Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars19
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2010
The first thing to say about this novel is that it's a very good read. From the first page, where a small boy called Mouse narrowly escapes being pushed out of a fourth floor window by his beastly Uncle Scrope, we are caught up in the adventures of our hero as he weaves his way between the obstacles and enemies that life puts in his way. We are in Dickensian territory here: the book's set in the nineteenth century, the characters have wonderful names like Niddle and Pyeberry ("A pair of cheering chums"), Mr Bulloughby (a headmaster who certainly wouldn't get a very good Ofsted report), and Nick Tick ("A minute but clever clockmaker"); and Mouse, like Oliver and David Copperfield, has many vicissitudes to overcome before he can come into his own.

Unlike Dickens' novels, though, this book is for children. The writing is beautiful, but it serves the purpose of the story, and everything moves along at a good lick. The chracters are colourful and vivid, and, as with Dickens, each has a poweful backstory of his or her own. This, together with the clever plotting and the lightly worn research, make for a richly extured, very satisfying novel.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2010
As soon as I had read the first page of this story, I was drawn into the life of Mouse. Why did his nurserymaid, Hanny, think he was in danger from Uncle Scrope? Hanny takes Mouse to safety and he loves his new life but he can't escape the evil clutches of Mr Button. He is taken away to a Dickensian boarding school - but why does he find himself in the kitchen? This gripping story takes you into a world of kidnapping, theatre, shipwreck and lots more adventures. the characters, evil villains and faithful friends, will stay in your mind long after you finish reading this wonderfully evocative story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
A perfect gift for the avid 8-11 year old who likes traditional tales well told. Engaging and enjoyable throughout, this story of A Boy Called MOUSE can be compared to David Copperfield and Oliver Twist as the previous reviewer mentions but it is far more pacy and child centred.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
After seeing the recommendations here I got this book from the library thinking my 8 yr old would enjoy reading it. I, as an adult thoroughly enjoyed reading this book - however it is very long (450 pages; 86 chapters) and I know my 8 yr old is not ready for this yet. He is currently reading short chapter books of about 10 chapters and this is a big leap up from that. I would recommend for age 10+.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
M.O.U.S.E. is an excellent, funny, enchanting and magical book.
I would recommend it to anyone who likes long adventure stories and is over 8.
It is really interesting and every night I wished I could've read more!
J.R. Aged 8
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
At first I thought this book was just an old-fashioned throwback kind of tale but it's much more than that. We are drawn into the story of Mouse which is charming, surprising, intriguing and gripping. The writing flows and the author creates a perfect escapist world for the young reader to enter. I was really glad to pick it up.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
This book is amazing! the book has drama laughter crys . its a must read. my 10 year old daughter loved it!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
I was enchanted by this book. It has all the elements of picaresque adventure and just deserts that make Dickens so satisfying, but it went deeper. There is something delicately nuanced in the boy protagonist's reactions to his tragedies, dangers and triumphs: he never resorts to just what you'd expect. The writing is very beautiful, managing to be spare and profound at the same time. This is one of the best books I have read in a long time, whether for children or adults.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When an author writes a tale based on a visit to an old Boarding School you have to hope that the rest of the tale will back up the premise of the original scene without changing flavour or tack. Yet taking that into account, the tale felt that it had dipped into the world of classic literature with hints of Oliver Twist, Great Expectations and Tom Brown's School days brought together in order to help tell the story of Mouse, the tales hero.

Each brings something to the fore, each when blended together with the characters gives something unique which when added to a whole host of interesting supporting cast members make it something a little different. Finally, with a villain of the Sykes persuasion this could be a tale to help bridge the gaps in your young readers library to the epics.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2012
I bought this book on a whim as the story sounded good. This is in fact one of the best books i've read, i loved the characters and the whole storyline was engaging. I really felt for Mouse and hoped his story had a good ending. A lovely book!! Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse