Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars63
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2016
I loved every minute of this. There's a freshness, a lightness of touch, that makes for a very readable story. What's more it's one of those things that tends to get overlooked. We all know about the Land Girls but who knew about this.

If you've spent any time in a narrow boat, and even if you haven't, give this a whirl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2016
I chose this book to read after it had been mentioned in a TV programme. Canals have always fascinated me and this story tells you about life for three city girls working the boats during the 2nd world war. It's funny and uplifting but not very well written around the character of Emma. But overall well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
This is an interesting account of a woman's perspective on war. Often forgotten, this topic does not necessarily spring to mind when reading war literature. A welcome change from the 'typical' publication marking this landmark year - a good read. Would make a lovely gift! Fantastic delivery and service also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
This book tells us all of the extreme efforts made by all during those dark days of war, and the sacrifices made by many. These girls were just a few of the unsung heroines who toiled away in the background of that epic campaign.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
I have been interested in canals and their history for some years and this is a very informative book, well written by someone who has obviously studied canal life and the methods used by the old canal boat people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
I found this book so informative , I had no idea that women were asked to work the waterways in the war. It is amusing as the women meet the real boaters and form friendships and rivalries..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
I love all Emma Smith books, but have not received THE FAR CRY , so where is it? I absolutely enjoy her writing!! I would love to tell her personally....she is wonderful...I am a DEVOTEE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
This was bought as a gift for a narrow-boat owner, and has been pronounced an excellent read. If you own or have driven a narrrow boat, this is for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Fascinating read. Written in a different style to most modern books. Graphic account of a world that no longer exists. These ladies were heroes too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
I really enjoyed this on several levels. The storey telling point was a little confusing, but as a window on a by-gone age it was wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)