Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as the other books, possibly more so!
You have to love a book that starts with Top Trumps of the Romantic poets, a list of illustrations that aren't even in the book and chapter titles so bonkers that you don't care that they aren't the real chapter titles!!!
Let's be honest, you know what you are getting here, a story about the pirate captain ,his sidekicks and an adventure. This time around they are...
Published on 29 Aug 2012 by Rachel Bridgeman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite sure...
I sort of enjoyed this book but not as much as I had hoped I would. I wanted to like it but.... Loved the fabulous animated film though. Just brilliant. Erm, I think maybe the book was trying to be a bit too clever? Not really sure.
Published 16 months ago by owlservice


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As funny as the other books, possibly more so!, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Rachel Bridgeman (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
You have to love a book that starts with Top Trumps of the Romantic poets, a list of illustrations that aren't even in the book and chapter titles so bonkers that you don't care that they aren't the real chapter titles!!!
Let's be honest, you know what you are getting here, a story about the pirate captain ,his sidekicks and an adventure. This time around they are hiring themselves out as erotic adventurers to lower the pirate captains overdraft ( curse those sundries!), answering an advert that takes them to Lake Geneva and a meeting with Byron, Shelley and Mary Shelley....
Gideon Defoe describbes himself as a one trick pony, well having read all of his pirate books, I'll be happy to go along for the ride any time he saddles up the pirates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRIUMPH, 3 Sep 2012
By 
E Jefferson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
I really liked the fact that between every page of my complementary copy I found a crisp 20 pound note, and at the end a letter promising me that if I wrote a 5-star review on the internet I would get to hold hands with a pretty lady for up to 7 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb and hilarious, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvellous read. It had me in stitches often and was surprisingly touching in places as well. I think fans of Blackadder will especially enjoy these books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the pirates - give me more. It is a great read and if you liked Pirates and Scientists this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pirates Sail Again, 14 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
Not many pirate adventures begin in a bank manager's office and that's a surprise really since, as any self-respecting Pirate Captain knows, life is full of expenses. Spare bits of rope, press-ganging, new hats, - none of them come cheap. Fortunately, Gideon Defoe has sussed out this particular piratical problem and so The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics begins in just such a fashion. Having been turned down for a thousand doubloon loan and reluctant to go back to his previous career as a beekeeper, the Pirate Captain is almost out of ideas for maintaining his crew in the luxury [ham-wise, anyway] to which they have become accustomed. His crew has plenty of ideas but, unfortunately, the days when counterfeiting pigs or starting a tulip mania could prove profitable are long gone.

The Pirate Captain is almost resigned to the fact that his crew will have to endure some belt-tightening - save for the ring-fenced beard care products budget - when he remembers that they are living in a time when people still read the newspapers. A quick perusal through the `Items Wanted' section leads to an encounter with Lord Byron, Percy Shelley and his beautiful fiancée Mary. The Pirate Captain promises these gullible young Romantics an adventure they'll never forget and together they embark on a journey from Lake Geneva to the deadly libraries of Oxford to the forbidding heart of Eastern Europe.

In this Adventure with the Romantics, the Pirate Captain is as delightfully debonair as ever. Despite his hectic schedule of pirating, wooing and authoring great works of monster-related fiction, he still finds time to maintain his image. After years at sea the Pirate Captain is tanned and weathered, "but weathered in a good way, like an antique globe or vintage fireplace, not in a bad way, like Val Kilmer or a mouldy coffee cup." It's really no wonder that he has such an impact on all who have the pleasure to meet him, especially when he's dressed as a sexy fireman. The Pirate Captain is, in fact, quite possibly the best literary hero ever conceived. He certainly has the glossiest beard anyway.

The rest of The Pirates! aren't too bad either. The Pirate with a Scarf adds a touch of finesse to all of the Pirate Captain's schemes and does his best to suppress his generally logical nature. Former Victorian Lady Jennifer is fitting in well with the crew and doesn't even bother to wear a fake beard when engaging in derring-do. The Pirate with a Brooklyn Accent also enjoys his moment to shine. Of the honorary pirates for the duration of this adventure, Byron is perhaps the most naturally gifted while Charles Babbage has some cracking code breaking skills and Mary has just the right level of interest in monsters and Pirate Captains. Percy Shelley has very nice hair.

The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics is another hilarious seafaring saga from Gideon Defoe. Much of the plot is completely bonkers [and that's before you start paying attention to the chapter headings] and the book is almost completely populated by earnest madmen. In other words, it's a total joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect combination, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
pirates and the romantic poets...does it get any better than this. Pyromania and Byromania work hand in hand to make you laugh out loud and thus confuse all those around you! the writing is the usual brilliance you associate with Gideon Defoe. must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as usual, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
Get them all! They're so funny I dare you not to laugh out loud while you are reading. You'll never think of Byron the same way again. Or pirates, for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to every taste, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the pirates and their adventures. The pirate books are very silly, almost as stupid as The Da Vinci Code but not intended to have any basis in reality. I enjoy reading them on boring plane journeys but squeals of laughter can annoy fellow travellers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bonkers, but fantastic, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant addition to "The Pirates!" series. I particularly loved it because I have an interest in literature of the Romanticist period and this was a really funny take on the stories most people will be familiar with (how the story of Frankenstein was created, etc) featuring the famous poets themselves. The Pirate Captain is as funny as ever as are all his pirate crew (the albino pirate, the pirate with the scarf - I particularly liked "the pirate from the Bronx who was concerned he wouldn't get a look in in this adventure" but happily got to say "moider" at a convenient juncture). The adventure itself is absolutely bonkers but if you are a fan of silliness you are going to love it. So witty, so funny - I was laughing all the way through it. Favourite bits include the monster party, the bit about the Starbucks Logo and the explanation of Dunning-Kruger effect, which explained a lot about some of the people I work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite sure..., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics (Hardcover)
I sort of enjoyed this book but not as much as I had hoped I would. I wanted to like it but.... Loved the fabulous animated film though. Just brilliant. Erm, I think maybe the book was trying to be a bit too clever? Not really sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics
The Pirates! in an Adventure with the Romantics by Gideon Defoe (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2012)
Used & New from: £3.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews