Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition yet
I love Kim Newman. He was the man who really got me into horror films when I'd pour over every word of his horror reviews in early editions of Empire magazine.

I discovered the second edition of this book in the early 90s and thumbed through it several times, but this fully updated third edition is an absolute MUST for all fans of genre films.

The...
Published on 16 Jun 2011 by M. Hewitt

versus
12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average but ammusing criticism
There's lots of things to dispute in this book, one of the things you can't dispute however is the fun nature of Newman's writing. He's really into his material, and that goes a long way towards the positive response many exhibit to what is, ultimately, a poor piece of research and/or criticism.

Split into two halves, the first being the original Nightmare...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by The Holy Ferret


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best edition yet, 16 Jun 2011
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
I love Kim Newman. He was the man who really got me into horror films when I'd pour over every word of his horror reviews in early editions of Empire magazine.

I discovered the second edition of this book in the early 90s and thumbed through it several times, but this fully updated third edition is an absolute MUST for all fans of genre films.

The first half is a reprint of the earlier edition, except with added footnotes where Kim has revisited his earlier work and re-evaluated certain film reviews. The second half is all brand new though, covering pretty much every horror (or 'nightmare' film) released since the late 80s.

Extremely readable, and written with enormous passion, integrity and wit, you simply cannot call yourself a fan of horror films until you've read this book - more than twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely comprehensive survey and assessment, 1 May 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
This is probably the best critical overview of nightmare movies (primarily horror but use of the word 'nightmare' takes it down some unexpected byways) that you're likely to read. It's so extensive that dozens, if not hundreds, of titles get a scant half dozen words about them and as often as not just a mention of the title in a broader look at a subgenre. For major works. however, there may be a couple of thousand words.

If you haven't come across Kim Newman before, he is one of the leading experts on horror movies in the world, not to mention SF, fantasy, and possessing an enviable knowledge of cinema in general. He's also highly knowledgeable in the literary genres of horror, SF, and fantasy, not to mention being an eminent practitioner of them himself. Basically you can't go wrong with any book by this author.

Here he is at his wittiest, most insightful best with half a new book. The first half is basically the previous edition with new (extensive) footnotes in which Newman provides extra information or admits he's changed his mind, and other goodies. As it's thirteen years since it was originally published, Newman has a whole lot more movies to consider but the tone of the second is surprisingly consistent with the first.

If you have a relaxed definition of what constitutes a horror movie, you'll love this book even when you're disagreeing with the author. I did find it sometimes frustrating when he skips casually over movies I've particularly enjoyed but then this is a survey not an encyclopaedia so it would be unfair of me to criticise the book for being something it wasn't intended to be in the first place.

Highly readable and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrific... in a good way, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
Kim Newman has a near encyclopedic knowledge of the horror canon (and it seems the soft porn section) and he writes about it with gusto and insight. Some of the chapters are essentially long lists of different genre types, but there's usually a fruitful nugget of info or witty comment inserted into each one. I wouldn't say I learnt much that was new (and I disagree with his final chapter in which he states "There Will be Blood" should be classed as part of the horror subdivision) but this was an enjoyable read all the same. And fair play - you've also gotta give big credit for the sheer amount of trashy tedium / nastiness he would have had to sit through to compile it. Kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative as well as entertaining., 17 April 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
As a huge fan of Horror movies I'm always interested in the history of the genre. This is what Kim has presented in this, the 20th Anniversary print of the original script which has been added to as well as modified over the years. Whilst this isn't a fictional title by any way shape or means as some may think with it having the Kim Newman name on the cover, it is a title that is not only authoritive but one that's been created with a love of the genre. Ideal material for fans of horror as well as anyone studying Film and Media to degree level.

Add to this great subject matter, at the very least one or two chapters that will appeal to any film reader (my personal favourites included: Vampires and Other Stereotypes, Cannibal Zombie Gut Crunchers and Shoot `em in the Head) and when you wrap it up in a talent as huge as Kim's this is a title that many people will love to have on their coffee table for its friendly accessible manner. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Horror Book, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
Here Kim Newman is showing us the essential horror films that make the genre so great.

He does this with class and real emphasis on just how great each mopvie is.

A real corker

9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exhaustive and exhausting, 17 Feb 2013
By 
B. Keeping (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
There's no doubt that Kim Newman knows his subject indecently well. This is a frighteningly thorough trawl through Nightmare Movies in all their incarnations, including sci-fi apocalypse and man-made or natural catastrophes but with a major focus on the Horror genre in all its manifestations. Newman casts his net extraordinarily wide - it truly is a work encompassing its subject matter as part of world cinema, not just some Hollywood vogue.

Sometimes this can be enlightening but often it threatens to turn merely into an extended list of films from around the world that fit the discussion topic at hand.

Whilst at times this makes the book fascinating, at other times it becomes tedious. Greater analysis of fewer films would have benefited the book. The movie lists might have served the reader better confined to the reference section at the back.

The lack of illustrations is a let down too on a book which is not cheap.

A great reference work but it could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nightmare Movies-Good Times!, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies (Kindle Edition)
I should probably preface my remarks by disclosing that the author Kim Newman is a friend and someone I think highly of as a person and as a writer. So if I didn't love this book, I wouldn't say anything, least of all in print.

That said:

I love horror movies. As a kid, I watched a lot of them with my hands over my eyes, peeking between my fingers. I'm slightly older than Kim Newman and I grew up in the US, so I saw my first horror movie at a much younger age than he did (movie admission practices in the US differ from those in the UK, as do TV broadcast rules). It's fascinating to me to compare our experiences but that's not the ony reason I enjoy this book. Back then, I knew nothing about Hammer Studios even as I was shivering through their films. This book fills a lot of gaps and gives me a lot more context.

Kim Newman is an excellent writer but what really makes this book is his affection for his subject. Some people do massive amounts of research so they can write knowledgeably about whatever it is. But the best books are by people with a genuine passion-you can tell they would have tried to find out everything about the subject even if they weren't going to write a book. Reading Nightmare Movies is much like sitting on your sofa with a friend who can tell you just about anything you want to know about horror movies without being the least bit stuffy or boring.

Nightmare Movies has had a couple of previous editions but I was never able to find them. This latest edition has been updated and corrected and I'm delighted it's finally available. I keep it near the (post-1960) horror dvds.

Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for horror addicts, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Mrs. V. F. R. Niekerk "horrorbuff" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
Kim Newman knows EVERYTHING about horror movies (or just the whole horror genre in its totality).
He's a walking encyclopedia, storing in his cranium things you and I never knew, saw or would have known ever.
He's seen just about bloody everything, from Z-list cheapie exploitation crap to the latest in A-grade horror movies and he writes about them in a clear, concise and intelligent way that might just change your mind about certain films and look at them in a different way.
The book's been updated to the present and although it's a doorstopper, it's so addictive I finished it in a day.
Also, do everything in your power to find Kim's horror novels and short stories. They are highly original and brilliant with a wicked sense of humour.
Especially his Anno Dracula series which postulates a alternate reality where Bram Stoker's vampire creation won the day and was never killed. In fact he became ruler of England and vampires become the order of the day.
He always populates his novels with real historical figures and it's quite funny to see real-life figures as vampires.
He's also a film reviewer at Empire Magazine (the best movie mag ever) and writes his own column where he covers cheapie exploitation and Z-grade grindhouse movies the rest of us whould rather shy away from.
It's intelligently done and very funny and called Video Dungeon.
Check this talented writer out! Oh, and he wears glasses, a beard and carries around a cane with him.
How cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 14 April 2013
By 
David Harris (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
As a study of the horror genre over the past fifty years or so, this is hard to beat. Kim Newman really knows his stuff, and writes in a highly readable and engaging style. The book is informative and entertaining in equal measure - as you wil have gathered from the other positve reviews - so I won't bother adding further endorsements just to reiterate what has already been said. One word to the wise, though: if you own the early imprint of Nightmare Movies hold on to it!. As my copy was getting a bit dog-eared I thought, great - a revised and updated copy, and decided to donate my old one to a charity shop. This was a big mistake because, although the text is the thing, the earlier book was, as they say, lavishly illustrated - this one isn't. Hold on to the old one as a companion to the new one. All in all, though, a brilliant and indispensable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Average but ammusing criticism, 12 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s (Paperback)
There's lots of things to dispute in this book, one of the things you can't dispute however is the fun nature of Newman's writing. He's really into his material, and that goes a long way towards the positive response many exhibit to what is, ultimately, a poor piece of research and/or criticism.

Split into two halves, the first being the original Nightmare Movies, the second, New Nightmares, picks up where the original left off. This latter part is the better.

Chiefly, Nightmare Movies is less a piece of criticism than a list of 'films I've watched'. Newman basically breaks the genre down by genre, then lists films according to theme. So we get 'theme X can appear in films Y,Z' etc. A quick but of research however reveals most of the films Newman mentions aren't very good. He lists them purely on thematic grounds, with no care for if they're well constructed or scary. Indeed he doesn't seem to be aware of what makes films scary at all. His insights are all intellect, no emotion. And what use of intellect he does show is poorly appropriated. Unlike, say, Lovecraft's essay 'Supernatural Horror in Literature', or even some of the brief articles by M.R. James, Newman never builds his viewing list into any kind of cohesive theory of horror.

Further to that, whilst he's watched widely, he's guilty of a disturbing amount of anglo-centric imperialism. The Asian territories barely get a mention, save for in one of the latter chapters (which mentions no horror from the 40s, 50s, 60s really). For one so well regarded in horror criticism, this shows very poor research, especially when the quality of Asian horror is so vastly superior to most of the rubbish he mentions elsewhere in the book.

It's basically entertaining fanboyism, worth reading for the occasional rare gem you will find (and there are a few). But in order to get through these you have to wade through endless referencing to inferior films. Newman does little in the way of guiding us towards the gems, rather he lets us hat-pick at them. This makes him a rather futile and poor critic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s
Nightmare Movies: Horror on Screen Since the 1960s by Kim Newman (Paperback - 18 April 2011)
24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews