Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mary - The Forgotten 1st Queen
Although she was England's first Queen and the eldest daughter of Hanry VIII she is very much forgotten. This book is beautifully researched and written. It shows Mary in her true light. Proving that she is indeeed the daughter of Henry VIII. The treatment of her by her father is most evident in the way she later treated her subjects. It is a shame that she is...
Published on 31 Jan. 2012 by Ms. J. K. Moore

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars England's First Queen
This is a competent account of the life and reign of Mary I. It is written in a straightforward style with short chapters.

The major strength of the book is its excellent use of original sources, which are frequently quoted.

However, overall, the book lacks depth and comes over as rather dull and pedestrian.

There is a glaring error on...
Published on 10 Mar. 2010 by Mr. T. Harvey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, apart from one howler., 9 Aug. 2009
Easy to read history of Mary's life. But at the start of Chapter 23, we are told that 'Henry married his fourth wife, Katherine Howard'. She was of course his fifth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ric, 4 Aug. 2010
Excellent service from the supplier.
The book contains a moving account and forethought on behalf of the author. The information is packed with the day to day life and times of Mary Queen of Scots and answers many questions for instance why Mary surrendered herself to Elisabeth etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was bought my my son, so I am sorry but I can't comment on this product. thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account of Mary's life., 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. Paul D. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Really great book. An enjoyable and intelligent review of Mary's life. I'd highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the first queen of england, 27 May 2014
This review is from: Mary Tudor: England's First Queen (Paperback)
There are a couple of books highlighting Mary to be first queen but was this not Jane grey? Am I wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars undelivered, 28 Feb. 2011
By 
Michael Day - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Tudor: England's First Queen (Paperback)
Would like to be able to say I like it but amazon failed miserably to deliver - Deutsche Post, as usual at fault
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Tudor: England's First Queen
Mary Tudor: England's First Queen by Anna Whitelock (Paperback - 1 Mar. 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews