Customer Reviews


1,182 Reviews
5 star:
 (999)
4 star:
 (124)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


384 of 391 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vegetarians Delight
Having bought HFW's River Cottage Every Day and been impressed with the vegetarian options available in that offering I jumped at the opportunity to buy this book and have not been disappointed. ALL recipes are vegetarian and are split in to the following, beautifully photographed, chapters (including some recipes):

Comfort Food and Feasts - aubergine...
Published on 2 Sept. 2011 by J. Milton

versus
74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Veg Every Day!
This is a beautiful looking cookbook and some of the recipes are absolutely delicious such as the aubergine parmagiana, the risotto with chestnuts and thyme and the mushroom lasagne. However, be warned that some of the seemingly straightforward recipes are quite labour-intensive or require several pans and are more suitable for weekend cooking as opposed to midweek meals...
Published on 27 Nov. 2011 by Shopaholic


‹ Previous | 1 2119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

384 of 391 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Vegetarians Delight, 2 Sept. 2011
By 
J. Milton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Having bought HFW's River Cottage Every Day and been impressed with the vegetarian options available in that offering I jumped at the opportunity to buy this book and have not been disappointed. ALL recipes are vegetarian and are split in to the following, beautifully photographed, chapters (including some recipes):

Comfort Food and Feasts - aubergine pamigiana, pinto bean chilli
Heart Salads - spelt salad with squash and fennel, fish-free salad nicoise
Raw Assemblies - red cabbage, parsnip, orange and dates
Hefty Soups - Mexican tomato and bean soup, ribollita
Bready Things - vegiflette toastie, various rarebits
Store-cupboard Suppers - spring onion gallete, oven-roasted roots frittata
Pasta and Rice - baby carrot and pea risotto, vegeree
Mezze and Tapas - carrot hummus, Cambodian wedding day dip
Roast, Grill and BBQ - roasted aubergine boats
Side Dishes (including sweet asides) - runner beans with tomato and garlic, pumpkin and raisin tea loaf

Each chapter is stacked full of recipes that will keep you going with something new for a while. In addition, and this is something that runs through all HFW cookbooks, all recipies are achievable, quick/relatively quick to cook and contain ingredients that can all be purchased locally rather than online. I haven't found a single recipe that I will not try and again, in keeping with previous HFW cookbooks, he has outlined simple variations on the recipies and has thought about practicalities of some recipies by suggesting them as a simple, healthy alternatives to a boring sandwitch at lunch.

A fantastic cookbook. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


475 of 486 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant way to add veg to your diet, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
First let me start by saying I'm not a huge fan of Mr. Fearnley-Whittingstall. Generally seems a bit overblown to me. I say this not to be mean, but to emphasise that I am not a devotee of River Cottage and its fearless leader...just this book, which is absolutely amazing.

I've recently been focusing on the need to add more veg to my diet, but all my vegetarian cookbooks either try to replace meat (think tempeh and nut loaf),just chuck the veg with some pasta or into a pie, or have a list of exotic ingredients as long as your arm.

This book doesn't focus on what's missing in a vegetarian diet, but focuses on the veg and how to make them taste great in a number of simple ways. I've had the book for a month and used it at least 10 times. The recipes are easy to follow, the suggestions for modifications are brilliant, and the food just tastes good. Even my carnivore husband has complimented the recipes and asked for more!

Which brings me to another point - these recipes are very easy to chuck some chicken or fish into if you fancy. You just don't happen to miss it if you don't.

I have recommended this book to all my friends and will continue to use it on a regular basis. It's fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feeding my veggie child!, 29 Dec. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Having sat and watched the series, buying this book has helped me to feed a very fussy vegetarian child and has opened up our family use of veg. Some great, easy recipes. This comes from a very competent veggie cook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO SO good and foolproof!, 14 Dec. 2012
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Get this book! I have tried about 10 recipes now and half of them are now regular meals, appearing on my table at least once a fortnight!

One important thing about cooking these recipes - In Hugh you must trust. Some measurements may seem off, maybe too much stock or spinach for example, but it always turns out perfect.

Some choice recipes...
mexican tomato and bean soup
penne and spinach souffle (never cooked a souffle in my life and this turned out amazing!)
swede and potato pasties
parsnip and ginger soup
sweet potato biriyani (makes loads and works with lots of veg, great for leftovers!)
pinto bean chilli

Looking forward to trying the amazing looking pizzas and starters next (vegetable tempura with chilli dip anyone?) Such creative flavoursome dishes cannot be passed up.
In conclusion... GET THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 8 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Recipes are straight forward, practical and delicious. The term everyday its well chosen in the title. This is a book you will readily use day to day. Simple and unfussy food. Deserves a place alongside Ottolenghi, Cafe Paradiso and Cranks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite books, 22 Jan. 2013
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall is on a mission to get people to eat more vegetables. And what better way to get you in the kitchen than with this fantastic hardback complete with over 400 pages of recipes and beautiful full colour photos.

Hugh's writing style is very much that of a down to earth, practical cook than a celebrity chef, which makes this book that bit more accessible to the casual reader. He points out in his introduction this isn't a vegetarian book, although it is certainly meat and fish free, but more a book that's purpose is to debunk the myth that cooking with vegetable produces meals which are bland or unpalatable. The focus is all about how to cook vegetables properly and teaching correct preparation.

This a book you know you can rely on to just pick up and then get cracking in the kitchen. The recipes are simplistic enough to follow on an everyday basis and, as you will find, well worth the effort too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 82 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Veg Every Day!, 27 Nov. 2011
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful looking cookbook and some of the recipes are absolutely delicious such as the aubergine parmagiana, the risotto with chestnuts and thyme and the mushroom lasagne. However, be warned that some of the seemingly straightforward recipes are quite labour-intensive or require several pans and are more suitable for weekend cooking as opposed to midweek meals. After all, HFW is someone who can use 4 pans to make one ratatouille!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This could convert you!, 24 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
We were having some vegetarian friends to dinner last Saturday and I was panicking about what to cook, when Hugh's new series came on the TV and I immediately ordered the book. I did what I always intend to do, but rarely manage, and read it from cover to cover as my bedtime reading and it is really inspiring! I couldn't wait to get started on the recipes and was spoilt for choice for the dinner party. In the end I cooked the kale and mushroom lasagne (p34) with a carrot, orange and cashew salad (p107)for the starter. I also made the pistachio dukka (p294) to dip our bread in and it is absolutely gorgeous. The granita dessert was from Jamie's 30 Minute Meals (also a great book). Our friends were very impressed and I think we could even be converted to vegetarianism with all these mouth watering recipes to choose from. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


106 of 118 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very tasty, 8 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Previously not really done Hughs books , too many toes and nose for me , being a veggie but this of course is perfect . Not as flash as the god Ottelenghi . This is more down to earth easy peasy stuff , using what you already have in the cupboard [ with out having to source weird ingredients or use every spoon in the drawer] .A few old classics too , with a different twist . Already made some great meals from this . Does what it says- veg every day . A must for those people who live off soya mince or say " what do you possibly eat as a veggie ".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars River Cottage Veg Every Day!, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) (Hardcover)
Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall is keen to point out in the very beginning of this delicious cookbook that this is a ‘vegetable’ cookbook. The author is not a vegetarian, nor does he aim to persuade anyone to become a vegetarian; but there is no meat or fish in any of the recipes which obviously makes it ideal for vegetarians. However, it also means that it might persuade people generally to stop putting meat or fish at the centre of the plate and try out some of these delicious recipes. We all need to eat more vegetables and the recipes here are certainly ideal for anyone who wants to cook more vegetables, but has come to something of a halt due to lack of inspiration or ideas.

The recipes are split into: Comfort food and feasts, Hearty salads, Raw assemblies, Hefty Soups, Bready things, Store-cupboard suppers, Pasta and rice, Mezze and Tapas, Roast, grill and barbecue and Side Dishes. I watched the television series on the author’s attempt to eat more veg himself and get more vegetable main dishes into the restaurant with interest. This is absolutely huge – at over 400 pages – and packed with recipes. Having had this book since Christmas I have tried out quite a few of the recipes and they have not only been a hit with me, but also, most importantly, with my children. Recipes are well laid out and easy to follow and, if you should need more persuading, think how much cheaper your shopping bill would be if you had a vegetarian main dish just once or twice a week. I heartily recommend giving this a try and find it has become one of my most turned to cook books for inspiration and easy to prepare daily meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2119 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day)
River Cottage Veg Every Day! (River Cottage Every Day) by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall (Hardcover - 19 Sept. 2011)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews