Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Guide
Septimus Heap has been described by some as the poor mans Harry Potter. I respectfully disagree with that assessment as it's a pheomena in its own right as the hero of the series takes the reader on an adventure in a totally unique fantasy world. Here presented in this book is the accompanying guide to the series to date that adds not only interesting tip bits for the...
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the magyckal papers of septimus heap
This book explained a lot about the people in septimus`s world and some of the devices and places it was ok but not as interesting as the rest of the books
Published 17 months ago by marilyn crampton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Guide, 1 Nov 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) (Hardcover)
Septimus Heap has been described by some as the poor mans Harry Potter. I respectfully disagree with that assessment as it's a pheomena in its own right as the hero of the series takes the reader on an adventure in a totally unique fantasy world. Here presented in this book is the accompanying guide to the series to date that adds not only interesting tip bits for the reader but also expands on some of the unique points along with giving some back history as if it were a tourist guide.

It's a great read and addition to the series and will be something that the reader will get a real kick out of. However that said, I've read this without having read the series first so that I could get the feel of the world before embarking on it. What it does do as well, is unfortunately carry spoilers which might ruin the books for you as some of the twists will be ruined which whilst I don't object to, might ruin it for the younger reader. Still it is good fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Amusing Background Information to this First Class Series, 31 July 2009
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
The Septimus Heap series has earned its place his year on my favourites list, and for good reason. Entertaining plots that sweep you along, a wonderfully and brilliantly imagined world, and a perfectly ridiculous sense of humour that is strongly reminicent of J K Rowling.

However, this book is not one you would read on its own. It provides background materials and quirky observations from Angie Sage's world. It fills in some missing history, recapitulates some of the story and keeps you smiling. However, the book is not a story in its own right. This is a book for people who already love the series.

But if you love the series you will want this book. Not that it is brilliant in the same way the stories are. But it is just good fun, and if you cannot get enough of Septimus Heap then this will fill your longing until the autumn when the next book is due out. It is also beautifully illustrated, and with a good few fun items to pore over and consider. It is also possible to guess which parts of this book may be used in the next one.

I enjoyed this very much - but if you are new to the series, don't start here - buy "Magyk" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Companion to the Septimus Heap Series, 10 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) (Hardcover)
I was eagerly awaiting for this book as I love the Septimus Heap series. The idea is its a collection of papers - journals, maps, diaries, official documents etc. complied and written by the characters in Angie Sage's world. The drawings are brilliant drawn and are in full colour- keeping it in line with the books. It was interesting reading about some the Palace but I felt more could of been added, but maybe another volume or revealled in the next book(s). It expands on what the reader knows of the characters and because its written by the author is excellent and fits in nicely. It does remind me of JK Rowling's 2 Comic Relief books (Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and where to Find Them), which like this book are tasters of the magical worlds they represent.
Unusually the cover is a bit different from the series even the fonts are the same, but it still looks great. I highly recommend this book to any lover of the Septimus Heap series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the series, 23 April 2013
By 
Sue (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) (Hardcover)
As a bonus book to the Septimus Heap series this is fantastic. Started and finished it within a weekend and would thoroughly recommend it.
Wish J.K Rowling would produce something similar for the HP series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The finish to this book is lovely with full colour. There is no point in buying this though if you haven't read some of the Septimus Heap series as it is a companion to the books. It gives the history of the world occupied by Septimum Heap and includes the private diaries and journals of some of the Septimus Heap characters. It is not a story book, more of a fictional reference book. It gives information on the characters that you cannot find out from reading the Septimum Heap series. Recommend for ages 8 upwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Heap fans., 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great for all that extra information and backs up the series well. We enjoyed looking at the illustrations to see how alike they were to the ones we had imagined in our mind. Another good way to keep boys reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 7 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) (Hardcover)
really great looking cover and illustrations inside. Not what I expected it to be, it is a collection of background stories/papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Magykal Papers, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent supplement to the Septimus Heap series, it explains a lot of the characters traits, and why they are as they are.
Angie Sage has managed to equal J K Rowling and create a very absorbing land of magykal beauty and intrigue which children of all ages (I am retired) can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice book pity about the cover!, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly Amazon I cannot find a place to talk directly to you so I'm putting it here!

The book is lovely, excellent pictures and give great back ground to the whole Septimus Heap series.

My only issue is that the cover is put on the wrong way!!!! So when I'm reading it it looks like I'm reading it upside down! for the price its not worth returning but I thought you should know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) (Hardcover)
All mums with childen of arround 10+ should get these books for their children to read and I bet you the parents find them equally as magic. No so intense as Harry Potter but a really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap)
The Magykal Papers (Septimus Heap) by Angie Sage (Hardcover - 6 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews