Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect one to pack in my suitcase this summer
Cooking for Real Life is Joanna Weinberg's second cookery book. Its 182 recipes cover The Daily Grind, Good for Kids, Treats for Two, Comfort Cooking, Weekend Food, Summer-ish Food, Pudding!, Everyday baking and Sides and Sauces. The book includes sensible advice on sourcing and storing core ingredients and the nine sections start with snippet-sized recipes for meals in a...
Published on 9 Jun 2012 by FussFreeFlavours

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cooking for real life cookery book
Useful cookery book addition, but personally not a lot of recipes I would use. Met the author at a WI day and she was so enthusiastic.
Published 9 months ago by Trug


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The perfect one to pack in my suitcase this summer, 9 Jun 2012
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
Cooking for Real Life is Joanna Weinberg's second cookery book. Its 182 recipes cover The Daily Grind, Good for Kids, Treats for Two, Comfort Cooking, Weekend Food, Summer-ish Food, Pudding!, Everyday baking and Sides and Sauces. The book includes sensible advice on sourcing and storing core ingredients and the nine sections start with snippet-sized recipes for meals in a rush. The largest, The Daily Grind, covers staples such as chicken pieces, chops, `things on toast' and fish, often in groups of three. Its `3 store-cupboard pastas' for example, includes spaghetti pomodoro cribbed, with typical panache, from the final scene in Goodfellas. My favourite so far, sausage with chilli and purple-sprouting broccoli, punched seriously above its weight with the meat crumbled and caramelised in spices and served with yoghurt. It was great find the summer section when the weather perked up and I enjoyed its twist on roast root vegetable salad and the fennel-stuffed bream on new potatoes. `Good for Kids' can cope with the very young - mine loved tomato risotto and oven-baked arancini made with its left-overs - and older children are well catered for with more pronounced flavours such as chicken and broccoli teriyaki and not-too-chilli con carne. I must admit I'm recategorising the beautiful beetroot houmous as `adults-only', unless I can convince Harvey Keitel to stop by to oversee the clean-up.

Cooking for Real Life's unique selling point is that it can conjure up a menu for whatever life throws at you and there is a great 3-page section at the back which does just that: Multi-generational gathering? Relaxed dinner party? Gluten and dairy-free dinner? No problem, my friend. This is an incredibly useful book - inspiration to glam up the everyday, solutions for situations which might be out of your comfort zone, and a handful of classics, especially in the comfort food and baking sections. Recipes are not demanding; the majority are quick to cook and are relatively fuss free in terms of technique and range of ingredients. Although there are frugal options using store-cupboard ingredients, this is not the focus and there are plenty of easy ways to treat yourself and your friends. Those with a number of cookery books will find overlaps for classics (e.g. fish pie and victoria sponge), and recipes perhaps 1 or 2 ingredients away from their norm, but there are great ideas and more substantial innovations such as sweet fennel tarte tatin. Cooking for Real Life is an ideal book for someone eager to branch out or get out of a rut, and for me, the perfect one to pack in my suitcase this summer: all occasions catered for and a whiff of holiday everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good food for busy lives, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
At last a food writer who actually understands the demands of modern life but who doesn't want to compromise on deliciousness and integrity. I love this book and am using it more and more which, given that I am an open the fridge and throw something together type, is a blessing for me and, more importantly, my family.

We particularly love the beetroot hummus and the teryaki chicken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Annie the Nanny, 2 Dec 2012
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
Finally....a sensible recipe book that includes an array of delicious meals that are easily attainable if you follow Jo's straight forward instructions and fabulous tips! Yet another scrumptious book from Miss Weinberg! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real life recipes, 25 May 2012
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
I found this book very useful as a fairly novice cook - good as a one-stop guide to rustling up easy dinners and classic baking, with basic recipes for tomato sauce, chocolate cake, a roast chicken, etc, and both of the recipes I have tried so far have been well received. Depending on your cooking experience and family situation you might find different chapters more or less useful - there is a fairly large emphasis on cooking for children, for example, but the recipes are arranged into possible menus at the back of the book, a feature I really liked and which shows how the recipes could fit in to anyone's life. Overall, I would say that the book has something to offer for everyone and if you want guidance on making simple meals to cater for different aspects of everyday life - weekday dinners, a brunch, a meal for two - this book will be an excellent guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cooking for real life cookery book, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
Useful cookery book addition, but personally not a lot of recipes I would use. Met the author at a WI day and she was so enthusiastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book!, 15 May 2012
By 
Alexander Williams (Hollywood, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
I am no master chef and I struggle to produce a decent meal - my wife is convinced I am completely useless in the kitchen. However, Jo Weinberg's recipes are excellent because they actually work - even for a kitchen incompetent like me. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 May 2012
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
My mother and I love Jo Weinberg's weekly columns in The Times -- her recipes and suggestions are full of imagination but practical and doable too. This book shares those virtues and contains lots of lovely things to cook and enjoy. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel at home, 14 May 2012
By 
E. Haddon "big_ed" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
Finally I have found a cookbook that is on my level. It turns out that Joanna is a rare combination, a writer and a self taught cook. What this means for me is that she is a great guide to trying new things in a non frightening way. I worry sometimes that shopping on line narrows my chances to browse and discover new things, and this is where I love this book. This is even better than her first book as it really is about eating well on a near daily basis without too much fuss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You (Hardcover)
Great book of recipes - just finished leafing through it and have turned the corners of many pages of recipes that I plan to try! Practical recipes for a busy family - and some extravagant ones for special occasions. Can't wait to get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cooking for Real Life: More Than 180 Recipes for Whatever Life Throws at You
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews