Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Polar journey in photographs
David Wilson has woven text and photographs, many taken by Scott himself, to produce a wonderful book that really does transport you back to that heroic polar journey. The landscapes of Scott, especially on the Beardmore, are stunning. But for me it is the calm and peaceful photographs of the many stops enroute to the pole that are, well, quite sad. At pony camp (S57,...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by KevR

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Photographs of Captain Scott
The pictures were fascinating and it was refreshing to read something about Scott which contradicts the somewhat received wisdom that his expedition was a complete failure. However, the actual narrative was often badly written and repetitive, repeatedly emphasizing the allegory of Jonah and the Whale as though Scott's expedition was fated by God to fail because of the use...
Published 11 months ago by Kerry McDaid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Polar journey in photographs, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
David Wilson has woven text and photographs, many taken by Scott himself, to produce a wonderful book that really does transport you back to that heroic polar journey. The landscapes of Scott, especially on the Beardmore, are stunning. But for me it is the calm and peaceful photographs of the many stops enroute to the pole that are, well, quite sad. At pony camp (S57, S36)and especially S60, where you can almost stroke Victor, Christopher, and of course Snippets, like all of them captured by Scott so that we, a hundred years later, can witness their moment. Of course we know their fate, but for now, on these pages, they are alive and 'kicking'. Later on we see their epic struggle, the iconic image of polar exploration, those same ponies heading into the whitness of the Antarctic landscape dragging the loaded sledges. We know the story but this book is a great memory to that journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelatory, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Otto99 "otto717" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
I'll add to the praise being heaped on this book. There are many books on Scott and other Antarctic explorers these days, many far from essential, but this is undoubtedly one to add to the collection if you have an interest in the subject.

The text is excellent and does a marvellous job in describing the entire expedition for the uninitiated, as well as providing plenty of fresh insight for those in the know. I consider myself something of an old hand on the subject of Scott but I learnt several new things. The maps are also superb, clearly identifying the features referred to and amongst the best I've seen.

The photographs are, of course, the main point to the book and are reproduced to a high standard. Scott was learning the photographer's art from Ponting and many of the early shots are experimental with varying degrees of success. Seeing Scott's first attempts helps appreciate how quickly he learnt and how well he came to understand photography in difficult conditions. Some of the later photographs, in particular those taken on the Beardmore Glacier, stand comparison with Ponting's work. The pity is that Scott never got to see the results.

Finally, I would suggest that anybody who buys this book also buys Scott's Journals (available for around a fiver) if you don't already have them. Reading the daily entries (where Scott sometimes mentions that he has been taking photographs) and then studying the photographs at the same time really adds a lot to the experience and helps make you appreciate the different aspects of the expedition far more. The sequences showing the ponies trudging through white-out conditions and drifting snow on the Barrier cannot fail to move, and reading Scott's anguish at the situation make these images really come alive.

Well-worth spending your money on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Age of Polar Exploration, 8 Nov 2011
By 
Bibliophile (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
Great photos with intelligent accompanying text.

There is something very moving in these historic photos that document the best in human endeavour and companionship.
A must for anyone interested in the subject.

This book makes a great companion to the excellent "Heart of the Great Alone".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lost photographs of Captain Scott, 4 Nov 2011
By 
Mrs. V. M. Downs (Perry, Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
I'm a great admirer of the Scott Expedition, and this is a fantastic addition to my collection. How the explorers must have suffered in this environment and were so brave, and pushed on relentlessly through it to get to their goal. Superb pictures coming from very early equipment which worked even in this terrible enviroment. Wonderfulo memorial to them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Photos Scott took but never saw, 8 Jan 2012
By 
A. Tyger (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
How poignant to think that Captain Scott sent back the last, undeveloped, rolls of film as he headed on the last stage to the South Pole - and never got so see what great pictures he took. And how incredible to think that they were lost for decades, so that everyone else forgot he'd taken great pictures.

Still, we have the great good fortune that this book collects together over a hundred photographs taken by Captain Scott. There are early pictures around the Base Camp, and practice with Ponting, the professional photographer on the expedition. Still, the key photos are of the men and ponies marching across the great white plain of the Ross Ice Shelf, and of men and sledges struggling up the Beardmore Glacier. There are also wonderful, calm images of the camps too - ponies in the sunshine, or men drawing and painting.

And the text is worth close attention too. David M. Wilson has a lot to say on the expedition itself and on the way it has been remade in the minds of each subsequent generation of commentators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John says, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
I bought this for Christmas for a nephew aged 16. He loved it and found it fascinating. Whilst in my brief possession couldn't resist careful reading. What a book. Beautiful and haunting photography illuminate these brave men's expeditions which have captured all our imaginations. I can't recommend this highly enough, and am getting my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent present, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
Looks like a very interesting book. I have bought this is a present so can't review the content.

It was posted it a box way to big with no shrink wrap or protection. It's been sliding around the box and has a few small mark due to this. Really annoying as this is a present. Also selected gift wrap option and it isn't wrapped. Just has a printout saying gift with the message I stated. Great book but feel let down by Amazon. I'm not going to return the book but I'm not very happy with the service. Amazon is inconsistent with how it posts items.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Photographs of Captain Scott, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pictures were fascinating and it was refreshing to read something about Scott which contradicts the somewhat received wisdom that his expedition was a complete failure. However, the actual narrative was often badly written and repetitive, repeatedly emphasizing the allegory of Jonah and the Whale as though Scott's expedition was fated by God to fail because of the use of cameras! Aside from this, a number of the pictures in the collection were missing and only added as thumbnails at the end, thus making the image virtually indiscernable. That said, those pictures which were published provide a unique insight in to travails of those men who were at the forefront of Polar exploration. In this sense, I would recommend it; but not at £12 a pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of Scott's personal snapshots, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
A great collection of Scott's personal snapshots, and best read as an accompaniment to Ponting's 'With Scott to the Pole.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely photographs., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift to accompany the Journals of Captain Scott last expedition. They accompany each other well. Good quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott
The Lost Photographs Of Captain Scott by Dr. David M. Wilson (Hardcover - 6 Oct 2011)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews