Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No place like home
I moved to Sri Lanka in March of this year and this was the first book I read about the island.

In beautiful and very distinctive prose Ondaatje pieces together reminiscences, stories, poems and legends to create a compelling portrait of Ceylon (as it was then). Much of the world he describes has passed into memory, but there are things I can recognise only too...
Published 9 months ago by James Choles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing
Michael Ondaatje writes an amusing story about his family and the plethora of gamblers and boozers. The racecourse bits are very funny and I should think that there is nothing Mr. Ondaatje doesn't know about horses!
Published 18 months ago by Dan Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No place like home, 14 Aug. 2014
By 
James Choles (Colombo, Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running in the Family (Paperback)
I moved to Sri Lanka in March of this year and this was the first book I read about the island.

In beautiful and very distinctive prose Ondaatje pieces together reminiscences, stories, poems and legends to create a compelling portrait of Ceylon (as it was then). Much of the world he describes has passed into memory, but there are things I can recognise only too well: the sweltering heat ('stalking like an animal') of Colombo, the downpours, the barking dogs, the fans and red cement floors.

But ultimately Ceylon is only a backdrop, for this is a book about people. And what a cast of characters! From Francis Fonseka ('his tumescent heart notorious all over Colombo'), to former PM Sir John Kotelawala with his legendary breakfasts, to Ondaatje's grandmother Lalla (who could 'read thunder'). The character Ondaatje is searching for most, though, is Mervyn Ondaatje - an alcoholic and by all accounts a deeply troubled man. In its last few pages 'Running in the Family' becomes a moving tribute to the father Ondaatje never truly knew, and a realisation that 'all of our lives have been terribly shaped by what went on before us.'

This is a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read from an ex-Colonial child!, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having lived in Ceylon as a child, I found this book to be charming and fascinating as it filled in some of the background for me.
There was a definite prejudice from the Colonial administrators towards the native peoples which as a child one did not know about so this lovely book opened my eyes to a reality that I had not known. I liked it very much, as I do all of Michael Ondaatje's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, 20 Nov. 2013
By 
This review is from: Running in the Family (Paperback)
Michael Ondaatje writes an amusing story about his family and the plethora of gamblers and boozers. The racecourse bits are very funny and I should think that there is nothing Mr. Ondaatje doesn't know about horses!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Running in the Family, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read the book whilst in Sri Lanka. It provided a very atmospheric explanation to the Dutch influence on the island.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible but fascinating memories of an eccentric Sri Lankan family, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading it in Sri Lanka on holiday, Ondaatje's memoirs still resonate, unlikely as some of them seem ( though quite possibly true). Wish the old photos could have been better reproduced. The structure of the book is so dislocated that only an already established writer could have got away with it and retained the readers' interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read especially if you are holidaying in Sri Lanka ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read especially if you are holidaying in Sri Lanka and staying in a colonial villa. But it is much more than that. Very thoughtful and written impeccably. Did it help the author reconcile himself with the father he lost? Hard to tell but a heart turning effort.some wonderful poetry as well. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars told thoughtfully and with great narrative skill, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running in the Family (Paperback)
this is an exemplary family memoir, a tale with no whiskers removed and all obdurate characters celebrated, told thoughtfully and with great narrative skill, humour, tragedy; life's mysterious ways. What more could you want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short, rather sad, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running in the Family (Paperback)
The book is about the author's time in Sri Lanka and full of stories of his family's experiences there. It is interesting as an insight to how the rich lived in the early 1900's in Sri Lanka and how in some cases they squandered their wealth. Today, we would call such people 'wasters', but it was somewhat poignant and sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read if you are interested in how things used ..., 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read if you are interested in how things used to be in Ceylon. Full of eccentric and colourful characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running in the Family
Running in the Family by Michael Ondaatje (Paperback - 17 Aug. 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews