Customer Reviews


1,164 Reviews
5 star:
 (985)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


380 of 387 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vegetarians Delight
Having bought HFW's River Cottage Every Day and been impressed with the vegetarian options available in that offering I jumped at the opportunity to buy this book and have not been disappointed. ALL recipes are vegetarian and are split in to the following, beautifully photographed, chapters (including some recipes):

Comfort Food and Feasts - aubergine...
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by J. Milton

versus
73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Veg Every Day!
This is a beautiful looking cookbook and some of the recipes are absolutely delicious such as the aubergine parmagiana, the risotto with chestnuts and thyme and the mushroom lasagne. However, be warned that some of the seemingly straightforward recipes are quite labour-intensive or require several pans and are more suitable for weekend cooking as opposed to midweek meals...
Published on 27 Nov. 2011 by Shopaholic


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

380 of 387 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vegetarians Delight, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
J. Milton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Having bought HFW's River Cottage Every Day and been impressed with the vegetarian options available in that offering I jumped at the opportunity to buy this book and have not been disappointed. ALL recipes are vegetarian and are split in to the following, beautifully photographed, chapters (including some recipes):

Comfort Food and Feasts - aubergine pamigiana, pinto bean chilli
Heart Salads - spelt salad with squash and fennel, fish-free salad nicoise
Raw Assemblies - red cabbage, parsnip, orange and dates
Hefty Soups - Mexican tomato and bean soup, ribollita
Bready Things - vegiflette toastie, various rarebits
Store-cupboard Suppers - spring onion gallete, oven-roasted roots frittata
Pasta and Rice - baby carrot and pea risotto, vegeree
Mezze and Tapas - carrot hummus, Cambodian wedding day dip
Roast, Grill and BBQ - roasted aubergine boats
Side Dishes (including sweet asides) - runner beans with tomato and garlic, pumpkin and raisin tea loaf

Each chapter is stacked full of recipes that will keep you going with something new for a while. In addition, and this is something that runs through all HFW cookbooks, all recipies are achievable, quick/relatively quick to cook and contain ingredients that can all be purchased locally rather than online. I haven't found a single recipe that I will not try and again, in keeping with previous HFW cookbooks, he has outlined simple variations on the recipies and has thought about practicalities of some recipies by suggesting them as a simple, healthy alternatives to a boring sandwitch at lunch.

A fantastic cookbook. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


473 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant way to add veg to your diet, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
First let me start by saying I'm not a huge fan of Mr. Fearnley-Whittingstall. Generally seems a bit overblown to me. I say this not to be mean, but to emphasise that I am not a devotee of River Cottage and its fearless leader...just this book, which is absolutely amazing.

I've recently been focusing on the need to add more veg to my diet, but all my vegetarian cookbooks either try to replace meat (think tempeh and nut loaf),just chuck the veg with some pasta or into a pie, or have a list of exotic ingredients as long as your arm.

This book doesn't focus on what's missing in a vegetarian diet, but focuses on the veg and how to make them taste great in a number of simple ways. I've had the book for a month and used it at least 10 times. The recipes are easy to follow, the suggestions for modifications are brilliant, and the food just tastes good. Even my carnivore husband has complimented the recipes and asked for more!

Which brings me to another point - these recipes are very easy to chuck some chicken or fish into if you fancy. You just don't happen to miss it if you don't.

I have recommended this book to all my friends and will continue to use it on a regular basis. It's fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feeding my veggie child!, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Having sat and watched the series, buying this book has helped me to feed a very fussy vegetarian child and has opened up our family use of veg. Some great, easy recipes. This comes from a very competent veggie cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO SO good and foolproof!, 14 Dec. 2012
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Get this book! I have tried about 10 recipes now and half of them are now regular meals, appearing on my table at least once a fortnight!

One important thing about cooking these recipes - In Hugh you must trust. Some measurements may seem off, maybe too much stock or spinach for example, but it always turns out perfect.

Some choice recipes...
mexican tomato and bean soup
penne and spinach souffle (never cooked a souffle in my life and this turned out amazing!)
swede and potato pasties
parsnip and ginger soup
sweet potato biriyani (makes loads and works with lots of veg, great for leftovers!)
pinto bean chilli

Looking forward to trying the amazing looking pizzas and starters next (vegetable tempura with chilli dip anyone?) Such creative flavoursome dishes cannot be passed up.
In conclusion... GET THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Recipes are straight forward, practical and delicious. The term everyday its well chosen in the title. This is a book you will readily use day to day. Simple and unfussy food. Deserves a place alongside Ottolenghi, Cafe Paradiso and Cranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for veggies and meat eaters, 28 Jan. 2012
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
I didn't see the TV series, but have been a vegetarian for over 20 years. I bought this book after reading the positive reviews on here, and i'm very pleased that I did. I've now had the chance to try several of the recipes, including: the North African stew, garlic flatbreads, home made pizzas, mushroom stoup, the aubergine and green bean curry, the new potato & goats cheese gnochi, the various toastie toppings, the home made noodle pot (for lunches) plus a few others. The recipes are easy to follow, with lovely photos so you have some idea of what it should look like at the end! There's a good range of recipes, with sources of vegetarian protein included in many of them. The recipes cook quickly enough to have the time and energy to create them once you get in from a long day at work. Everything so far has had very positive reviews from my partner (a devoted meat eater!), so much so that he's now not eating meat by choice Monday- Friday! Lots of the recipes use fairly common store cupboard ingredients so you won't end up spending a small fortune on things you might never use again unlike some other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall is on a mission to get people to eat more vegetables. And what better way to get you in the kitchen than with this fantastic hardback complete with over 400 pages of recipes and beautiful full colour photos.

Hugh's writing style is very much that of a down to earth, practical cook than a celebrity chef, which makes this book that bit more accessible to the casual reader. He points out in his introduction this isn't a vegetarian book, although it is certainly meat and fish free, but more a book that's purpose is to debunk the myth that cooking with vegetable produces meals which are bland or unpalatable. The focus is all about how to cook vegetables properly and teaching correct preparation.

This a book you know you can rely on to just pick up and then get cracking in the kitchen. The recipes are simplistic enough to follow on an everyday basis and, as you will find, well worth the effort too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


180 of 200 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My best cookbook ever!, 4 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
What a marvellous book! I have been a fan of all things River Cottage for a while, but being a vegetarian the number of recipes available to me in the other RC books has sometimes been limited. This is a fantastic development from the original "Everyday" book, (which is also very good) and a very welcome one for someone who has been a vegetarian for almost 25 years. There is also lots of stuff for vegans too - well done Hugh!

Usually I skim through a new recipe book, and find a few things that look interesting, a lot that sound complicated or use unusual ingredients, and others that simply don't appeal. In this book, everything sounds interesting, accessible and straightforward. Beautiful photos add to the appeal. Hugh also usefully includes a list of storecupboard ingredients which are the basis of many of his recipes, and this will help to ensure that you have everything you need to get cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could convert you!, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
We were having some vegetarian friends to dinner last Saturday and I was panicking about what to cook, when Hugh's new series came on the TV and I immediately ordered the book. I did what I always intend to do, but rarely manage, and read it from cover to cover as my bedtime reading and it is really inspiring! I couldn't wait to get started on the recipes and was spoilt for choice for the dinner party. In the end I cooked the kale and mushroom lasagne (p34) with a carrot, orange and cashew salad (p107)for the starter. I also made the pistachio dukka (p294) to dip our bread in and it is absolutely gorgeous. The granita dessert was from Jamie's 30 Minute Meals (also a great book). Our friends were very impressed and I think we could even be converted to vegetarianism with all these mouth watering recipes to choose from. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Veg Every Day!, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful looking cookbook and some of the recipes are absolutely delicious such as the aubergine parmagiana, the risotto with chestnuts and thyme and the mushroom lasagne. However, be warned that some of the seemingly straightforward recipes are quite labour-intensive or require several pans and are more suitable for weekend cooking as opposed to midweek meals. After all, HFW is someone who can use 4 pans to make one ratatouille!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2117 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day)
River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall (Hardcover - 19 Sept. 2011)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews