Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Do you know that Chinese is a very dangerous language for foreigners? '
'One slip in tone and `Good morning' becomes `Let us go to bed together'.'

While this novel is constructed around the early life of Pearl S. Buck in China, she is only part of the unfolding story. The protagonist is a fictional Chinese girl named Willow, the only child of a destitute family living in Chin-kiang at the end of the 19th century. Pearl...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very little Pearl
I already knew that Pearl Buck was a real person before I read this book, The Good Earth is on my bookshelves although unread so far, but I knew nothing about her. This book has certainly whetted my appetite to go and search for it and read it sooner than I might otherwise have.

Despite the title though , the book is really about and narrated by her fictional...
Published on 30 May 2010 by Elka


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl, 13 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
Another unusual book for me to read .but thourghly enjoyed it . It was quite a tale and gives you insight to another's culture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl of china, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl of China (Kindle Edition)
Another amazing book by anchee min I only have one more of her books to read can't wait to start it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insight into another world, 11 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
a fascinating insight into another ancient, sophisticated, and highly developed culture:

How they perceive our own familiar (to us) and accepted American/British concepts and beliefs,
(although this was written about a time, about a century ago now).. . .

. . . and how Christianity,[ which did not, in any case, originate in Britain NOR in "The West",
is perceived, may be accepted, and then translated inta very different culture,
without losing its most intrinsic values, and power
to transform (arguably for the better , in many cases).
In this very moving story, written in the first person, from the Chinese point of view,
my attention and interest was held from start to finish, such that I immediately
went back to the beginning and read it all through again, gaining further knowledge
and insights than on the first reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
Sent it to a friend having read it first and we both loved it. I will read all her books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
Purchase was just as expected and arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst book ever, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
Miss Moyo "TiaOguri" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
i have enjoyed reading books by Anchee Min but this book was a disappointment. am not one to stop reading a book in the middle but i found it really boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
a book you can't put down....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 16 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Pearl of China (Paperback)
This is the fisrt book I have read by Anchee Min and I found it very boring. Stopped reading half way though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pearl of China
Pearl of China by Anchee Min (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews