Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars101
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2016
I would give this book 10 stars if I could. It is beautifully written and flows effortlessly. The heroine in fascinating and the book spans from Nagasaki to 9/11. I was quite bereft when the book ended.Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Well written, clever and fascinating book which holds you captivated from beginning to end. Hiroko is a fascinating character, my only disappointment was that it left you hanging at the end....spoilers....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2010
Big Read choice for Bath Literature Festival -- author will be speaking there. Good book, starting with Nagasaki bomb, and ending with Guantanamo Bay. Have not finished reading it yet but am enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2015
This is the second novel I have read by this author, who draws me into stories of other lives with skilful craftsmanship and insight, promoting empathy across cultures, humanity and humility. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
This is a beautifully structured and engrossing piece of historical fiction. The characters are believable and emotionally involving and the story so beautifully told. A great sense of place throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Great book with a really strong narrative storyline. This is really a family saga, but with many dramatic, historic events interwoven and directing the main characters' actions. Very moving - read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2009
From the bombing of Nagazaki- significantly, the second, many say unnecessary, bomb on Japan- to the 9/11 attacks, Kamila Shamsie tries to draw human connections between every party to these global conflicts: Japanese, Germans, Raj British, Indians, Pakistanis, Afghans, Americans. Her novel strains a little at the seams, but for the most part succeeds brilliantly. In the last chapter, there is a moment when the oldest character, a Nagazaki survivor, finally understands the tragedy that left "burnt shadows" imprinted on her body. The Naqib's Daughter
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Tried to get into this book ... Was expecting great things after the reviews but I gave up after three chapters? I read at least one book a week but this one just wasn't happening ...Sorry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Thought-provoking and compassionate, Shamsie creates links across generations and cultures.
Recommended for anyone who puzzles over historical and contemporary atrocity and terrorism
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
Excellent read, cleverly woven story over 2 to 3 generations. The effects of one war reverberate down the generations and across the world, as I am sure they are still doing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.