Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Isn't the Sort of Thing That Happens to Someone Like You
Between the covers of this book of short stories you will encounter everything from the sublime to the totally ridiculous."In Winter in the Sky" is a good example of both.It is a beautifully written and well constructed story of the developing relationship between a male and female.The former carries a very heavy secret from the night of their first date.McGregor devotes...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by dikwal

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bleak, strange short stories
I have really mixed feelings about this book. McGregor writes well, and indeed this short story collection showcases his wide range of writing skills which are used to convey the characters and situations very cleverly. But therein lies my main problem with the book too - too often it seems that the stories are being used to show off that talent and range of styles rather...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by markr


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bleak, strange short stories, 7 Mar 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Isn't The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You (Hardcover)
I have really mixed feelings about this book. McGregor writes well, and indeed this short story collection showcases his wide range of writing skills which are used to convey the characters and situations very cleverly. But therein lies my main problem with the book too - too often it seems that the stories are being used to show off that talent and range of styles rather to to create an enjoyable experience for the reader. It is more art than entertainment at times.

Most of the stories are short, indeed, one is less than half a page and one is only one line. Whilst they are all well crafted - even the one liner - they are often too short for the reader to become engaged with the characters, and this is reinforced by the amost unremittingly bleak situations which make up the stories. The characters seem resigned to their fate, and there is little hope of better times to be found in this collection.

Well written, but for me at least, not very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Isn't the Sort of Thing That Happens to Someone Like You, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: This Isn't The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You (Hardcover)
Between the covers of this book of short stories you will encounter everything from the sublime to the totally ridiculous."In Winter in the Sky" is a good example of both.It is a beautifully written and well constructed story of the developing relationship between a male and female.The former carries a very heavy secret from the night of their first date.McGregor devotes every second page to the rather crude drafts of the main lady,an aspiring writer.This is where you begin to realize that the author sometimes prioritizes art and the desire to be different over reader interest.
"Supplementary Notes to the Testimony of Appellants A & B" reads like a tedious report written in a police station. It is very much out of sync with the subtle creativity of most of the collection. "The Remains" ends with the words,"Have Yet to Be Found" repeated over and over for almost two pages. The final story, "Memorial Stone" comprises four pages of placenames! Perhaps I'm missing something very deep. Somebody please enlighten me if I am.
That's the rant off my chest.Any lover of creative,mood-setting,different(!) writing will revel in this book. the author has a wonderful ability the create a sense of place as well as a sense of a person.You will be smitten with all the emotions. "We Wave and Call" will stay with you for a long time for its ingenious build up to a devastating ending.
The book should have ended with "I'll Buy You a Shovel". Two travelling labourers in a caravan,with an upmarket wedding reception going on nearby will give you moments of great pathos and of great hilarity.
The sublime certainly outweighs the ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original short story collection, 16 Mar 2012
This review is from: This Isn't The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You (Hardcover)
Having enjoyed Jon McGregor's novels in the past I had high expectations for his new short story collection. I was not disappointed. These are fantastically created tales of life with a strong connecting theme of place. I had previously read one of the stories from the collection, 'Wires' when it came runner up in the BBC National Short Story Competition last year but as a full collection the stories somehow become even more powerful. Thoroughly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Stories, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Herman Norford "Keen Reader" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In his three novels, we have come to know Jon McGregor for his experimental approach to the novel. Here in this collection of short stories, This Isn't The Sort of Thing That Happens to Someone Like You, that approach of experimenting is continued. McGregor is also know for his novels that deal with ordinary working class folk and here again in this collection of short stories McGregor's subject matter highlights the lives of ordinary folk.

The stories are varied in terms of length and subject matter. They range from a single sentence that constitutes a story to full length short stories. If there is an underlying unifying issue that connects the stories together it could be said to be place. The book is structured on the basis of areas in Lincolnshire. McGregor then gives us the names of towns and villages that form part of the geographical area. This leaves the reader with the impression that one of things McGregor is doing in the collection is to explore the impact of living in a particular place.

McGregor seems to take people from the places where his stories are set and then briefly explore an issue. So in the story Keeping Watch Over the Sheep, a man who is in dispute with his partner no longer has contact with his daughter and he does his best to see her in her first nativity school play. But of course that is not the sort of thing that happens to someone like me or you.

Whether or not the reader is comfortable with McGregor's experiments, this is what gives these stories their edge. In The Winter Sky, one gets the impression that McGregor is playing around with the composition of a short story. The pages that carry the narrative are juxtaposed with pages of what looks like notes for expanding the story. The notes have markings and lines drawn through the sentences, etc. While in If it Keeps Raining, McGregor seems to be trying to ascertain the possibility of experiencing the same thing in different ways.

McGregor is deft at building up tension and expectation as he does in the story We Wave and Call. I also admired McGregor's ability to work within the constraints of the short story form and reveal things in an efficient and timely manner. For example, instead of using specific narrative moments to tells us things about his characters, things are revealed by actions and through the course of the stories' main narrative drive.

Some of the stories convey weird and surreal-like experiences as in the experience of the café worker in French Tea

For all my admiration of McGregor's experimentation and the freshness of the stories, I was nonetheless left feeling that something was missing. For me McGregor's emphasis on experimentation was done at the expense of delivering stories that had little emotional impact on me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A non book, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
May be I don't understand the concept of short stories but these seemed in the main pointless particularly the one that consisted of a list of town names only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a let down, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. K. H. Cobb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I greatly enjoyed his three novels, which were the work of a creative and skilled writer. But what on earth is he doing with these short stories? A couple of them come to a conclusion. In others, there was an actual storyline, but no resolution - they just stopped, leaving one confused and rather irritated. There is often an atmosphere of actual or impending disaster, but it is never made clear exactly why or what is going on. Two stories are so brief as to have no point, and the last is a long list of towns and villages. To quote Ricky Gervais - "He's having a laugh!" - but I'm afraid that I'm not amused. Rather a waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I keep renewing this library book ..., 31 Dec 2013
By 
Cover 3.0 Having dipped into Jon's first book and been amazed at the way he writes I have continued with this book doing the same. I enjoy writing short stories - maybe at times in a similar style - snapshots of life with some fantasy. I have just started to write a short story introduction in the second person after reading that very little fiction is written in the second person. Then I come across such a story in this book ... I think. It is not a book I will enthuse over as an enjoyable read but I will do so as an unusual read particularly because I am trying to do the same in my own writing. The punch lines in many of the stories are those one thinks about as happening in secret. Jon seems to be a patient watcher of the human race. I am as well based on TAD 292 thinking but without the same talent! Alexander of the Allrighters and Ywnwab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just read it, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great writing, interestingly claustrophobic. Any more description would be a spoiler. And then move on to his other books, if you haven't already...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 21 April 2012
By 
Megan Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A haunting collection as beautiful and startling as any of McGregor's novels (which are indeed truly beautiful and startling) where both the physical landscape and the internal are tenderly explored. There is much quiet power in the humanity of these stories and in the perfectly crafted spaces of words left unsaid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Self indulgent, uninteresting, awful, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A set of stories with no story, very self-consciously written to be 'clever'. Result: hugely tiresome boredom. I want my money and the time I spent reading it back. If this book Hasn't Happened to You yet, don't let it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2f31aec)

This product

This Isn't The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You
This Isn't The Sort Of Thing That Happens To Someone Like You by Jon McGregor (Hardcover - 2 Feb 2012)
12.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews