Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny
Very funny book would recommend to anyone interested in politics and politicians laughed out loud at some of the stupid things said by supposedly intelligent people
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. J. M. Cross

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much fun as I thought it would be
Its OK but no meat to it. Probably written for teenagers not middle aged men like me. 3 more words.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Stuart K. N. Neilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. J. M. Cross "madmerlot" (south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prime Minister's Ironing Board and Other State Secrets: True Stories from the Government Archives (Hardcover)
Very funny book would recommend to anyone interested in politics and politicians laughed out loud at some of the stupid things said by supposedly intelligent people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting amusing informative, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prime Minister's Ironing Board and Other State Secrets: True Stories from the Government Archives (Hardcover)
Highly recommended for generalists and political interests. Easy read. I
I got this book for an ex-public servant as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love to read about archived material and this book gave a fascinating insight into some of the correspondence of governments over the years. I hope that as more documents are released further volumes will follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juicy gossip, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book. it was a bit of light relief at the end of a busy day. Some enlightening topics which were very interesting and goes to show what is the murky world of politics .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read for those needing a little Easter or post-Pesach cheer, 13 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Prime Minister's Ironing Board and Other State Secrets: True Stories from the Government Archives (Hardcover)
Brilliant, sharp and above all very funny. A book that cheers but not inebriates (that bit you'll still have to do yourself: but soon we'll all be off the Lenten wagon/on the Palwin's No.19).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great insight into the mindless trivia of governments thinkings, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched and documented. It shows just how much time and effort governments put into situations which really ought to be rejected as not worth the effort to deal with. So much for thinking that cabinet meeting are full of meaningful thoughts about major matters when really it how much was drunk at Chequers over a weekend. Interesting information about the Falklands. Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The ironing board &other stories, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite an eye opener as to the manoeuvreings which go on behind the facade of numbers 10 & 11Downing street
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Prime Minister's Ironing board, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Prime Minister's Ironing Board and Other State Secrets: True Stories from the Government Archives (Hardcover)
I bought this for a Maggie Thatcher fan! He's very elderly but I hope that he has been able to browse through this book and be amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Jan 2014
I am still ploughing through this book. One of the first Kindle's I've ordered. Just love the cynical, Private Eye type of comments throughoutl. If those are the the ones that were concealed, heaven alone knows what we HAVEN'T been allowed to see - quite worrying! Definitely would recommend this and look into the Freedom of (for?} Information rules. Highly recommended. By the way, what on earth did the Duke of Edinburgh do to upset the Editor? Love his comments. x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as much fun as I thought it would be, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its OK but no meat to it. Probably written for teenagers not middle aged men like me. 3 more words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab8ac954)

This product

Only search this product's reviews