Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
This is a really gripping read. Well written and 'earthy,' it has a sense of realism. You know that the author has 'been there'. Michele Ferrara writes with authority and he tells an excellent tale which keeps you gripped to the end. Some Italian detective authors seem to spend rather more time telling you what the detectives eat (I know Italian food is great!) than...
Published on 5 Jun 2012 by Miss Picky 59

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful
I had greatly enjoyed the first three novels in this series but, having been a bit disappointed by the fourth, I was a unsure about buying the Black Rose of Florence. I now wish I hadn't. It is hard to believe that this book is written by the same author: the writing is terrible, full of really corny cliches, and the plot unconvincing. The central plot is very basic and...
Published 12 months ago by Oxford reader


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had greatly enjoyed the first three novels in this series but, having been a bit disappointed by the fourth, I was a unsure about buying the Black Rose of Florence. I now wish I hadn't. It is hard to believe that this book is written by the same author: the writing is terrible, full of really corny cliches, and the plot unconvincing. The central plot is very basic and the author has tried to hide this by adding a whole raft of other subplots and details, all very bitty and many of which remain unexplained by the end. And the ending is highly unsatisfactory, along the 'to be continued' lines - except I won't bother with the next volume. All in all, hugely disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling and amateurish, 8 July 2013
This is the first, and almost certainly the last, book I have read by this author. I cannot believe that it is the translator's fault. This man cannot write, based on the evidence before my eyes. Speaking of evidence, if the author really did lead a police department, what a shambles it must have been, if it was run in any way as he describes the policing process in this book. Like one of the other reviewers, I also struggled to remember who the (non)characters were, and failed to make sense of the (non)plot. Editing quality is poor too - with blatant errors. And having paragraphs of one or two pages is dreadful - it does not increase the pace, it merely shows up the inadequacy of the story. I only finished the book because I had paid good money for it. Don't waste your time with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Black Rose of Florence, 11 May 2013
I was disappointed with this book, I've read all the other Ferrara novels and the character depth just wasn't there in this one. I felt it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Running out of steam and talent?, 27 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) (Hardcover)
Initially I was delighted to find this book after having read all his earlier tales, but it wasn't long before I realised that he had lost the ability and imagination to spin a good yarn. Too many short conversations to push the plot along and to give out information, the usual old (yawn) conspiracy ideas about the Masons and their ilk. As another reviewer said, this story clunked and NOT because of poor translation. There seemed to be little continuity or flow which is a great pity after his excellent first two books. Will I bother with the next in the series, which seems to offer more of the same as this? Don't know - or at least I won 't be putting myself out to catch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 18 Sep 2012
By 
J. M. Taylor "JT" (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) (Hardcover)
Having read and enjoyed all of his books so far, this one was a real disappointment. Everything about is was very thin. Chapters to short and difficult to hold the plot. A bit like a lot of television drama, got to the end and wondered what all the fuss was about. Lost in translation??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Black Rose of Florence, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Ragnar - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book features Chief Superintendent Ferrara, who is currently working in Florence. We can safely call the book a police procedural since the author was once head of the Florence police force and plainly knows his stuff. So there is quite a lot of procedural detail in the book, complicated by the fact that two different agencies are at work, the police and the carabinieri.

The plot has two overlapping elements, revenge and satanic ritual, but by the end the forces of law and order have largely figured out who did what to whom.

I did not find this book involving. The satanic part is tedious. The revenge part works better, except that the man in questions murders one of the victims on whose behalf he is taking revenge in the first place. In my opinion, that's more than a little tough on the blameless lady in question.

The fact that an author knows a great deal about procedure does not automatically mean that reading about it is interesting. How accurate do we need to be? Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö are credited with bringing the police procedural to Sweden and so to Scandinavia. Neither of them had ever been police officers, so how did they know about police procedure? They didn't. They made it up as they went along, based on what little they read in the press. At no point did they have any cooperation from the police. I wouldn't know this if I hadn't heard Maj say so herself.

[...]

If there is one original feature in this book it is that our hero is not `troubled'. To illustrate this is the fact that he is married and loves his wife, to whom he is faithful. That is even less common in crime fiction than it is in real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lost the plot..., 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
OK, firstly I am a big fan of Michelle Giuttari,having swept through his first three books with a voracious appetite of "give me more", unfortunately with his forth "A death in Calabria" his main protagonist, Chief Supeintendent Ferrara seemed to be almost an add-on to the actual plot. In this his fifth book Ferrara is very much front and centre which is good, unfortunately although the story itself has promise, it doesn't deliver the with the same impact as in his first three books. The are just too many loose ends (for example what happens to the informer in his camp?) that left me feeling like it could have been a few chapters longer and so a little bit better tied up. Unless of course he is going to come back to this theme in a later book and doing the appropriate tying of loose ends there.

If you want to sample Giutarri's work try any of the first three books "A Death in Florence", "A Death in Tuscany" or "The Death of a Mafia Don"; I wouldn't recommend this to anyone apart from completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) (Hardcover)
This is a really gripping read. Well written and 'earthy,' it has a sense of realism. You know that the author has 'been there'. Michele Ferrara writes with authority and he tells an excellent tale which keeps you gripped to the end. Some Italian detective authors seem to spend rather more time telling you what the detectives eat (I know Italian food is great!) than getting on with the plot! Ferrara weaves a strong storyline - 'a cracking book!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars michele's clunker, 20 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) (Hardcover)
sorry not to agree with the other reviewer. i am a big fan of this series, but found this one paper thin as to plot and atmosphere. the eponymous and seductive sounding black rose only appears once and even ferrara is reduced to a bit part. the chapters are very short which leads to lack of fluidity, and i was often forced to look back to find who the chacters were.not his usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Congratulations for the Black Rose, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Seeker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) (Hardcover)
Guitari's novels are superb, Ferrara is a really interesting hero and the character, plotting and scenes have a very definite North Italian flavour. I think perhaps the Black Rose is not quite as good as the others but it is still superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara)
The Black Rose Of Florence (Michele Ferrara) by Michele Giuttari (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2012)
11.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews