Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2007
I read some of the reviews and i felt moved to right my own one. Firstly i would like to say yes the book is more adult than Jk's previous books but i think people are missing the point it is a natural progression not only for the characters but the readers who have grown up with Harry Potter! In my humble opinion this book and all the Harry Potter Books are classics and will stand the test of time. Right back to the book i found it just as avidly a page turner as the previous ones. yes perhaps some of the storylines could have been fleshed out a bit more, but it is easy to criticise, i found this book hugely enjoyable and very uplifting and a triumph of the obvious love and effort JK has put into writing it. I think the story and the many themes running through this book and the previous ones such as the importance of family, a human life, being true to yourself, self sacrifice, never giving up hope, friendship, Love etc... are all things that resonate now and in the future. I cannot thank JK enough.
77 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2011
This is a review I should have written a long time ago, however being convinced that I `just wasn't that into Harry Potter' left me completely oblivious to the full extent of this story, until now. I finished this book one hour ago and I will now consider myself, a full-fledged crazy fan, only ten years later than everybody else. Enjoy.

Title: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Reading time: 2 days
Rating: 9 ½ / 10

Its no secret that J.K.Rowling has an imagination we'd all like to take credit for, however I don't think anyone expected, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, to be as captivating as it was. I, for one, could not put it down. Only after hours of reading would I finally give in to my chronic back ache and or droopy eyelids.

Having been with these characters since they were 11, you already know what you're getting. You feel like you know the score. But what you don't expect is how the unraveling of the story brings you closer to the characters you feel like you know so well. You experience they're conflict when confronted with riddles and clues, you experience them dealing with battle and loss, and amongst this, you experience they're everyday teenage angst as they deal with some long overdue love. I no what your thinking, that they've done these things in the others books too, but I can safely say, never like this. Never in a way that has you glued to your seat, soaking in words like they were crack.

For me Harry Potter has been a constant in my life, for as long as I can remember pointing at old buildings and asking my Mum if I'd found Hogwarts, so reaching the end was always going to be emotional. But I never expected that saying goodbye to Harry, Ron and Hermione would be like losing three old friends. And for me, the urge to keep reading until these characters die of old age, will never subside. Harry Potter has been a necessity among my generation, and after 10 long years, the book that finally see's `The Boy Who Lived' triumph, will not disappoint.

Captivated, excited, infuriated, heart broken, Inspired. You'll feel many things throughout the story, but after turning that last page, you feel what I can only describe as, magical.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2009
Having read the whole Harry Potter series twice I still don't think I am either a fanatic or expert. What I can say is that Deathly Hallows is the best book I have ever read and it concludes what is a compelling series of books.

I finished Deathly Hallows for the second time last night and could happily pick it up and start reading it again.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2007
Amazing how some book can be so good that when you've finished them you get filled up with a sadness and nostalgia that you cant describe. this is one of them.
absoloutly gripping from the first sentence to the last, harry potter and the deathly hallows completes harry's journey in the wonderful, sometimes sad, incredibly dangerous world of magic.
unlike the other books, this novel is full of destruction, death and loss. It doesnt even have the spirit-lifting moments of humor for us to depend on. however, i think this book is enough fast moving that you dont think about it too much and you just become engrossed with the charecters lives. to tell you the truth i find it impossible to fault this book. a 100% must read, and best harry potter ever.
33 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Just about everyone, it seems, has been on the journey with Harry Potter over the past ten years - eagerly awaiting the next installment, devouring it as soon as it appears, and then mulling over the implications, twists and clues as the HP universe takes shape in their minds. I found this final book is a richly satisfying conclusion to the story - exciting, moving and intriguing.

The tight-rope that JKR walks as she endeavours to mix adventure, mystery, morality, emotion and humour into her tale (all the while having to contend with the breathless anticipation of her vast reading public) is almost impossible to stay upright on - to be sure, I thought there were some wobbles here as characters get shunted around locations in a somewhat unrealistic fashion - but her achievement in having captivated our attentions for so long with such a great work of imagination can't be denigrated. This is a fine ending to a wonderful story.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
So many pages, but so many questions left unanswered. For example:

- Why are the Weasleys poor? They can DO MAGIC! Even if it is against some kind of wizard rule to magic money out of thin air, it can't be that hard to rustle up a few quid if you can make things appear and disappear at will...

- What the Hell do adult wizards do? There is limited careers advice at Hogwarts, which is perhaps not surprising given that lack of career options available to wizards after they leave school. These comprise a) teach at Hogwarts, b) work at Ministry of Magic or c) become a lone crackpot. The majority will end up at the Ministry; a vast organisation looking after wizards, the majority of whom appear to work in that very building. Who on Earth pays for all these bureaucrats? One can only assume that the Weasleys' apparent poverty is the result of the extreme taxation that has to be applied to pay for the running of the Ministry...

- Who sets the curriculum at Hogwarts? It is unsurprising that wizards can do almost nothing when they leave school because they are lacking basic skills. Maths, anyone? The nearest they get to numerical work is arithmancy, but only Hermione seems to take this subject. (What does the arithmancy teacher do while waiting for Hermione to turn up?). Even for a wizard, it is more important to be able to add up a bill, write a sentence, speak a couple of words of French, or turn a mouse into a chicken and back again? It's OK, though, because one of the subjects that did make the cut is divination, despite it being an open secret that the teacher is incompetent and that the subject is nonsense...

- How does anyone get better at Quidditch? Sporting options at limited at Hogwarts. They play one sport (the rules of which are mean that a game can last less than a minute) but only a handful of pupils are allowed to play, based on a selection process which is arbitrary (to say the least). If you are not selected to play for your house (and only a handful ever play the game), then Quidditch remains an impossible dream... Given that students appear to have three cooked meals, of unlimited quantity, every day, it is amazing that every pupil at the school can even get up the stairs, let alone fly on brooms...

- What becomes of Madam Hooch? One flying lesson. That's all you get. Then you're on your own. Best of luck, boys and girls...

- What goes on in Slytherin house and why is it allowed to continue? There is clearly brain-washing going on in Slytherin. As soon as the sorting hat announces a new Slytherin, that person is doomed to a life of dark magic, unpleasantness and laughing at Draco Malfoy's jokes. Perhaps it is being forced to live in a dungeon that makes them all so miserable...

- Why is the Gryffindor common room so small? It is not clear quite how many students there are at Hogwarts, but I am sure that you need to get up pretty early to get a chair in the Gryffindor common room...

- What goes on in the rest of Hogwarts? The vagaries of the subjects taught at Hogwarts fade into irrelevance when one considers that most of the school day must be spent in travelling the enormous distances between classrooms and that therefore the lessons can only last for about 10 minutes. By the time they get anywhere, they must be knackered. Perhaps that's why they got rid of the sport - students get all the exercise they need from traipsing around the ludicrous site of Hogwarts;

- What are we to make of the plight of Hermione's parents? Poor Mr & Mrs Grainger. They work for years to study dentistry and then have a child, a brilliant student. To their amazement, she becomes a wizard, which must come as a bit of shock. Perhaps an even greater shock is that she moves out of home at the age of 12 to take up permanent residence with the Weasley family, and then never goes home. For some reason, these poor dentists never even contact the school (which they could not travel to, in any event) to enquire about their prize-winning daughter. Then, one day, they have their memories wiped and Hermione never even existed. One can only assume that JK Rowling REALLY hates going to the dentist...

And finally...

- If wizards are so clever, why can't they invent the biro?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2007
The final Harry Potter book finishes the story perfectly. It charts Harry's attempts to destroy the remaining horcruxes in his attempts to finally defeat Voldemort, along with Ron and Hermione. I'll avoid spoilers. With this book, Rowling has produced a masterpiece. The narrative is tightly woven, providing intense storytelling while weaving together all the unfinished story threads from previous books, as it hurtles towards the climactic battle within Hogwarts itself. The ending itself is brilliant, and once you have read it, you will find it hard to imagine it finishing differently. The storytelling is simply excellent.

It's certainly a dark book; this can't be denied. The world Harry now lives in is almost indistinguishable from the Hogwarts of the first book. Rowling devotes little time to the amusing details, like moving portraits or wizarding sweets, which filled earlier books, and instead we are presented with a bleak world, ruled over by a tyrannical Ministry of Magic. Harry must fight even to survive on a daily basis. But the darkness isn't, as some reviewers suggest, a criticism. With this book, the series, like Harry, comes of age. Gone (thankfully) is the constantly moody Harry of books V and VI. The Harry of this book, while not without flaws, has matured to face the challenge ahead.

The notion that anyone is purely good or pure evil is challenged here more than ever before. Voldemort's supporters show moments of compassion, while Harry's supporters, and none more so than Dumbledore, show elements of evil. The bond between Harry and Voldemort is closer than ever. But even so, Harry is able to prove himself more heroic than ever before. It has been suggested that each book deals with an important life lesson. The lesson here, which Harry, Voldemort, and all the other characters must here deal with, is coming to terms with death. Rowling's ideas here border on the Christian, though there is no religion involved. Redemption, too, is important here.

Overall, until now, the Harry Potter novels have been good stories, but have never quite reached greatness. The Deathly Hallows changes that. Anyone who dismisses the series as just a children's story doesn't have a leg to stand on now. It's not just a story, it's deep, intelligent, incredibly moving, and bound to be one of the books which defines the twenty-first century. Rowling should be congratulated; this book fully deserves to become a classsic.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2007
Unlike many others on here, I'm not going to spoil it for you by telling you the story. So, do yourself a favour and don't read the other reviews.

As an adult reader in my twenties, I think this was the best book out of all the Harry Potter's I have read. So imaginative, and full of action, you really do get transported into the wizarding world. So much went on, and it was very emotional and really tugged at the heart strings throughout. This is the darkest out of all the Harry Potter books. A lot of gory, horrific, terrifying, upsetting, emotional and sad scenes await, along with the odd happy one - but tinged with sadness. I really wouldn't recommend it to kids say twelve years or under.

Can't wait for the film!!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2007
The only question that was really, truly on anyone's lips the moment this book was released: 'Can it stand up to the hype?' After two years, this, the final chapter of what must be the most successful series ever, seemed almost crippled by the level of publicity it was receiving - but the book stood strong, and is, in my opinion, an almost unequalled read.

Every Harry Potter book has been leading up to this. Little moments you thought meant nothing, little asides which you didn't think were anything to do with the current plot, all of them have their place, all of them have been subtly guiding you to this point.

The book itself is immensely well-written. In terms of narrative, Rowling displays her usual knack for swift but concise descriptions of surroundings and people, leaving us able to grasp the enormity of a situation or subtleties in character with a few lines that don't impede the flow of the plot.

And what a flow. The plot of this book offers a change from the norm for the series, freeing Harry, Ron and Hermione from Hogwarts and leading to the fullest, most vivid exploration of the magical world yet and gives this book an epic, sweeping scale previously felt only, perhaps, in the closing chapters of Order of the Phoenix and Half-Blood Prince. It is all the better for it, at several points you almost forget that the trio are still technically school-age, the adventure matures each of them so thoroughly that they are very different from the characters as you remember them from the first novel.

This character development is really key to the success of this novel; each character comes into their own, fully-formed, perfect creations literary creations. In terms of the central trio, each has grown immeasurably; Harry has left behind the irritating angst that was present throughout most of Order of the Phoenix and begun to accept that there are some things he can't understand, Ron, always a steadfast and loyal friend, faces his personal demons and comes off the better for it, and Hermione shows just how accomplished a witch she truly is.

There are deaths, of course there are, Rowling has mentioned many times that for readers to truly understand the level of evil incarnate in Voldemort and the Death Eaters, there MUST be deaths to make the tale ring true. Each of these deaths is sensitively handled, and appropriately mourned - not always instantly, you cannot stop the world in the midst of a major battle to go into detail abut how tragic death is - but at some point, they are mourned and their memories honoured in a moving, utterly heartbreaking fashion.

In response to all those people who are complaining about the epilogue, 'I want to know what happens to EVERYONE blah blah blah' and all such nonsense, I imagine that these are the same people who would be moaning if everyone's eventual paths had been revealed - 'No no no, that's not right, I always thought she'd be doing THIS' and similar. The epilogue is not there to tell us what happened to everyone; it is there to show us the beginning of another journey, a journey enabled by the sacrifices and battles of the novel. It is, in short, proof that it was all worth it. Rowling, I suspect, has recognised the close personal ties we have all created with our favourite characters, and allowed us the pleasure of imagining how we think they will have turned out, a pleasure too often denied by authors who wish to dictate every single action of every single character's existence. I for one applaud her.

In short, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows is not only the best in this most venerated of series, not only an astonishingly accomplished piece of literature, but (in my opinion) the greatest children's book of all time, whose glory will not diminish, but will (in this family at least) be enjoyed by generations to come.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
This book can be split into 3 parts, rated as such.

Pages 0-150 , 4 star
Pages 150-400, 2 star
Pages 400-600, 5 star

Once into the home stretch this book rarely lets up. Let's not beat about the bush here, it's a good book, a dark book and a good conclusion.

In terms of format this book doesn't fit as neatly into the 1 year of Hogwarts life like the others, but that doesn't matter, we've had 6 books of that. All the characters are back, though often in cameo form.

My main criticism the book is cut too short after the climax. It could have used some moments catching up with other characters after the events.

Still, if you've read through books 1-6 then you'll read this. It's certainly more coherent than the last 2 and shows some forward planning in the text of book 6.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse