Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun book
This cute little book was actually part of a pair (along with Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them) produced by J.K. Rowling for the charity Comic Relief. Written in a tongue in cheek manner, this books appears to be straight from the Hogwarts School Library, complete with borrow & due date list that includes one H. Potter! Purportedly written by one Kennilworthy...
Published on 10 Dec 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quidditch through the ages
Very thin, but highly appreciated by my granddaughter aged eight. She thought with no apprecistion of codt that this book was excellent.
Published 16 months ago by A R MCLEAN


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun book, 10 Dec 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This cute little book was actually part of a pair (along with Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them) produced by J.K. Rowling for the charity Comic Relief. Written in a tongue in cheek manner, this books appears to be straight from the Hogwarts School Library, complete with borrow & due date list that includes one H. Potter! Purportedly written by one Kennilworthy Whisp, this book covers the evolution of Quidditch from its inception, and along the way explains how Quidditch is played.
This is a fun book for any Harry Potter fan to own. It's a good, light-hearted read, and helps explain Quidditch to us muggles, in a manner much more clear than in the regular Harry Potter books. Bet this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only for the fans..., 17 Jan 2006
Well, if you believe that various editions of "Harry Potter" books and glorious films of the same name aren't enough, then you're in for a treat! "Quidditch Through the Ages" is a history of No1 wizard sport and it's great fun! It is written as a Hogwarts Library book, with names of our favorite characters scrambled throught the book as if they really used it. And there is substance. Lots of it. It is evident that Mrs Rowling (cleverly signed as Kennilworthy Whisp) knows her world in details, as this book is totally in the spirit of the books. It is witty and interesting, just like "Harry Potter" books are. Although it is obvious only true fans will enjoy it, "Quidditch Through the Ages" is truly a delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pleasure even for those of us who don't play, 14 Mar 2001
At risk of giving away too many of the laughs contained within this slim volume, I promise that I shall reveal only one of them at the end of this slender review.
I'm proud to be one of the many adult fans of Ms Rowling and have thoroughly enjoyed her superb novels to date. The only hint of boredom being the early section of Book IV (Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) which deals with the Quidditch World Cup and may probably only have had interest for true fans of Quidditch, yet is somewhat dull for the rest of us.
However, I am now a complete convert! Kennilworthy Whisp has written an unusual thing in the world of sports books. That is, one which will be read with pleasure by many who are not fans.
Finally, the presentation of 13 teams in the U.K. league encourages the reader to select their own team. Mine is the Chudley Cannons. Why? How can you NOT support a team which changes its team motto from "We shall conquer" to "Lets all just keep our fingers crossed and hope for the best".
UP THE CANNONS!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent money-raiser for charity, 18 Feb 2003
... For any up and coming Quidditch star this book is a must; it contains the complete history of this magnificent game from when the witch Gertie Keddle first saw and wrote in her diary about the strange game she saw people playing on Queerditch Marsh way back in the eleventh century, right up until now. It explains all the ingenious anti-Muggle precautions put in place to stop Muggles coming across a game where people are flying around on broomsticks. How the game has spread worldwide, how technical advances in broom technology have improved the players' performance. And there is also a very intriguing chapter on how the Golden Snitch arrived in the game....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quidditch for the fans, 2 May 2004
By 
This book, with Magical Creatures, was written for Comic Relief and translated into many languages. Although I liked the Magical Creatures book better, this book also gives you more insight into the magical world of Harry Potter. It shows the amount of detail J.K. Rowlings puts in writing her books. Like George Lucas, director of the Star Wars movies once said: Fiction is so much harder to think up than reality; when you make up a fantasy world, every rule you think up is forever, and when you start, it is hard to imagine how this rule you have started will affect future events.
In this little book, J.K. Rowlings shows that she really did think of all the effects of the rules she made up in her fantasy world. While describing the evolution of Quidditch, she carefully maintains all the boundaries she has set in the Harry Potter books.
You can see how Harry must have enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All this for just 14 Sickles & 3 Knuts....., 11 April 2001
A wonderfully wizardaecious book from warlock Whisp and Rowling Ravenclaw. With wizarding whooshes and wily whizzes to while away a woeful day, what? Even though this is a mini-booklet, a tremendous amount of thought and effort have gone into it. I cannot think of any other author who has put so much effort into a work from which they have not personally gained Golden Galleons...er, I mean, monetarily.
Questions ALWAYS arise when reading a quality quidditch, oops! (I shouldn't write reviews when travelling by broomstick!) ...ahem...a quality novel, one of which was "Why Quidditch?" However, this novelette answers those queries by showing the evolution of the name from its original birthplace in Queerditch Marsh. It also explains where the Golden Snitch came from and why its worth 150 points in a game. Another query answered is 'Why Broomsticks?', as opposed to, say, armchairs? The answer (which is obvious once you know it!) is that no Muggle would query a broomstick left lying around outside! I definitely belong to the Hermione school of learning, whereby the more I know about a subject, and understand it, the more interesting it becomes. So this booklet is very interesting for background reading and appreciation of the Quidditch World Cup in 'Goblet of Fire'. I also found the explanatory diagrams helpful.
For me, the 2 best bits were the Thief's Curse (for those who read but don't pay) (and beware doodler's too!) also Albus Dumbledore's final Introductory comments: (I) beg Muggles not to try Quidditch at home (as) it is, of course, an entirely fictional sport and nobody really plays it. May I also take this opportunity to wish Puddlemere United the best of luck next season. (This really tickles me - ego titillandus!) The 2 not-such-best-bits were things I loved the idea of initially, until I discovered they weren't well researched, which puts a damper on them. These were the stamp page whose dates don't fall in line with dates in the main story. (This can't even be put down to several copies in Hogwarts' library, as Madam Pince(-Nez?) only admits to one copy in the Foreword) and the inflated cost, which should only be 4 Sickles & 9 Knuts (unless Flourish & Blotts want to increase their donation to Comic Relief!). However, loved the battered cover, which is worn from constant use.
Go Wimbourne Wasps...Stingers Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for fans..., 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
...basically I can only really recommend this and "Fantastic Beasts and Where to find them" if you are already a fan of Harry Potter. These two little books gives the readers some background to elements in the Harry Potter books and, to some degree, fleshes out that world. J.K. Rowling's writing style shines through and so this is quite a good read in itself but only fans can really appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intresting, fantastic, amazing and brillant book., 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
You have to be a Harry Potter fan to appreciate this book. Here is everything you need to know about Quidditch, from how it began to the modern day game. The book is for about 8 to 80 years old. The book is short but the text is tiny in some parts. Old people will need their glasses! I read the book in about a day because it was so good. There are some good drawings. The book has fun detals and descriptions of ancient broom games and the development of the racing broom.It is a great read and makes a contribution to Comic Relief. PANTS TO POVERTY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quidditch Through the Ages (Paperback)
I have had this book for a long time and was asked to get it as a birthday present for my girlfriends nephew,he was very impressed and as already read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars crammed with remarkably interesting information, 9 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Quidditch Through the Ages (Paperback)
Released for the first time (well, to the general Muggle public), here's a copy of one of Harry Potter's schoolbooks from the Library of Hogwarts itself.
A warning: If you rip, tear, shred, bend, fold, deface, disfigure, smear, smudge, throw, drop, or in any other manner damage, mistreat, or show lack of respect towards this book, the consequences will be as awful as it is within my power to make them.
~ Irma Pince, Hogwarts Librarian

The book's only 55 pages each, but the print is very small and crammed with remarkably interesting information that fills out the background of Harry Potter's world. Headmaster Albus Dumbledore himself provides introductions to these special editions, warning us of a Thief's Curse if we were to read the book in a shop without actually purchasing it and of his difficulty in actually convincing Madam Pince to lend a Hogwarts Library book for Muggle consumption ("I was forced to prise her fingers individually from the spine").

"Quidditch Through the Ages" by "Kennilworthy Whisp" (as published by WhizzHard Books of Diagon Alley) shows how this magical sport (along with similar ones) has evolved, and also provides a history of magic broom technology with a good deal of supplementary material shedding light on Wizard-Muggle relations throughout history. Indeed Quidditch proved to be so popular that the playing of it was outlawed by the Wizards' Council "anywhere near any place where there is the slightest chance that a Muggle might be watching or we'll see how well you can play whilst chained to a dungeon wall."

Included as well was the mention of Quidditch referees' job once considered as a task for only the bravest since they have a tendency to disappear and show up in the Sahara Desert. Not to be missed is the detailed history of the Quidditch Teams of Britain & Ireland, most especially Ron's favorite, the Chudley Cannons. Their club motto was changed from "We shall conquer" to "Let's all just keep our fingers crossed and hope for the best."

Book Details:

Title Quidditch Through the Ages (Hogwarts Library)
Author J.K. Rowling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quidditch Through the Ages
Quidditch Through the Ages by J. K. Rowling (Paperback - 6 July 2009)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews