Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little read, but lacking the spark of "Facts and Fancies"
I love Armando Iannucci. There's not a single thing this man has been involved in that I've not enjoyed on some level. He's a genius, yet he doesn't seem aware of it, which makes him quite an endearing character.

His 1st book, "Facts and Fancies", is one of my "go to" books when I've exhausted all unread books, and want something I know will deliver. To say I...
Published on 4 Sep 2009 by N. Danson

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not his best work
If you like the Armando Iannucci shows or his appearences on the 99p challenge then think more of that kind of thing for the contens of this book.
Much of it is a collection of work previously published in the Telegraph or Observer and it consists of some small, some slightly longer flights of fancy. If you read it in Armandos voice and delivery style then it'll...
Published on 27 Sep 2009 by Sir Bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice little read, but lacking the spark of "Facts and Fancies", 4 Sep 2009
By 
N. Danson "Nez" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
I love Armando Iannucci. There's not a single thing this man has been involved in that I've not enjoyed on some level. He's a genius, yet he doesn't seem aware of it, which makes him quite an endearing character.

His 1st book, "Facts and Fancies", is one of my "go to" books when I've exhausted all unread books, and want something I know will deliver. To say I was excited about this book would be an understatement.

And it IS a good book. Whereas F&F was a chapter-chapter-chapter affair, this is very much a brain dump - some "bits" are 3 or 4 lines, some several pages long. Some of it is genius, some just misses the mark (for me). F&F latched onto absurd premises, took it and ran it until the original idea seemed plausible (such as the mathematical formula for nursery rhymes), whereas this book doesn't let each idea flourish in the same way. Which is a shame, but then perhaps they wouldn't work the same way had Iannucci expanded the concepts and taken a flight of fancy with them. Also, in fairness to Iannucci - he's already written that book, and this is a different book, meaning that just doing the same thing again probably wasn't the spark of what he wanted to achieve.

But it IS a good book. The above paragraph sounds so negative, but it really is a good book. If you appreciate Iannucci's more surreal works (his show for example), you'll definitely enjoy this, and annoy the heck out of whoever is sat nearby with chuckles of delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not his best work, 27 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
If you like the Armando Iannucci shows or his appearences on the 99p challenge then think more of that kind of thing for the contens of this book.
Much of it is a collection of work previously published in the Telegraph or Observer and it consists of some small, some slightly longer flights of fancy. If you read it in Armandos voice and delivery style then it'll work, you need to put that effort in to get the right feeling in your head but it's worth it. So, very much for Iannucci fans but suffers from not having the delivery of the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audaciously brilliant genius! Do not hesitate to buy and read..., 9 Dec 2009
By 
N. Addy "nicknick" (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
Whether you are already a fan of Armando's stunning TV portfolio - The Day Today, Brass Eye, Time Trumpet, The Thick of It - or coming to him anew, you should get a real kick out of this collection of his columns from the Daily Telegraph and Observer. I had missed them completely, so this supercolumnpendium was a great read (my pathetic attempt at an Iannucci-ism).

With consummate skill, joy and despair, he brilliantly satirises the everyday absurdities of modern life. From 'and' being declared the most important syllable of the 20th century to the popularity of reality TV shows, the manipulation of fact and increasingly language by the modern politician, and the war in Irag, Armando Iannucci rages at the modern world, frequently straddling the ever greying border between fact and fiction, leaving you bemused, confused and bent double with laughter. His pleasure in the creation of new and unusual insults is a joy to share.

Make sure you update your vocabulary with his dictionary of modern usage, for example, 'nanopology': a newspaper retraction less than one-sixteenth the size of the original story.

Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Iannucci, hilarious and packed with ideas, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
A densely packed book-sized dose of unmistakably Armando Iannucci ideas. The ideas come so tightly packed that you might have to read this in short doses to appreciate the quality.

Like his TV work, it is a clever blend of politics, current affairs and commentary underpinned by constant insanity, ridiculousness and surreal flights of fancy. If you like *any* of his work either as a writer or performer, particularly "The Day Today" or "Time Trumpet", then this will be right up your street. In fact a lot of it is like an updated version of "The Day Today", made with words instead of pictures and noises.

Fans of Malcolm Tucker's complex swearing marathons in "The Thick Of It" and "In The Loop" will find plenty of extremely intricate and very rude insults in some sections, but it also calms down a lot and is far more than just a tirade of unexpectedly well-written abuse. The occasional page or two of insane insults, however, is always welcome.

At times the politics takes the front seat, and Iannucci even has the audacity to write one or two paragraphs which make a serious point and don't even attempt to be a little bit funny. They're few and far between though- most of the time this is a constant laugh-out-loud book.

Iannucci crams such brilliant and innovative ideas into two- or three-page articles, the kind of ideas that other writers would turn into a full-blown novel. This is 311 pages of non-stop genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hampered by smugness..., 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
A friend recently bought me 'The Audacity of Hype' as a birthday gift, knowing that I had been a fan of some of Iannucci's television work such as 'The Day Today' and '...Armistice'. The initial few chapters are non-stop hilarity, alternating between cogent, humorous social commentary (as would be expected) and absurd hypothetical scenarios that have a tangential link to observations made elsewhere. These exaggerated asides lampoon pop culture and other aspects of 21st century life. Iannucci is very well read and appears to have a grasp on an array of disciplines. There are some genuinely useful bits of advice such as how to avoid cultural overload by understanding you won't have time to become au fait with every highly recommended piece of literature or television programme etc and to have self-imposed limits without feeling guilty. He even includes some useful references to Barry Schwartz excellent 'The Paradox of Choice' in support of this view. His comments on how an innate desire for shared experiences has been warped by social media are also very astute.

Nevertheless '...Hype' starts to lose its way around the lengthy chapter about the injustices of the war in Iraq. It characterises one of the book's biggest shortcomings; the author's tendency to belabour his point. We can all agree, as he himself points out, the war was a huge, avoidable mistake. What starts off as an informative overview of how egregious foreign policy escalated out of control, with plenty of clever satire thrown in, soon descends into little more than an ad hominem rant that goes on and on and on.

I completely lose patience with the author when he goes into a pointless diatribe about people acknowledging you have other commitments before making a request. What many of us would perceive as empathy he dismisses as disingenuous. At this point I realised he has an overinflated sense of his own 'rightness'. Whilst this might serve as some type of gimmick in a televised context, on paper it is far less appealing.

Iannucci is a dyed-in-the-wool cynic. Unlike Charlie Brooker, whose cynicism I believe has more to do with him being a disillusioned optimist than a natural-born curmudgeon, Armando appears to relish a good old scoff. It wouldn't suit him for humanity to genuinely get its act together, otherwise there'll be no-one left on which he could pour his scorn and contempt.

Iannucci likes being a clever clogs and has none of the humility that would make the quest to stay well-informed an otherwise admirable attribute. '...Hype' suggests a startling unawareness of subjectivity (cross reference the chapters on culture and 'dumbing down'). Iannucci assumes his position is the general (intelligentsia) consensus or a benchmark of objectivity. Far from it.

I got fed up with '...Hype' by the half-way mark. Only my desire not to be an ungrateful friend kept me going. There are some admittedly very funny moments right up to its closing chapters (his parody of Dawkins is particularly noteworthy). To his credit no one escapes his reproach, although he does reserve certain levels of contempt for specific social groups.

With some more ruthless editing, '...Hype' would have been a shorter, tidier read and would have remained enjoyable enough before the pomposity could properly take over. As it stands it overstays its welcome pretty quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surely Scotlands finest living thing?, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Neal (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
Free full-size stadium on page 188! also contains a cut-out-and-keep Aberdonian womans face mask! Gordon Brown smiles with every purchase...aww.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the audacity of hype, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very enjoyable. as always some very imaginative humour from one of the best comedy writers of the present time.
will read again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brain Tickling for Iannucci Fans, 16 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
Armando Iannucci is my comedy god.
If you like his delightful, fanciful, clever humour then this is for you.
Think the kind of contributions he brought to the 99p Challenge. This book tickled my brain in the way really funny but intelligent comedy can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and I thought it was just me!, 11 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
Having way back when watched Brass Eye and The Ianucci Tape(s) I was beginning to wonder what the man was doing with his life. I needn't have worried. Like me he was just getting quietly angrier and angrier with the world in general and the bits that we each meet on a daily basis in particular. The real beauty is that seemingly nothing is beyond well thought out acidic ridicule. Sometimes you just have to let go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 24 Mar 2010
By 
Grainne Coll "Snazz" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century (Paperback)
Armando, armed with his usual wit and bang-on observations about modern culture, will delight you. You will probably read this book in one sitting. Its also the type of thing you can pick up and put down for random giggles. If you like Partridge, you must like this. He'll have you laughing yourself into a faint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Audacity Of Hype: Bewilderment, sleaze and other tales of the 21st century
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews