Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious!
This book is about all the different beasts in the world. I loved hearing about the riddiculous Puffskein and the deadly Lethifold. Another addition to the quality of the book are the fun comments and pictures scribbled in the book by Harry, Ron and Hermione. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for more information on Harry's world.
Published on 25 Mar 2002

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
This isn't a book to read all the way through again and again - it is a textbook, after all - but it still manages to be readable. This is more like a reference you can use from time to time when getting too irritated at the long wait until Harry Potter 5. It's inventive, but in the end exactly what it is - a textbook about mythical and imaginary creatures. It's...
Published on 23 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious!, 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This book is about all the different beasts in the world. I loved hearing about the riddiculous Puffskein and the deadly Lethifold. Another addition to the quality of the book are the fun comments and pictures scribbled in the book by Harry, Ron and Hermione. I highly reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for more information on Harry's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Aug 2003
By A Customer
For all Harry Potter fans, this book is absolutely fantastic! It's a great reference guide to all the magical creatures in the magical world, and it's a great read! Extremely good value for money, and proceeds go to Comic Relief. What more could you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 26 Mar 2001
This book is great fun! The little comments from Harry and his friends give it a personal touch of humour. It also helps enhance your knowledge of the wizard world, for instance, it reveals that Hogwarts is in Scotland... and the true powers of the phoenix... If you have to choose between this one and the Quidditch one (although at 2.50 each... get both!!) then I'd recommend this one. It's easy to read, light hearted and a great addition to the Harry Potter novels. ROLL ON ORDER OF THE PHOENIX!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All this for just 14 Sickles & 3 Knuts....., 11 April 2001
By A Customer
Another wizardaecious book from the quick-quill of that wonderful witch Rowling Ravenclaw and Sorceror Scamander.
Ron and Hermione delight in doodling all over Harry's text book, but his only retaliation comes under Rons grafitti-art for =CHUDLEY CANNONS= when he replies "...write a decent team in my book for a change Weasley..." (you can almost hear Harry's heartfelt sigh.....)
Loved the graffitti...all it needed was a dirty fingerprint!! Liked the hangman game also...- Ron should have got that after his run-in with Aragog!
However, my absolute favourite bits were the Thief's Curse (for those who read without buying!) and Albus Dumbledore's kindly reassurance to all Muggles that these "amusing" creatures are all entirely fictional and therefore cannot hurt you, before he adds in an aside to wizards "Draco dormiens nunquam titillandus" (which my pidgin Latin translates into "Never tickle a sleeping dragon"!!)
Reassuring?? hmmm.....
Of these pernicious beasts, my particular favourites included: the Billywig (whose dried powdered sting is used in Fizzing Whizzbees) yeuch! Muggles have these sweets too, but call them Flying Saucers. (Last time I eat one of those!) :p Also the Puffskein who enjoys eating tasty wizard bogies and would be a great pet for Muggle children who always have their fingers up their noses!!
Also loved the doodle of Goyle as a troll and the naughty word, which I bet Ron circled! Finally, I have to say that inflation is up at Gringott's as Amazon only charged 4 Sickles & 9 Knuts...so cheap at half the price!
BTW, if Rowling Ravenclaw reads this...can we have a future copy of "Hogwarts: a history" please? as I'd like to find the source of Hedwig's name. Toot toot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally an intresting text book !, 24 Mar 2001
By A Customer
One of a pair of books writen for comic relief - these are more of an aide to the aspects of the wizarding world that a short story - so if you are looking for more information on magical creatures than you ever got from Lockhart, Lupin and Hagrid's lessons this is a good place to come. The forword is elequently penned by Albus Dumbledore and the introduction section then leads into a comprehensive guide to fantastic beasts (that should help you recognise some of Hagrid's pets !). As with most textbooks - it does have several scribbled notes in from pupils - Check out Harry and Ron's notes in the Dragons section !. Definately one for the collection and with 3 more Harry books to come doubtless will come in useful later !
Francesca Jackson - Gryffindor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful fix of Harry Potter (and for a good cause!), 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
J.K Rowling has done it again! This book explains all the beasts in Harry Potter kingdom along with illustrations and that bouncy J.K Rowling style of writing we all know and love. This book is also very funny! It is basically published with Harrys and Rons scribbles in it. Ron, apparently, is sharing the book because his one teared. 'Why don't you buy a new one then?' Hermione writes underneath. 'Write in your own book' Ron writes back. 'You bought all those dungbombs last week, you could have bought a book.' Hermione argues. DUNGBOMBS RULES! puts Ron.
Basically an esential purchase. buybuybuybuybuy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 6 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This is a brilliant idea from JKRowling, a text book from Harry Potter's own booklist. It is produced as though you are reading Harry's own personal copy and it is worth buying for the wonderful graffiti and vandalism in the book courtesy of Harry and Ron. An interesting read as a general book, which is livened up by Harry's witty remarks and comments throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 11 Mar 2001
Once again Rowling has worked her magic, this could have been a boring book, but trust me it isn`t!
You may recognise a couple of the creatures names (sorry you`ll have to buy it to find out!).
Plus Harry and co have annotated the texts which makes it a funny read!
Don`t forget it`s for comic relief!
Trust me you`ll enjoy it and it`s a bargain...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect Anti-Depressive, 17 Mar 2001
By 
Silke (Deutschland) - See all my reviews
I am almost 60 and an avid reader - and I tell you, its marvellous fun to read, but also, I think, she is really, truly one of the real great writers. I just hope she will continue publishing these little text books every now and then, because how else am I ever to read the interesting facts in all those books she refers to in her foot-notes. There are only 3 Harry Potters left to come, I wonder what she'll write after that. One last remark: No matter how wonderful the descriptions of the beasts are, the introduction is a masterpiece and I hope, once the world has been alerted to that, Comic Relief can ask much higher prices für these true juwels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Potter Pocketbook!, 12 Mar 2001
By 
Mr. Andrew Wheeler (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You don't have to be as astute a student as Hermione to enjoy this book! It's a must-have book for any Harry Potter fan and the beauty is you don't have to have read all of the previous Potter adventures to enjoy it. Although not a new adventure as such, this book gives a background and insight into the sort of teaching that goes on at Hogwarts. It's like getting a little closer to Harry and Ron and even Hagrid! This has temporarily satisfied my appetite for more Harry Potter as I wait for the fifth adventure...... can't wait!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J. K. Rowling (Paperback - 4 July 2009)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews