them. Once we readers achieve this we will, perforce, get even more pleasure.

Golly, FISH is comprehensive. One of its three sections, Understanding Fish, is divided into Fish as food; Sourcing fish; Fish skills; Shellfish skills. Within these, the authors deal with such diverse topics as Fish as brain food; Five rules for sustainable fish shopping; Fish to find; Fish to avoid; Fish prep kit...... and so on. A thorough trawl.

Recipes are a real catch. Helpfully grouped under such headings as Raw, salted and marinated; Baked and grilled; Fish thrift and standbys (for maximising ingredients and minimising waste) they cleverly organise you into deciding what - and how - you might want to cook. They're also extremely alluring - Simon Wheeler's photos see to that - and make you want to rush out, buy (from a sustainable source naturally) and cook. Roll on summer for a burst of Roasted whole plaice with cherry tomatoes. Meanwhile let's be content with FoodLovers featured recipes Crab Bread & Butter Pudding or Drunken Smollack Toasts - a fishy version of Welsh rarebit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best fish cookery books are written by fishermen.., 24 Nov. 2007
By 
Neville Merritt "Salar" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...and fishmongers. My favourite fish cookery books so far have been from Sophie Grigson and William Black, Philip Diamond, Mitchell Tonks and Alan Davidson. All really know their fish because they get out there and catch them, or deal with fresh fish for a living. Now Hugh and Nick join that select band of my favourite fishy authors for the same reason - they know and love fish, from the bottom of the sea to the plate. They write informatively, humorously and passionately, and the reader can't help wanting to pick up a rod or net and get involved. Don't expect fussy recipes: these are best cooked in a farmhouse kitchen or a fishing boat galley, and eaten with your fingers. But they will taste fabulous. Don't expect too many recipes for boring old cod or salmon either, as Hugh and Nick explore nearly all British edible species that swim or crawl. This is a big book, and hugely readable. The authors are both very passionate about sustainable fishing, and offer useful tips to help conserve the more pressurised species, and provide every reason to try alternatives that are right on our doorstep. Buy this book, you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 24 April 2009
By 
J. Milton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will open your mind to the wonders of fish.

The book starts with a detailed section on how to prepare all the seafood that is in the book, from gutting and filleting a fish to dressing a crab.

The passion that Hugh Fearnly-Whittingstall and Nick Fisher have for fish is then shown through the wonderful recipes that are offered for every type of fish and shell fish. Each recipe is straight-forward and the number of ingredients never becomes unmanageable.

Of course, with his River Cottage hat on nothing is left to waste so there is even a section on how to cook the off-cuts and left-overs from your main meals.

After the extensive recipies section there is a wealth of knowledge on each fish and mention of a sustainability rating, e.g. whether you should really be buying the fish in question or not. It really does make you aware of what can be considered ethical and sustainable when eating fish.

A truly wonderful guide to fish that will make you aware of what and when to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encyclopaedia and cookbook in one, 22 May 2008
Book is mostly aimed at people passionate about fish and cooking it and contains lots of information about fish, fishing practises etc. I personally was only looking for simple healthy recipes but I am still very happy with it. Was slightly disappointed with the number of recipes, however I love the description of each type of fish with comments on how best to cook this particular fish. With other cookbooks, you only have a dozen recipes for half a dozen types of fish, and are stuck if you have got anything that does not fit the list. Here, each recipe has suggestions on what other types of fish to use. And of course they know what they are talking about, it is all simple and elegant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fish!, 14 July 2010
By 
Mrs J (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
In my opinion this book is utterly fantastic!! Not only does it address the questionable debates and issues that are surrounding the fishing industry it encourages and promotes it's readers to educate themselves.
This book really gets you thinking (as any good book should do in my estimation!) When I read it I found myself immediately searching for information. To question and wonder about the ecological future, sustainability and provenance of the fabulous fish that fill the waters around our coast.
And that's only the introduction!!!
There is a fantastic, detailed section aptly entitled `fish skills' that describes and advises you on every part of catching, killing, gutting, cutting and cooking your catch as well the usual impeccably brilliant and gorgeous dishes to cook- in a variety of ways including: open fire, smoking, grilling, soups etc. With a final section on the types of fish found in our own water of the British Isles.
How can anyone resist?!
If you're a fan of The River cottage series then you'll adore the book as much as I did. If not, let me assure you still have a wonderful time, eating your way through the delicious recipes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid book of reference, 25 Oct. 2008
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a major work of reference for anyone interested in fish cookery and sustainable fish buying. Everything you need to know about buying, gutting, filleting and cooking of every kind of fish and shellfish is dealt with and even how to kill fish and shellfish if you get them live.

I find the information about the best times of year to buy all the different species of fish and shellfish very useful. There are also lists of fish suppliers, including those who do mail-order for those who do not have easy access to good quality fish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nearly everything you wanted to know about fish (including how to cook them), 23 Oct. 2011
Written with enthusiasm and knowledge, this book will tell you all about fish, where they live, what they look like, which are endangered (this is a strong theme running throughout the book) and, of course, how to prepare and cook them. The whole lot, including shellfish (but not the endangered ones).
If I have two quibbles with this book it is the organisation and indexing, so it can be a trawl to find a particular recipe or fish (others have commented on this). the other is some recipes are a bit obvious. Suppose though you have got to have that for beginners. I have tried some of the recipes . They are easy to follow and work well. Now, a cook book one actually uses - that is a rare commendation.
Whilst writing, you might like a recipe , not from the book, that my daughter brought home from college. I call it Hot Trout, and if avoids the earthiness and boredom of the traditional trout with almonds - not an almond in sight in fact.
For one person ; take a medium to large trout fillet and place skin side down in foil in a baking tray. Dot with 2 or 3 small pieces of butter (all ingredients except the trout, soy sauce and ginger or chilli are optional, but enhance this dish well). Add a very generous dollop of soy sauce, some garlic, dill, ginger or chilli and two or three cherry tomatoes. You can also place an anchovy or two on top of the trout for extra fishiness. Wrap the foil over and cook on gas mark 5 for about 20 minutes. Looks very impressive when served. Serve with some green veg and a mash to absorb the juices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great resource, 1 Feb. 2009
By 
Toby Allen "Toby Allen" (Cork, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As well as a great cook book, this provides listing of all the main fish we all eat and how endangered they are with clear details of which we should eat and which not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing fishy about this book!, 13 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another goodie from Hugh, this book feeds the senses even before you start on the cooking. It looks and feels delicious and is the usual mix of information and recipes. If fish floats your boat, then this book is an excellent catch! (Sorry...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Cottage Fish Book
The River Cottage Fish Book by Nick Fisher (Paperback - 4 Jan. 2011)
£16.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews