Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2014
Most popular economics books focus on microeconomics, answering questions such as 'Why does popcorn cost so much in cinemas?' These books are fun and accessible because the topics are all really about human nature and how people make choices. In this book, Tim Harford has tried to do something much harder. He has sought to answer the larger questions about recessions, unemployment and poverty.

Although not as immediately entertaining as his other books, this is very thought-provoking. He makes a compelling case for politicians to take a counterintuitive approach to avoid boom and bust. Money should be saved when the economy is strong and spent on pre-planned projects during recessions. However, politicians have no incentive to think ahead because they may not be in power during the next recession.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2013
I think this is a very well-written book, but, even acknowledging that the subject is complex and that there are no easy answers,I would have welcomed a more decisive stand by the author on key issues, which I felt was a bit "on the one hand, .....On the other hand,......". It seems obvious Tim Harford is more at home in microeconomics than macroeconomics. Nevetheless, it is very fluent and covers a vast amount of ground well. PS I read the kindle edition which often had the bottom line of the page missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
It's wonderfully written as you would expect from Tim. He is one of my heroes despite my professional area of expertise being science and medicine. This book is great though just a little taster on the subject of macroeconomics. I was left wanting to know more. Tim, being incredibly in tune with his audience provides suggestions for further reading. A wonderful introduction into this important topic regardless of your place in this world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
Tim takes you on a tour of modern macroeconomics in the conversational question-and-answer style he uses in his Financial Times column. It is the perfect length and amount of detail for a layman to get a quick grasp of the concepts in the context of the financial crisis. I fully recommend it. Very easy read, and Tim has a knack for making economics interesting without going down the pseudo-popeconomics route of books like freakonomics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
The book covers things from sticky prices, money ilusion, efficency wages, poverty measurements as an absolute or in preportion to other incomes. The pros and cons of gdp and happeness indexes.

It is simple and straighforward to read much like the authors other books nothing ground breaking or new but in a nice easy to read style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
If you are interested in how the economy works (and fails), but you are not an economist then this book is essential reading. Harford never takes a partisan approach, but cuts through the political spin to the core of the real debate and the actual evidence. Macro-economics for the intelligent layman. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Really enjoyable really easy to read book.

Only niggle: I have an AMAZON KINDLE MODEL D01100 UK STOCK and the last line of some paragraphs got dropped off between pages. It only happened about 15 times but I had to keep changing the font size to get to see the missing line. Needs sorting Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Tim Hartford's book is an essential guide on how macroeconomics has changed over the years.
From Keynes to neoliberalism, it is all there. Hartford explains everything, and his explanation is a sympathetic one. He explains how we have reached, post the latest economic depression, where we are today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2015
For the intelligent amateur economist this is a great whirlwind tour of the key challenges and levers that governments have to run a modern economy. Fantastically well written with interesting anecdotes and examples of good and bad Government decisions a highly recommended.page turning read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
A clear and entertaining analysis of the difference between micro and macro economics and the ways in which we can use them to understand recent economic events. There are very few economists who have both the intelligence and the clarity of Tim Harford. His sense of humour helps a lot too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)