Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - funny and realistic, children love it
Catherine MacPhail is a brilliant children's writer and this is the story of a girl and her mum moving into a high-rise flat. There's a little snobbery from them, and lot of bullying from Ma lafferty and her sons, who run the high-rise. It is funny and entertaining but has a lot of depth to it as well. Read this and anything else you can get by her! (I am a teacher and my...
Published on 1 Feb 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people
Again and again, I felt myself asking the question are there people out there, who would take on this challenge? You have to admire the courage and resilience of those who do not get to live the 'easy' life. I hope this could be based on the truth. Good read and easy to get through quickly.
Published 22 months ago by Beanisss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - funny and realistic, children love it, 1 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fighting Back (Paperback)
Catherine MacPhail is a brilliant children's writer and this is the story of a girl and her mum moving into a high-rise flat. There's a little snobbery from them, and lot of bullying from Ma lafferty and her sons, who run the high-rise. It is funny and entertaining but has a lot of depth to it as well. Read this and anything else you can get by her! (I am a teacher and my pupils have all really enjoyed this book, and we have got a lot out of it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant just read it and see what you think, 22 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fighting Back (Paperback)
Fightin back is about a young girl called Kerry who moves to an estate with her mother.The estate is full of bad gangs and drugs.there is one lady who nobody messes with but of course Kerry and her mother don't know that and when kerry's mother gets into trouble bad things happen but in the end something very good happens to the estate read on to find out what!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Back (Paperback)
If you like Catherine MacPhail books - this is a great choice for you. Similar to all her other books. Lovely style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Power to the people, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fighting Back (Kindle Edition)
Again and again, I felt myself asking the question are there people out there, who would take on this challenge? You have to admire the courage and resilience of those who do not get to live the 'easy' life. I hope this could be based on the truth. Good read and easy to get through quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BelleBooks, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Fighting Back (Paperback)
This book follows Kerry as she moves from her family home into high rise flats with her mother after her parent's relationship ended.
No matter what Kerry and her mother do, nothing seems to be right for them. They get on the wrong side of the Lafferty's from day one, the family who pretty much run the area, everyone is afraid of the Lafferty's. After going through so much already with the breakdown of her marriage, Kerry's mother is not going to take any more, she stands up for herself and her daughter and doesn't back down or give in to the threats.
Which seems to be just what this neighbourhood needs!

We aren't told much about Kerry's life before she moved to the flat which I would have liked to see in order to compare the two different living arrangements. The message in the story is very good, and comes across in a not too in your face kind of way, which I really enjoyed.

I really loved the descriptive way in which this story was told, I grew up in a high rise flat and found this book bringing back all my old memories of living there.
I also found the book really easy to read and managed to get through it in one sitting!

Overall a great book with a brilliant message to share!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fighting Back
Fighting Back by Catherine MacPhail (Paperback - 3 Aug 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews