Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling for nerds and non-nerds alike
I bought this as a stocking filler present but have ended up reading the entire book myself (cover to cover in one long sitting, I couldn't put it down). I don't write many book reviews but had to here, and I was enthralled by a thought provoking, engaging and intellectual riddle book; not at all a silly tea-time quiz book.

The puzzles are grouped into...
Published on 28 Dec 2009 by alsion

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying riddles
A lot of the riddles in this book have unsatisfying solutions. They're interesting but the "answers" are most often philosophical discussions on how the "riddle" could be answered given that there isn't really a right or wrong answer. Fine if you're expecting this kind of thing but not so much if you were hoping for more like Einstein's riddle. And it is...
Published 18 months ago by frogzilla


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling for nerds and non-nerds alike, 28 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
I bought this as a stocking filler present but have ended up reading the entire book myself (cover to cover in one long sitting, I couldn't put it down). I don't write many book reviews but had to here, and I was enthralled by a thought provoking, engaging and intellectual riddle book; not at all a silly tea-time quiz book.

The puzzles are grouped into sections: "Logic & Probability", "When Reasoning Goes Wrong", "The Real World", "Motion, Infinity & Vagueness", "Philosophical Conundrums" and "Paradoxical All The Way Down" (i.e. stuff with no solution - yet). In each section there are quick fun quizzes you can read out, and also longer riddles which usually exemplify a well known (in mathematical or philosophical worlds) problem.

In the back, the solution to the problem is very clearly explained with examples and diagrams and, most interestingly for me, the historical or real-life context. For example: that Simpson's Paradox was demonstrated in and brought down a court case in 1973; that Sorites Paradox was first posed 2,000 years ago; or that a game destroyed 30 years of work or a well-known mathematician. From this I was able to further research things that interested me.

You might recognise some famous concepts (whether by name or not) such as the Prisoner's Dilemma, the Paradox of Deterrence (i.e. should we engage in arms races), which mystery box to pick in a gameshow (based on probability theory), and it hints at concepts I vaguely recall from my degree-level maths (concepts of infinity demonstrated by guests in a hotel, set theory demonstrated by a librarian cataloging books). There is also "The Gambler's Mistake" that Derren Brown recently used on TV (but this book is not nearly as annoying as him).

If you are have even a slight interest in fun maths or philospohy, this book is a great light but interesting read, even if you don't actually want to attempt the puzzles but flip straight to the answers at the back. However the complex stuff is only hinted at and the whole book is short, concise and fun. My whole (non-nerdy) family enjoyed dipping into these puzzles. The book gives you hints for approaching a solution and the solutions are very clearly explained - with digrams, examples, and real-life application. (As a hint for approaching Einstein's riddle, I suggest drawing an even bigger table with all possible options along each side and marking/crossing off combinations as you go.)

As a present, the book is slim but feels good quality with 144 glossy, neatly laid out pages, with nice pictures here and there. I also found the author very humorous, which makes the book more engaging still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you guessing, 13 July 2009
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
I bought this after a quiz night with a riddle round. It's got logical problems mixed in with short brainteasers and a good mixture of philosophical reasoning and practical challenges - good for challenging friends or family out loud. I tried a couple of riddles on my boyfriend's family who are really good at that kind of lateral thinking, but they were stumped. Plus it's written in a light, humorous way, and the answers at the back show you how to work the problems out rather than just giving you the answer, which is a nice touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating intellectual puzzles, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
An eclectic mix of philsophical concepts and logic puzzles.

A good book to dip in and out of, and possibly to inspire a few discussions round the dinner table or fireside.

Complete with a helpful section at the end with an explanation/resolution of the problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Puzzle, 30 Oct 2009
By 
J. Reynolds (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
This book is excellent and is recommended for anyone interested in brainteasers.
I haven't solved Einstein's riddle yet but I working on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and great service!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
This is a smashing little book of thought-provoking puzzles for adults. It was a stocking filler at Christmas for my son and was very well received. Service was excellent and condition of book on arrival was perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good gift, 16 Feb 2013
By 
A. J. Hind (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
Easy and difficult puzzles mixed; maybe they should be graded? ..... .. . . . . . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars challenging, 8 Nov 2010
By 
burnsbarber (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
One of the best brainteaser books I have come across. I like the depth of the analysis of each puzzle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Perplexing, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
It certainly stretches your mind and makes you think laterally from time to time, but sometimes the answers are as baffling as the problems, which is great to study and work out. Then when you solve a puzzle you can happily give yourself a pat on the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
This brilliant book kept us all amused over Christmas - and I did manage to solve the riddle! More time needed to finish the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday gift., 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind (Hardcover)
A fascinating book bought for my teenage son to give to his Dad for his birthday. He absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Einstein's Riddle: Riddles, Paradoxes and Conundrums to Stretch Your Mind
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews