Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars507
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2015
Great book in great condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Thoroughly engrossing book!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
Very engaging. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
Maybe it's just me but I found this a little tedious at times, probably because I couldn't empathize with the main character.
The author keeps reminding us how heroic, brave and patriotic Chapman was but all I could see was a vainglorious opportunist and selfish turncoat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Excellent would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
Great story good service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2015
On time. As advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
Eddie Chapman is a legend!

The book is a rip from start to finish. How brave was this guy? A rogue, womanizer and hero all rolled into one.
If you like WW2 spy books and haven't read this then you have definitely missed a trick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
I really enjoyed this book. It has as many twists and turns as a novel, but all true. It is written in a very easy-to-read style and is obviously well-researched. A real and fascinating insight into a little revealed aspect of the second world war, and the risks that ordinary people were prepared to take behind enemy lines as spies and double agents. Recommended to anyone who enjoys a spy thriller on indeed anyone interested in the war.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2007
This book is one of the most entertaining and interesting reads I have had, all the more so because it is not fictitious but retells an amazing ture story. The plot for a Bond film would be hard-pressed to equal the story told here. The research necessary to write such a book is extensive and the writing fast-paced yet still informative.

Especially interesting was the description of the various German Abwehr officers who held very differing views on the Nazis.

The book, especially towards the end, is both moving and funny. I liked the little epsiodes at the end describing Chapman's dealing with the Revenue and his former German spymaster attending his daughter's wedding.

Overall one of the few books trully deserving of the 5 star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse